We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay”
Review of Picton Top 10

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Picton Top 10
Ranked #3 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed here one night in a campervan. Park very quiet as it was early in May nearing the final leg of our trip back down to Christchurch.

Comments from our diary read: Top ablution block, spotlessly clean toilets and showers and a "state of the art" waste dump station for campervans.

The kitchen really impressed us with it's nice facilities and we really liked the little section set aside where you could "offload" your excess food items (unopened?) so that others may pick up something they could use. As this is a "jumping off point" to catch the inter-island ferry, I guess that lots of travellers terminate (or commence!) their journeys here.

The office lady was most helpful and offered us a warm Kiwi welcome and we got the pick of a very nice handy camping spot.
The rest of the park is set in trees and has a nice 'garden' feel to it with kids playground and plenty of amenities.

No complaints from us at this park. Tafiff was $42nz for the 2 of us for the night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westwanderer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    118
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
109
176
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Wonderful Holiday Park. Fantastic location and grounds. Awesome Spa, costly but worth it for a treat. Very clean and modern.

Room Tip: We tented and that was great, with plenty of space and a picnic table, and very handy to facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee20202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

unit turned out to be very close to the busy road. Lots of traffic noise. the unit itself was the smallest we have ever stayed in!! Hubby thought it resembled a closet. For a few more dollars you can get something more spacious and better quality of accommodation, closer to town.

Room Tip: other units may be okay, but don't stay in the two closest to the busy road, unless you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 18Beverly18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights in a campervan during our tour of the South Island. We really liked this site and, having stayed at several other top 10 sites, it compares well. It's an easy, level walk into Picton which is a pleasant town and worth spending some time looking around the shops and sampling the restaurants. It acts as a base for various walking, boat and water taxi trips in the Malborough Sounds which are spectacular. Overall a good place to stay, well located and worthy of more time than just an overnight stop waiting for the interislander ferry.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seaside-Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Only stayed here for one night before catching the fery the next morning.

Cabin was small but had all the facilities you would need for an overnight stay, ensuite shower room, fridge, microwave, toaster and kettle. Wifi available. Parking directly outside unit.

Didnt have time to see or use any of the site facilities

Walking distance into town and ferry terminal

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank di73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsbeaMsbea
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Small camp compared to other top 10 camping grounds, but pretty good. Needs a little updating and could have been a little cleaner but the hosts were really great and friendly and it is a really good location. One particular plus is that the games room is really well priced (similar to when we were kids), pocket money prices to use the games (.40c for spaceys, $2 for 20 mins of internet, $1 for pool, fooz ball, etc).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsbeaMsbea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Arriving on a late ferry, and leaving early the next morning to get to Christchurch, we really only arrived, used the bathrooms, slept and left!
We had anticipated a small cabin, but we were surprised at just how small the cabin was, and that it was two single beds rather than a double. Given our arrival well after the office was closed, and that we had only bought double bed linen, this did make for a cold night.
However, the bathrooms were spotless, even at nearly midnight, and the beds rolled together and were comfortable, so we would very likely come back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mel-Kiwi_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.3 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.4 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.4 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tombstone Backpackers
Tombstone Backpackers
#2 of 26 in Picton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Picton Top 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Picton Top 10

Property: Picton Top 10
Address: 78 Waikawa Road, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Picton Top 10 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roger, Julie, Peter and Mel offer you a warm welcome to Picton TOP 10 Holiday Park, gateway to the Marlborough Sounds. Located just ten minutes to the town centre and across the road from the freshly redeveloped Picton Marina, our park offers a range of accommodation for couples, families and groups, along with all the communal facilities you need for a fun, relaxing holiday. Qualmark graded 5 star, member of the Top10 Holiday Park Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Picton Top 10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing