We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Escape to Picton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Escape to Picton
Ranked #3 of 23 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

My boyfriend booked this hotel as a surprise for our anniversary and our stay at Escape to Picton was perfect. Each room is unique and the interior is stunning. We stayed in the Modern Suite which was very large, almost like an apartment! I would even go as far to say that it is the nicest hotel I have stayed in as it has a very individual and homely feel, yet is still very grand and impressive. The staff are lovely (family run business) and the food is great. I ordered a Thai fish curry for $33.50 - huge portion and a variety of fresh fish. Complimentary breakfast was also fantastic and very filling. Will recommend to all. Laura and Ian, Uk.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    16
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
10
113
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

My wife and I had been looking for somewhere to stay the night since we arrived in the Marlborough region and were not having much luck, most motels/hotels were either full or hideous and then we literally stumbled upon this beautiful little boutique hotel on the quay front in gorgeous Picton.

We were very warmly welcomed and then offered to see the room before having to make a decision, but once we saw the room though it made out decision incredibly easy. Our room, the sea room, was remarkably well decorated and had fantastic facilities, including a free standing bath and massive king size bed.

Once checked in, by the delightfully friendly owner making us feel like old friends, we were delivered fresh milk and chilled water and left to enjoy the facilities of our room.

After a gorgeous walk to Bobs bay and back we went and sat in the hotels bar where the staff were all so friendly and even provided us some with some wonderful potato skin chips (for free!!!!!!) to help soak up the local wine and lagers that went down very nicely!

We both slept so well in the extremely comfy bed and woke up to the beautiful view of the marina out of our window.

All in all we can't recommend this hotel enough, we would tell everyone to skip through Blenheim and head straight to Picton to enjoy the gorgeous walks, boat trips and this gem of a hotel!!


  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceejaywhittaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zusmarshausen, Deutschland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed at the Escape to Picton during our travel trough New Zealand. We had an amazing night in a lovely room with a few over the harbour. We felt really welcome and the staff was nice and friendly. We can really recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SabrinaS1bis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Had a fantastic time staying at Escape To Picton in the wonderful Marlborough Sounds in New Zealand. The room was perfectly presented with special attention to detail which created a calm relaxed and romantic air. The staff were knowledgeable, warm and friendly and always willing to go the extra mile to make our stay a pleasant one. I highly recommend this lovely establishment and can't wait to go back and stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Whilst the room was immaculate, and well appointed, we were disappointed given the price that there was no coffee making facilities within the room. Moreover, milk was provided in a bowl with ice, rather than having access to a fridge in the room. One had to boil water in the corridor outside. Providing instant Coffee for five-star was not up to standard. In addition, no tissues were supplied which is a fairly basic item, particularly when one has a respiratory problem. Attention to these expected amenities and details would help this enormously.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greatoceanvistas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escapetopicton, Owner at Escape to Picton, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Hello Reviewer,

Thank you for letting us know your thoughts, we only had our kettle on the landing for a week as one had broken, each suite has its own jug/kettle, this has been this way for over 2 months now. I am glad you thought the suite was immaculate, and well appointed, With the coffee making facilities within the room we have tried plunger coffee but clients did not like this and do make lattes etc complementary. We have tried smaller fridges but they make a noise due to the high ceilings and beautiful wooden floors we are looking into the ones that are quiet with internal motors, we do change the milk several times a day plus we are more than happy to place items in the fridge when needed also ice & ice buckets are also provided. Tissues are supplied in each of the suites so again I will check with housekeeping. Again thank you for staying at Escape to Picton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

I booked direct with Hotel Owner by phone and the I emailed a confirmation to which I did not receive a reply. When we arrived only the cleaner was there and she denied all knowledge of our booking. Fortunately I had emailed a confirmation of our ETA. They eventually found our reservation for a MONTH later in their book. Obviously entered in error.
The owner was ill and the cleaner called the young chef who tried his best. Room was comfortable, food was ok , coffee was dreadful.
No bathroom amenities, no fruit plate etc as per the website.The champagne was sparkling wine.
We would not stay there again and the website is quite misleading.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escapetopicton, Owner at Escape to Picton, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Hello Donna B, I spoke with yourself yesterday and your account is quite different to what you have put on here. Yes the date was wrongly put in the book for Feb instead of Jan an honest mistake. I was not here as I said but you said you found the young chef to be not good and told you several stories you found hard to believe he has now left our employ as we said. I have spoken to house keeping and I am not sure what happened except they did not know you were arriving and the suite wasn't finished completely with shampoo etc but as explained if you had asked this would have been quickly rectified. I also said I was sorry you did not enjoy your experience. Kind Regards Juliearna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

With a day to spare before our Ferry crossing, we wandered around Picton looking for a restaurant. We made this little treasure of a find, checked the menu and took a chance. The food was excellent, beautifully presented, perfectly cooked and obviously, a great deal of thought and care had gone into each plateful of food. The service was impeccable and friendly, the bill was no greater than the average 'pub-grub', the surroundings were very pleasant indeed and the delightful owner/chef made our evening a memorable experience. We asked if we could lunch there the following day and she opened the restaurant especially for us, preparing another stunning meal. My only regret is we'd booked into a nearby motel before we found this interesting and exceptional hotel. I would highly recommend Escape to Picton to anyone looking for a hotel with a significant difference. The whole experience, a delight.
Janice and David, UK

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billierids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escapetopicton, Owner at Escape to Picton, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Hello Janice & David,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so glad you enjoyed your time here and I was more than happy to open for lunch for you as you were such a delightful couple. We hope you have a wonderful trip around New Zealand and safe travels.

Kind Regards
Juliearna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 17 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.0 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 17 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kippilaw House
Kippilaw House
#2 of 23 in Picton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escape to Picton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escape to Picton

Property: Escape to Picton
Address: 33 Wellington Street, Picton 8170, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Escape to Picton 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Escape to Picton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing