We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Picton Beachcomber Inn(Picton)(Great Value!)
$78
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Broadway Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glengary Bed and Breakfast(Picton)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jasmine Court Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
$84
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Villa Backpackers Lodge(Picton)(Great Value!)
$42
$35
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aldan Lodge Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sequoia Lodge(Picton)(Great Value!)
$42
$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Motel Picton(Picton)(Great Value!)
$97
$94
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gateway Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
$60
$54
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveler rating
143
17
9
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
17
9
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsformal suitesea roomnew zealanddinner downstairspetit fourscomplimentary upgradeour honeymoonbath saltsfelt like royaltyeye for detailbeautiful roomshared balconyfluffy towelsstaff went out of their waybig bathroombeautiful place to staytwo nights
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 178 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We thought the previous review was extremely harsh and picky. This hotel doesn't say it will offer welcome drinks or nibbles or home baking so why expect that, particularly if, as is likely, the booking was made through a discount website? We booked through a discount website and were very happy to stay here. The room (the formal suite) was luxurious and beautifully furnished. The bed was one of the biggest and most comfortable I have ever slept in. The bath is huge and wonderful! There is a lovely balcony but too rainy when we were there, but it would make an ideal spot to sit on with a glass of wine. The continental breakfast we were served was very nice, with fresh fruit salad (lots of it), museli, toast and crumpets. You more than get what you pay for here. Our only little complaints would be that it was rather cold in the room, though we appreciated that Juliearna had put the heater on before we arrived (perhaps it needs two heaters, it's such a large room!) and that there was no waste/rubbish bin so we had to be messy guests and leave our newspapers, fruit peelings and tea bags and whatnot rather than disposing of them.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely; the cheapest/smallest is on the ground floor right next to the reception desk which some people may not like. We upgraded to the formal suite - this and the modern suite are on the first floor and both are lovely.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

After a long delay crossing from north island to South Island we arrived tired at around 9:30pm. We're met by hostess rubbing her hands with glee advising us that although we had booked the downstairs room right on the street front we were lucky enough that she could offer us either of the upstairs rooms for only $75 a night extra. No welcome drink, no nibbles. Fine we took the modern room. Beautiful on first inspection. Lovely bath and shower. No bathroom products included other than two bars of soap. No fridge just small jug of milk in a bowl of ice. No mini bar. No nibbles. Ok we are tired any cranky.
Next morning. No breakfast included. No problem we went exploring instead. Back in afternoon. Bed made. No chocolates on bed. No muffins or home baking anywhere in room. Milk jug sitting in bowl of water.

First look shows high end B&B rooms and pricing to match but no lovely warm hosts to match. No little touches to make you feel welcome. Most impersonal stay we have had throughout NZ. Felt like they were just clutching to drag as much money as possible. only one couple in restaurant both nights we were there. prices looked very expensive and based on service and messiness of whole establishment we did not eat there. Would not recommend. Very nosy bar right beside. If you are just after a lovely room-it has that-but no personality, no soul, no love. Not recommended.

Room Tip: Smallest,noisiest room is the bottom one. Modern room closest to Irish bar next door. Bring ear plugs if wanting sleep before 1 am.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escapetopicton, General Manager at Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Hello Review, again you booked via a cheap boking site and breakfast was not included all up the suite was less than $250. There was Shampoo and Conditioner in the cupboard in the bathroom. The sae room downstairs has no noise at all and the formal also occasionally and we do have noise proof windows and shutters there is a little noise from the Irish. We have put in fridges now so this is now dealt with but really expecting nibbles late at night and not wanting to pay I'm unsure of where you have been staying and what hotels small or otherwise feed you for free when you are paying discounted prices already. Escape to Picton Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We made a special trip back to Picton on our South Island visit recently just to visit this gem of a hotel and the lovely hostess Julieanna. Our only disappointment was that the restaurant was no longer in operation as not only is the accommodation amongst the finest in the South Island the food was too. Our room though did not disappoint, the fire,bed and spa were just as we remembered and made for a very relaxing night....pure indulgence.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20GoldenGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We arrived at Picton, tired and weary after travelling for a month, and we decided to rest for a night before exploring the South Island and we are so glad that we did, because we found this little gem of a boutique hotel.
We were greeted by Juliearna, the owner, and marvellous hostess. She showed us two rooms, both were absolutely gorgeous, and we decided to go with the bigger room, it was glorious-- the bed was to die for, the bed linen, the beautiful curtains and cushions and the BATH was sublime!!!! We had only had showers for a month and this was pure luxury for us.
I cannot put into words how wonderful this place was, we stayed for two nights and I wanted to stay for ever!!
Breakfast was delicious, everything you could want for and more. Juliearna arranged for us to go to the vineyards, which was also an incredible experience, and she did everything she could to make our stay memorable.
On our month of travels to Hong Kong to Sydney, Brisbane, Cairns etc, this has to have been the best place that we have stayed.
Thank you Juliearna, we will be back.

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms, all superb.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The drinks were awesome the food was breathtaking the view was at its best very cosy very boutique we dressed up and enjoyed we will be back.............the outside court yard is well placed with out door heaters great service a great way to relax

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank nigelc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews