We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 10”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
High Street Living Motel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Room 10”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Great stay friendly staff and owners made us welcome we felt like family, clean tidy accomadation at a reasonable cost. New owners are doing a fantastic job and I appreciate as one should that things take time and money and I believe what has been done in the 5 months of owning has made a vast improvement on what was there previously I would book again and recommend to others they even took us fishing!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MachaelH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    31
    19
    11
    9
See reviews for
21
37
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Te Anau, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We booked a "studio unit" with "en suite".
Quite simply it was terrible. The en suite was a joke.
The room with twin singles then didn't allow room for any table or bench of any sort.
No provision at all for washing any dishes. The note simply said to leave used dishes in container provided.
I have since spoken to the new management who nearly apologised.
Sorry but that was our experience, I have no idea what the other rooms may have been like.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Te-Anau-Driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouPR2013, Owner at High Street Living Motel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Louise and I have now owned our Motels for five months and in this time we have met hundreds of people from all walks of life requiring many different needs.
We live on site and are very approachable people, also we have had great comments from our customers. Although we haven't finished the refurbishment of all our units we pride ourselves on having clean and tidy accommodation at an affordable price.
I am very disappointed that a very small number of our guests feel that they didn't get what was expected and instead of discussing with us on arrival when we could do something about there concerns they use this forum to complain . All feedback is appreciated and enables us to supply the best experience we can offer within the parameters of our motel.
We wish to thank all the great guests we have met in the short time we have been here and look forward to meeting many more!

Kind Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Picton hotels

Wellington, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We booked a "studio with en suite bathroom & small kitchenette" what we got was a very small room with a fridge in one corner, microwave balanced on top of it; small cupboard containing crockery etc with kettle & toaster. All the electrical appliances plugged in to ancient extension leads and if we tried to use the kettle & toaster at the same time the fuse blew. The bathroom was also ancient and had the most feeble shower I've ever come across. We travelled round New Zealand for 7 weeks and this was the only place where we felt we were ripped off.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValH902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This was a little disappointing for the price. Very small studio room. Motel could do with a face lift and the bathroom was quite out dated.
However, lovely and clean so that was appreciated, as was the friendly, helpful service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaPedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Picton without any reservation and found out that the whole town was pretty much booked out... Then we came across High Street Living and saw a volkswagen campervan which they rented out. We ended up staying there and had a great experience! The owners are SO friendly and we could even shower in one of the hotelrooms where people checked out of. These people will go out of their way for you!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were there for one night. Right in the centre of Picton which was fabulous and convenient to everything. The managers were very welcoming and helpful. Basic, no room to swing a cat but all one needs for a night or two. Clean and all we could ask for at the reasonable price. We would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akaroa, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Right in the centre of Picton. No need to use the vehicle. Lovely owners and comfortable rooms.
They are refurbishing and the end result is great. I had a room still to be done and it was comfortable and clean.

It is not expensive and was one of the lowest motel prices available at the time. Will definitely stay again.

Good luck for 2014, I am sure it will be a great year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
2.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.0 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aldan Lodge Motel
Aldan Lodge Motel
#7 of 16 in Picton
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Street Living Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Street Living Motel

Property: High Street Living Motel
Address: 45 High Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Tourist Court Motel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — High Street Living Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated right in the heart of Picton, surrounded by shops, restaurants, cafes and bars. The Ferry terminal is only 750 metre's away and the railway statin is even closer than that. There is so much to do with the opening of the Marlborough sounds just a minutes walk from you room. You can book a fishing charter or just cruise the sounds eating seafood and having a couple good marlborough savvy's. You can book some push bikes and take in some of the beautiful scenery on offer.We have 10 units available, 4 Studio's and 6 family two bedroom units. Each unit has a carpark outside their door so need to worry about finding parking out on the street.We are pet friendly by prior arrangement so if you are moving and don't have an option of putting your pet in a kennel etc bring him/her with you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your High Street Living Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing