We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful and interesting place to visit”

Lochmara Lodge Marlborough Sounds Wildlife Recovery Centre
Ranked #7 of 43 things to do in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This unique centre provides an opportunity for nature-lovers to interact with, learn about and appreciate the unique flora and fauna of the Marlborough Sounds. The centre includes wild bird recovery, endangered bird and gecko breeding enclosures, and a self guided ecotour among native bush. Day/half-day trips include a boat cruise from Picton (Lochmara can easily arrange boat transport for you) on the stunning Queen Charlotte Sound, and an optional walk on the Queen Charlotte Track.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

A good short boat trip takes you to this delightful place where we spent a day strolling round the paths, trying out the hammocks and enjoying the wildlife, both free and captive. The cafe provided good coffee and muffins in the morning and a tasty lunch too. Calm and restful.

Thank greypet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"day trip"
in 20 reviews
"lochmara lodge"
in 22 reviews
"flying fox"
in 6 reviews
"underwater observatory"
in 6 reviews
"zip line"
in 4 reviews
"rope swing"
in 5 reviews
"queen charlotte track"
in 31 reviews
"kune kune pigs"
in 3 reviews
"free kayaks"
in 6 reviews
"a great stay"
in 2 reviews
"venison"
in 2 reviews
"animal feeding"
in 2 reviews
"fed stingrays"
in 2 reviews
"art gallery"
in 2 reviews
"water taxi"
in 12 reviews
"stayed here"
in 4 reviews
"both nights"
in 2 reviews
Filter

112 - 116 of 165 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

Two of us took an evening trip including main course dinner in early December. We loved the walk round the sculpture garden with zany, witty pieces- we must have missed a few as they kept appearing in the trees. Dinner was excellent- I had smoked poussin which was delicious. It was quiet so our boat driver was happy to take us back at our leisure- no rush at the end of our meal. Altogether a very pleasant few hours and value for money at $85 each including most of our meal cost. Loved it!

Thank NadineH157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochmara, Manager at Lochmara Lodge Marlborough Sounds Wildlife Recovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Thanks for the review - we've passed your comments on to the Chef to, the smoked poussin is a real favourite. Yes - you can walk around a dozen times, and still spot things you've never seen before, that's the magic of discovery :). Later in the season (after daylight saving) there are glow worms to spot too, which you wouldn't see at all in daylight! Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Greeted by the news that we were 4 minutes too early to order lunch at 11.56am! The lovely site keeps calling us back but the unpleasant staff are a real put-off.

1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochmara, Manager at Lochmara Lodge Marlborough Sounds Wildlife Recovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Hi David - thanks for taking the time to provide feedback. We're really disappointed to hear this and have followed up with the cafe staff. They can't recall the incident, but we normally take pride in visitors feeling welcomed, and we'll make sure this doesn't happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

$60 for an adult on a water taxi to the much hyped up Lochmara area. Unless you're having a bath and/or massage, or indeed continuing on the Queen Charlotte Walk - it's just a circuit of hammocks; tree carvings; bees; sheep; pigs; a few birds in a cage and a restaurant...and if you're having the young ones in prams, it's a nightmare using it!

1  Thank troyville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochmara, Manager at Lochmara Lodge Marlborough Sounds Wildlife Recovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Hi there. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're obviously disappointed that Lochmara wasn't to your taste - we want visitors to fall in love with Lochmara and the Sounds. Lots of our tracks are easily accessible with buggies, and we've noted that when we have visitors with buggies in the future, we'll be sure to point out which tracks easiest. We're sorry you missed out on so much of what Lochmara has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I can't recommend Lochmara highly enough. We went there for Xmas lunch and had a fantastic time. The 20 minute boat ride there and back was fun with great views of the sounds.

The Lodge is hidden away in a large bay surrounded by native bush and trees.

Feed the fish on your way up to the restaurant, relax in the hammock or just sit and admire the views.

The meal was delicious and such a variety from venison to local salmon, mussels or lamb and the chocolate pot for dessert was the perfect ending... cutting into the sponge to release the hot runny chocolate inside.... yummy.

After lunch we wandered around the vast grounds following the map. We saw the "punga people" and relaxed in the hammocks at observation point.

Great place for single couples and families there are lots of things to amuse the children.

Can't wait to go back again, if you are in the area this is a must visit.

Thank JayneBlenheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochmara, Manager at Lochmara Lodge Marlborough Sounds Wildlife Recovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thanks Jayne - awesome when dinner visitors take the time to go exploring. If you still live locally, think about getting a local season pass, then you can come out as often as you like :) Just call us and we'll give you the details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lochmara Lodge Marlborough Sounds Wildlife Recovery Centre also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Lochmara Lodge Marlborough Sounds Wildlife Recovery Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing