We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Lochmara Lodge Marlborough Sounds Wildlife Recovery Centre
Ranked #9 of 34 things to do in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This unique centre provides an opportunity for nature-lovers to interact with, learn about and appreciate the unique flora and fauna of the Marlborough Sounds. The centre includes wild bird recovery, endangered bird and gecko breeding enclosures, and a self guided ecotour among native bush. Day/half-day trips include a boat cruise from Picton (Lochmara can easily arrange boat transport for you) on the stunning Queen Charlotte Sound, and an optional walk on the Queen Charlotte Track.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Food great, just need a few more animals out there. And a bit more for the kids to do.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    32
    13
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
238 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice day out”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

It was a nice outing - 15 min boat trip to Lochmara. Enjoyed the little "island" and what's on offer and loved the seafood chowder at the cafe.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judith69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Kids everywhere”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Had booked for a day trip, hoping to have a realxed explore, some lunch and then treat ourselves to an anniversary massage and soak in their baths.
Our taxi ride both ways, we were obviously joined by locals who new the skipper and staff, and this seemed to mean that they could yell and swear and shout at each other accross the boat...our selves and another couple seemed forgotten and pushed out. Skipper was friendly enough to say hello and bye when boarding, but that was all contact we had.
Once arrived, there were kids everywhere. Ok, hadn't factored in that it was Easter, although, yes we had, just wasn't expecting a place like this with the way they advertise themselves as having family fun days...nothing mentioned on their website when I booked that they were holding any special easter events, nor was it mentioned when I was in corresponding with manager regarding booking the trip and what we were looking for.
So, this meant that the lunch queue was 30 minutes, that we couldn't hear ourselves speak over the table because of shouting kids mixed in with the excess of people plus the coffee machine constantly going, and no-where to sit whilst waiting for treatments.
I will give it it's due, it is a spectacular location, and the massage was great, therapist really good and the baths were relaxing...just never felt the secluded feeling we were looking for...could have been in any kids holiday resort.
Value for money...Taxi - expensive. Massage / Bath - very good. Food - good quality for the price.

Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magical!”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

A very special place that we will return to in the future. Lovely rooms, incredible art, wonderful food. A perfect end to hiking the Queen Charlotte Track.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Galina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Very friendly welcome. Excellent meals. Beautiful wildlife. Sculpture garden

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank CMcW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lochmara Lodge Marlborough Sounds Wildlife Recovery Centre also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Lochmara Lodge Marlborough Sounds Wildlife Recovery Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing