We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat and Tidy Hotel in Central Location”
Review of Broadway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Broadway Motel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Emerald Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Neat and Tidy Hotel in Central Location”
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Spent one night at the Braodway in Picton. THe Hotel manager was very friendly and showed us our room. THe hotel is pretty basic, but well maintained and clean. The rooms are spacious and provide all amenities that are required.
In Summary it is a simple, clean and neat establishment that is well managed and good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzGlobalWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big_H_1, Owner at Broadway Motel, responded to this review, February 11, 2010
Thank you for the positive comments but I do have to challenge one comment you made, where you say "The hotel is pretty basic". Clearly this is not the case as it is the newest Motel in Picton and all the units have the following:
Air-conditioning, separate lounging area, well equipped Kitchettes, Sky TV, and private bathroom. The executive units also have private patio's or courtyards as well as work stations.
The following facilities are available to all guests - DVD player, wirless broadband internet, free onsite car parking, car / boat wash, Guest Laundry, barbeque, free book & magazine exchange plus skate boards for the kids.
Lastly Qualmark has confirmed that we are at the very upper limits for a “four star plus” motel so please have a look at our website, or come and have a look to see for yourself to see what we have to offer, you won’t be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    133
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
125
238
24
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2010

Me and 2 friends stayed overnight at Picton, having arrived by ferry from Wellington, before heading on to Havelock to catch a water taxi for a friend's vacation house the next morning. The owners were very friendly. The rooms were perfectly clean and well apportioned. As an American, I don't know how many places I have stayed in the U.S. with broken furniture or cracked glasses or other neglected items/issues. I think it is the result of corporations running hotels in the U.S. The Brodway, however, was perfect! This is a family run hotel, and the attention the owners give shows!
I liked the scale of the hotel, nott too big and not too small. I felt comfortable sitting in front of my room, book and glass of wine in hand, saying hello to other guests passing by. The place lent itself to friendly, neighborly behavior with fellow guests. There is also wifi available in the rooms, even worked with my iPhone. The location is excellent, right at the top of main street with a grocery stone across the street. It was a nice walk down main street to the harbor and back up the other side, with shops along the way. I was quite impressed, and we only stayed less than a day. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeeTheWorlds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2010

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Broadway in early January. The motel was great. My husband was initially concerned when I told him we were booked in a motel and not a hotel, but his fears were quickly eliminated. The motel had very modern decor-- halogen lights over the kitchen and bath sink, modern couch and colors. We are light sleepers and found the room very quiet and comfortable. We would definately recommend this luxury motel. The motel is located a short walk from the ferry terminal and train station. There was also a grocery store directly across the street --- could not be more convenient with a frig in the room. It was on the quiet end of High Street. Picton is also a fabulous location in New Zealand, the Sounds are beautiful, the town cute and proximity to the wine region is great.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiewiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2009

I stayed at the Broadway Motel in Picton for two nights in early December. My goal was to ride the Queen Charlotte Track, which happily was accomplished. i booked ahead the same day on the property web site and the reservation was there when i arrived.

The motel is very easy to find as you enter Picton. It is located at the top of the main street through town and it is also right across the street from the town New Age Supermarket, so it is quite convenient. It is right on the intersection of the main street and road to the ferry, but i did not find it particularly noisy.

The room was clean and comfortable, if a bit dated. There was a small kitchenette with a microwave (no cooktop or oven). The bed was comfortable, however the TV was very small and difficult to see from more than five feet away. TV was not my prime concern here, though, so it did not really detract from my stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wuhsinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2009

We stayed at the Broadway Motel in Picton for one night and enjoyed it thoroughly. Lovely one bedroom apartment with a very large bathroom. Facilities are top class. The kitchenette was tiny, but it was expected. The apartment had a balcony that looked across the hills surrounding Picton. Picton is a lovely spot and this motel is a very short walk down to the harbour. Across the road is a supermarket which was very handy. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miffcolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Stayed here for 1 night in March - good, clean and quiet accommodation. Our room was spacious and had everything we needed including a small kitchen area with microwave, kettle and toaster. Good location for the inter island ferry – approx 700m walk.
Picton is ok for a one night stay. Would choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank y0dagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2009

Great motel, clean and nicely set out, very roomy and modern. Yes the trains are close but they didn't really worry us. The sticking point however was the male manager (owner?) who was very rude and most unhelpful - providing assistance was far too much trouble for him which he made very plain. By the way, if you accidentally break anything, and own up to it, expect to have pay for it (we broke a glass - cost us $5). His attitude left a very sour taste in our mouths, perhaps we struck him on a bad day!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big_H_1, Manager at Broadway Motel, responded to this review, May 3, 2009
Thank you for your feedback, it’s very nice to hear that you thought Broadway Motel was “Great” even though the service did not come up to your expectations. We pride ourselves on the service we provide for our guests and clearly in this case it has not come up to our normal standard.
The mornings are very busy in a Motel and if I remember correctly, on that particular morning you called me back to the office on numerous occasions. In my defense I can only say that I was under a lot of stress at the time, with my wife being away for 4 days, to attend to her seriously ill father in hospital and I was left doing the work of two people. There is no excuse for poor service and on reflection I could have handled this better and will do so in the future. To ensure we do not have a repeat of this issue we have taken on an extra staff member to help in the office.
Lastly we believe in user pays so we do charge for breakages. This is outlined in our terms and conditions and is also on the check in form which you accepted when you signed in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.4 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.2 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#12 of 16 in Picton
92 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Motel

Property: Broadway Motel
Address: 113 High Street | Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Picton
#1 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#3 Family Hotel in Picton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#5 Business Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Broadway Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality in the Heart of Picton. If you are expecting ... Central location, spacious / modern / clean units with air-conditioning, kitchen facilities, flat screen TVs, Sky TV, mains pressure showers, comfortable beds, free Wi-Fi, all within 700m of the Ferry Terminals and Train Station. Then the Broadway Motel is the place for you. With a Qualmark 4 Star Plus rating, for the last ten years, this puts us amongst Picton's Top rated motels & hotels. Being a family business it is very important to us that we provide excellent service and a clean, serviced room for you every time. So close to the supermarket, shops, restaurants and bars, all within 450m, - we are ideally situated in the heart of Picton. Quality accommodation, friendly service at an affordable price for your next stay in Picton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Broadway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing