We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Broadway Motel”
Review of Broadway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Broadway Motel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Broadway Motel”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed two nights in second floor room. Room very good with comfortable bed and excellent shower. Staff friendly and happy to offer advice on places to eat etc. Hotel easy to access and is 5 minutes walk to center of town for cafes and all activities associated with Queen Charlotte Sound. Only small demerit is that if you are a light sleeper the occasional freight trains (one or two per night), which run near the motel, may wake you up. Woke us the first night with window open, but closed the window second night and no further problem.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    131
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
121
232
24
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

The room was fabulous. Very modern and clean with a really comfortable bed. The shower was particularly impressive being of a wet room walk in style and a very generous size. Some other motels we stayed at in NZ did not have a teapot, the Broadway did and we were very grateful because tea just doesn't taste the same when it's brewed in a cup!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big_H_1, Owner at Broadway Motel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Bruce H, Thank you for taking the time to review our family business. We do go to a lot of trouble making sure that all our units are modern, clean and comfortable and its great to hear that we met your expectations.

If ever we can be of service to you, please give us a call on 0800 101 919 and we will do our utmost to meet your needs

Thank you again for staying at the Broadway Motel and we hope that you enjoy the rest of your holiday.

Donna & Henry Kersten (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed one night - arrived without a booking late in the afternoon - owners very friendly and accommodating and even gave us a discount because the only room they had left was for a family and there were only two of us. Good shower and clean and tidy room, quiet, and cover for the motorbike. Supermarket across the road, garage close by and just a short stroll to shops and waterfront.

They were helpful with advice on food and entertainment in the area.

We will definitely stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2013

stayed only one night, the owners were friendly and helpful. the rooms clean and tidy. descent shower and didn't hear any noises from neighbouring rooms. across the road from the supermarket and a short walk to the waterfront

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AllenMorrisWPTNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big_H_1, Owner at Broadway Motel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Allen, that for taking the time to review the Broadway Motel. Its great to hear that you found us friendly and helpful as this is very important to us and all our guests. We do get a lot of positive feedback about the mains pressure showers and clearly they met your expectations.

Thank you again for staying and reviewing the Broadway Motel and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Donna & Henry Kersten (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were looking for a 'pampered' night for our last one after our southern road trip before back to Wellington, reality and the kids :)

After quite a bit of searching my partner fell in love with the description of the honey moon suite (especially the spa bath) at the Broadway Motel Picton. From the moment we arrived until we left our experience was superb, the rooms presentation was outstanding and all amenities were just as required.

Situated right in the centre of town all amenities were a short drive (or walk) away, yet the room was still quiet and relaxing.

The description of the room and the photo's we found on line were accurate - always a worry when you look for accommodation online. The proprietors were very friendly and well accommodating!

Thank you for a wonderful end to our trip!

Room Tip: The honeymoon spa bath rooms are the bomb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnham common
Level Contributor
298 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The purpose of Tripadvisor is surely not to ingratiate the B&B/Motel/Hotel owners but to give seekers of accommodation a true honest and precise evaluation of the premises.

When we looked at Tripadvisor’s assessment of the Broadway Motel, we found it attracted, with one exception, 5 x ● and therefore qualifies, almost, as an automatic choice to stay there.

First of all, the Broadway is in an urban environment sitting next to the Picton-Christchurch railway line. Our room (15) overlooked (beyond the train line) the town of Picton; the opposite window looked over supermarkets et al. The room itself was clean and tidy with all the basic utilities. Furnishings were better than average except for the dining chairs which were worn.

Like so many other bathrooms, there was no room to put toilet bags by the side of the hand basin.

The owner is very aware of the train situation and has advised occupants of the relevant rooms to close windows etc., he has also issued ear plugs. Overall, very convenient for the ferry but be aware of the train…….choo, choo.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big_H_1, Owner at Broadway Motel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
JandJFarnhamCommon – thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts about the Broadway Motel. I agree, trip advisor is not there to ingratiate the owners, but is there to give prospective guests a balanced view of your experience when you stayed at our Motel.

The Broadway Motel is independently rated 4.5 Star (out of 5) by Qualmark, so is at the upper end of the market. Other features we offer is, Air conditioning, double glazing, mains pressure showers, Sky TV, and private balconies, so to use the word “basic” is not a fair reflection of what we offer.

I agree that the dinning chairs are not up to the standard of the rest of the room and you will be pleased to know that we have already refurbished half the chairs in the complex, with the remainder being completed within three weeks.

Lastly, thank you for scoring “service,” 5 out of five - it is really pleasing to know that we met your expectations in this area. Thank you again for staying at the Broadway Motel and we look forward to seeing you again in the future

Donna & Henry Kersten (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the Broadway Motel, and can find no fault. Our room was beautifully serviced and the staff very pleasant. The Spa Bath a real bonus. We found it to be close enough to Town to buzz up and down, handy to bush walks and yet still quiet. Thank you all for making our "get-away-long-weekend" a very enjoyable one !!!
P S I would love to know the brand of your pillows !!! They are great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.4 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.2 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#12 of 16 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Motel

Property: Broadway Motel
Address: 113 High Street | Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Picton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#3 Family Hotel in Picton
#5 Business Hotel in Picton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Broadway Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality in the Heart of Picton. If you are expecting ... Central location, spacious / modern / clean units with air-conditioning, kitchen facilities, flat screen TVs, Sky TV, mains pressure showers, comfortable beds, free Wi-Fi, all within 700m of the Ferry Terminals and Train Station. Then the Broadway Motel is the place for you. With a Qualmark 4 Star Plus rating, for the last ten years, this puts us amongst Picton's Top rated motels & hotels. Being a family business it is very important to us that we provide excellent service and a clean, serviced room for you every time. So close to the supermarket, shops, restaurants and bars, all within 450m, - we are ideally situated in the heart of Picton. Quality accommodation, friendly service at an affordable price for your next stay in Picton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Broadway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing