We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely motel”
Review of Broadway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Broadway Motel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Very nice and well equipped motel. We had a room upstairs, so had a small balcony. The room had a sofa and kitchenette and was very comfortable. It was nicely made up and had all amenities. Free wifi too. The lady in reception was very helpful. There are restaurants walking distance and a supermarket across the road. The train passes close by but we were advised to keep windows closed. We had the AC so it was not a problem

Room Tip: I would sty in a room upstairs cause had an extra balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 502 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

This motel was lovely. We had the honeymoon suite and it was nice with a great spa bath. It's a little loud with the railway line nearby but they did warn us to close the windows and there is air conditioning. No views in particular.

But the service was fantastic. The owners/staff went out of their way to help and even lent us their car for 30 minutes! So great to meet helpful, genuine people whilst away from home. Thank you

Room Tip: Honeyroom suite with the spa bath was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwilassee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I loved my stay here. the people were very very friendly and very helpful. the studio room was very clean and quite spacious. Well furnished. The only issue i had with this motel which unfortunately is very important to me was the noise. I'm a very light sleeper in any situation, and being situated on a main road with constant noise from trucks, buses etc. I found it very difficult to sleep. not to mention the incredibly loud trains that pass by a few streets over! a good place to stay if you are a sound sleeper.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilieJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big_H_1, Owner at Broadway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

EmilieJayne: Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Broadway Motel and you found us very friendly and Helpful.
I am very sorry to hear that you are a light sleeper and found it difficult to sleep because of noise. We have have tried to ensure all our guests have a good nights sleep and to this end the units are fitted with double glazing and special acoustic curtains. These curtains feature a core fibrous material sandwiched between a decorative fabric and a blackout liner. Also we do provide ear plugs for the light sleepers and if anybody would like more details then please call me on 0800 100 919.
Finally its nice to hear that you found the studio very clean,spacious & well furnished and we all look forward to welcoming you back again in the future

Henry Kersten (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were a group of 3 couples walking the Queen Charlotte track and we stayed at the Broadway before and after our walk. The motel stored luggage not needed for the track which was a great help for the Perth couple with extra luggage. Our rooms were all together, very clean and roomy. Excellent situation so close to everything. Friendly happy staff.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 - 5 are ground floor with no others above - quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed in this Motel for 2 days. And could`nt fault this motel. Managers very Friendly and helpful. Rooms really clean and tidy. In walking distance to the restaurants, bars , cafes.The only hassle i could think of was draging my husband out of the spa bath. Thanks Broadway Motel for givng us such and lovely 2 nights away. Would`nt stay any where else when we go back to picton.

Room Tip: Great place to stay very good location. walking distance to most things
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our group of three walked the Queen Charlotte Track and used Broadway Motel as our staging point for the start and finish. The Motel was great. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. It is walking distance to the Ferries. We would definitely stay at Broadway again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The location of the Broadway Motel is ideal for walking as it is really close to the harbour, shops and restaurants. The room was very clean and tidy, and although very close to the train tracks, I did not hear the early morning train. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

My only disappointment was that we were there for our 10th wedding anniversary and noted this at the time of booking in the comments and it would have been nice to have had this acknowledged with chocolates, a card or if this was not possible, then at least verbally.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left of the driveway would be quieter as away from the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fleur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big_H_1, Owner at Broadway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Fleur - Thank you for your positive review of the Broadway Motel and its great to hear you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our central location and clean room.

I am sorry to hear that we didn't acknowledge your tenth anniversary, it is an important milestone and clearly we slipped up. We will review our procedures, to ensure that in future we do take note of these comments about special occasions and action accordingly. If you would like to discuss this matter further then please call me on 0800 101 919

Thank you again for staying at the Broadway and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Henry Kersten (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.4 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.2 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
15.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Motel

Address: 113 High Street | Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Picton
#1 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#1 Best Value Hotel in Picton
#3 Family Hotel in Picton
#5 Business Hotel in Picton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range: $94 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Broadway Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality in the Heart of Picton. If you are expecting ... Central location, spacious / modern / clean units with air-conditioning, kitchen facilities, flat screen TVs, Sky TV, mains pressure showers, comfortable beds, free Wi-Fi, all within 700m of the Ferry Terminals and Train Station. Then the Broadway Motel is the place for you. With a Qualmark 4 Star Plus rating, for the last ten years, this puts us amongst Picton's Top rated motels & hotels. Being a family business it is very important to us that we provide excellent service and a clean, serviced room for you every time. So close to the supermarket, shops, restaurants and bars, all within 450m, - we are ideally situated in the heart of Picton. Quality accommodation, friendly service at an affordable price for your next stay in Picton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Broadway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing