We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”
Review of Voyager Seafood Restaurant - CLOSED

Voyager Seafood Restaurant
Price range: $5 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Oxleys Bar and Kitchen, is a restaurant and bar that packs heaps of punch and produces meals that are suitable for a family, or perhaps if you are trying very hard to impress your partner with a fantastic dining experience. The waiting staff are fabulous and the meals are just a couple of notches below fine dining, so you get a great meal, including entree's, mains and desserts, but at a very affordable price.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Visited this restaurant last night and was not impressed by the decor, food or service.
The food took 45 minutes to arrive even though it was nothing fancy. My daughter-in-law and I both ordered a chicken and bacon salad which consisted of tiny pieces of chicken which tasted of absolutely nothing. The salad part looked as though it had been tipped onto the plate from a pre-packed bag with large wedges of tomato added. When we asked for dressing a small pot of a sickly sweet mayo was presented. Prior to us sitting down the waitress cleared the table from the previous occupants and used a smelly cloth which left a sour smell. My son had a pizza which he described as mediocre and my husband a beef burger which he enjoyed.

Definitely wouldn't go back for a second time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Babs N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, General Manager at Voyager Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
All I will say about this review and the reviewer is that no matter how hard you try to please some people its sad to say but some people just cant be pleased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    56
    28
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A long, long wait for an average meal”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

After being recommended by our accommodation, we had high hopes. However, high hopes were dampened by a one hour wait and some pretty average food when it did arrive. We watched as all tables were made to wait an extraordinary amount of time for their food. Sadly, our one hour's wait was shorter than some other tables. It wasn't that busy to warrant that length of wait. Worse still was a complete lack of attention from wait staff. When we did enquire about the progress of our meals after about 40 minutes (and to ask for the wine menu again), it took another 15 minutes and some more frantic waving to get the attention of the waitress, who appeared to have forgotten about our request. A real disappointment. Beware.

Helpful?
Thank AOB70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, General Manager at Voyager Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Voyager Restaurant at Oxley's. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Service and food standards are the very things that we strive to achieve here in the Voyager Restaurant at Oxley's. We would like to advise that our restaurant seats 120 patrons in two separate locations. Should you arrive you will be advised if there is any wait time. I understand that on the night in question all our guest were advised to the amount of time that it would take if any. We are now in the peak season and delays can and will happen that is just the nature of hospitality and for that all we can do is apologize and if people don't like to wait maybe the should go to a fast food takeaway shop because that is what we are not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Top-Class Seafood in a historic venue”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Spending the night in Picton after hiking (part of) the Queen Charlotte Track, we ate a late-ish dinner at the Oxleys Rock. The quality of the seafood made this the best meal we've had in our week in NZ. Super-fresh, well-prepared -- just delicious.
-- The chowder was one of the best I've ever had. Not heavy and full of cream it was lighter and full of flavor (some ppl may like the creamy kind of chowder, but I find the cream overwhelms the seafood). Oxley's Rock chowder was full of a mixture of seafood (I remember scallops, shrimp and mussles, but there may have been others). Every mouthful was a pleasure.
-- The mussles in white wine sauce were tender and superbly flavored.
-- The seafood platter contained about 10 different kinds of seafood, each better than the last. There were scallops two ways, a seafood spring roll, mussels, two kinds of shrimp, and several different kinds of fish. (We asked for no oysters, and they were happy to comply.) The scallops and a white fish (dunno what the local fish are named) were fantastic!

The menu is a bit eclectic -- they clearly want to please people of varying tastes. So I can't say what their other food (steaks? burgers?) would be like, but if you love fresh seafood this is a sure-fire win.

Oh, and just a word about the historic venue -- right opposite the Picton Marina, it is a vintage building conserved as part of a reconstruction/development project. A very successful blend of historic appearance with modern functionality. And super easy to find as it is right on the harbor.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HK_Observer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, General Manager at Voyager Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Hi HK_Observer
Thank you for choosing the Voyager Seafood Restaurant at Oxley's as your restaurant of choice for your recent dinner. The team at Oxley's are pleased to learn that you and your friend enjoyed you meals and the seafood chowder and platter are just one of our many seafood dishes. Once again service and food standards are the very things that we strive to achieve and we are happy that your experience meet your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back should you choose to return to dine again. Thank you for taking the time to review Voyager Seafood Restaurant at Oxley's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong SAR, China
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice seafood”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Nice seafood, but not great.

The three of us have dinner there and ordered the $99 seafood platter and a pasta. The portion was generous and in general the quality is very good. I found the seafood chowder, although tasted good, was not as thick as I liked. The mussels were very good, and so were the prawns. Service was very good, justifying the higher than average price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillKz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, General Manager at Voyager Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Hi BillKz
Thank you for choosing the Voyager Seafood Restaurant at Oxley's as your restaurant of choice for your recent dinner. The team at Oxley's are pleased to learn that we deliver a memorable occasion for the three off you and thank you for your comments regarding the service and the food. Once again service and food standards are the very things that we strive to achieve and we are delighted that your experience meet your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back should you choose to return to dine again. Thank you for taking the time to review Voyager Seafood Restaurant at Oxley's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Im a territory manager and spend quite a bit of time on the road. Im often too busy to stop anywhere to grab a bite to eat, but by chance i decided to stop off at Voyagers Seafood Restuarant at Oxleys on the Quay in Picton yesterday.
The owners, Shane and Jenny were the most warm, welcoming hosts of any restaurant i have visited.
I ordered the entree size Seafood Chowder. WOW!! It was the best i have ever had. Perfect temperature, the seafood was fresh and plentiful. It was very filling and was the biggest entree size ive seen served.
I would highly recommend anyone visiting Picton to stop at Voyagers. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane B, General Manager at Voyager Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Hi Lou1874
Thank you for choosing the Voyager Seafood Restaurant at Oxley's as your restaurant of choice for your recent dinner. The team at Oxley's are pleased to learn that we deliver a memorable occasion for yourself and thank you for your comments regarding the service and the food. We are delighted that your experience meet your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back should you choose to return to dine again. Thank you for taking the time to review Voyager Seafood Restaurant at Oxley's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Voyager Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing