We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely comfortable B & B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Retreat Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 24 Picton B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Alison & Geoff made us most welcome in their interesting home. Ideal place to stay if you have just got off the Interislander. (One night was not enough to enjoy their company and the scenery around Picton).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HampshireMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucyPicton, Owner at Retreat Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It was lovely to meet you both and we're happy you enjoyed our home and surroundings. If we meet again, there'll surely be more fun to be had! ..
Alison and Geoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
There are newer reviews for Retreat Inn Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2011

We stayed with Alison and Geoff at the beginning and end of attempting and completing the Queen Charlotte Walk. We had a lovely comfortable room within easy walking distance of the town of Picton where Alison and Geoff were happy to recommend eating houses. They also told us of activities in the area that would interest us. Just watching the activity at the marina was so relaxing...

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabre9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucyPicton, Owner at Retreat Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2012

Thank you for your kind review... We loved having you with us, then enjoyed your Queen Charlotte experience once you returned. Well done! Maybe we'll meet again?...
Alison and Geoff,
Retreat Inn,
Picton,
New Zealand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

I spent one night on Good Friday at Retreat Inn on my way to Nelson. Hosts Geoff and Alison were very friendly and helpful with suggestions on what to do and see in and around Picton. Alison even called up a restaurant to see if it was open on Good Friday. Room was spacious, very clean and quiet. After I got back from exploring the town in the evening, I sat with them over coffee and had a wonderful chat. Breakfast was well laid out and excellent. Geoff and Alison make me feel as if I was part of the family throughout my stay. I had a wonderful time and would highly recommend it to anyone considering B&B in Picton.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoopersBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucyPicton, Owner at Retreat Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2012

Thank you for your recommendation, and photo. We were happy to be able to help with information on eating places and what all there is to do in and around this beautiful area. And the evening 'chat over coffee' was an added bonus. Thats what life's about!
Alison & Geoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

The Retreat Guest House is a lovely comfortable place to stay. Bedroom excellent backing onto bush/creek. Seems as if you are surrounded by countryside yet walkable to town and restaurants. Hosts v. friendly and helpful with local activities and excellent breakfast. Would definitely recommend this as a place to stay if wanting something a little more personal than a motel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucyPicton, Owner at Retreat Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Thank you for your recommendation. We appreciate your kind words and are very happy you enjoyed your stay here.... which was as much up to you as us. We're great believers you get what you give in this life!
Alison & Geoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

We stayed here in February for two nights and it was a really pleasant stay.We were made to feel very much at home and nothing was too much trouble. Alison and Geoff
were very helpful and it felt like we were leaving old friends when we left.
Another review mentioned about no TV, if the weather is not so good there is
always the chance you may meet a Dutch pop star there-we did!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveitalyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucyPicton, Owner at Retreat Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Wasnt it fun meeting this nice pop star! though for us it was great meeting you all. Thank you for coming to stay. We hope the rest of your New Zealand holiday left you with loads of happy memories...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2008

My wife Rosie and I enjoyed our stay in Picton, Alison and Geoff are very approachable friendly hosts with a range of rooms.

The room we had was very clean with a comfortable bed and a good breakfast, non shared bathroom with fresh towels etc. The only thing we could think that would improve the room we stayed in was the inclusion of a Radio/Tv, this was no inconvenience to us as we were out for most of the time and watching TV was the last thing we wanted to do, but should the weather be poor, this would help.

If you are from the UK, IT is not what we would normally term an Inn, so don't think it's a pub with a B&B component, we were not looking for that kind of stay when we found them on the web.

Picton it self is small, with a fair few eateries, if you go there and are a little tired of eating too well and fancy some straight forward food go down to the dry-docked Scow, you could spend an hour looking at the history of it over a cup of tea, if nothing else.
As were most places we visited in NZ, cleanliness appears to be the norm.

Paul Berry

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlowMeDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucyPicton, Owner at Retreat Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Your kind & helpful review was a wonderful beginning to tripadvisor for us. Thank you.
Alison and Geoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KJ_TripReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucyPicton, Owner at Retreat Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
1.5 mi away
Waikawa Bay Holiday Park
1.1 mi away
Parklands Marina Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.6 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
252 reviews
0.7 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retreat Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retreat Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 20 Lincoln Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a sunny hillside, with bush backdrop and gently sloping front lawn, Retreat Inn B&B is easily accessible, with flat off street parking.Two guest bedrooms ... ground floor queen/en-suite bedroom ... and upstairs the choice of queen/or twin room, with private adjacent bathroom. All rooms are spacious, warm, with firm beds.Picton Village is a 3 minute drive, or 15 minute walk, from Retreat Inn ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing