We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly location. Wonderful owners/hosts.”
Review of Kokopu Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kokopu Estate
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed in the Potager room at Kokopu for 3 nights. Quiet. Comfortable. Breakfasts delicious. Setting heavenly. Birdsong surrounded us. The garden & hills greeted us every morning. The setting is spectacular. Hosts Mark & Wendy are interesting, knowlegable, excellent cooks, but above all--Kind in the fullest sense of the word. They couldn't have done more in the way of making sure we had the most restful,stress-free, comfortable vacation possible.

Thank you Mark & Wendyi hope we can come back soon. We would head directly for Kokopu Estate.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheri b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 124 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

A gorgeous little red cottage by a cool stream, a short walk across a lovely little wooden bridge to its own orchard: the perfect start to our New Zealand holiday, with the only sounds the occasional bird and the water running by the backdoor.
A great way to get away from it all, just 5 minutes drive, or, if feeling energetic, a 20 minute walk down the hill to the beautiful village of Akaroa.
This is a very old bach, slightly updated, with no Wi-Fi or even a TV signal - just a DVD player attached to a screen. The kitchen is basic, but has what you need to cook a decent meal - fridge, oven, stove top and microwave. Beds are also not the best, especially if more than 3 are staying and the 4th has to sleep on the trundle bed which makes the 2nd bedroom very crowded. But if staying as a couple the main bedroom is gorgeous with a stunning leadlight feature.
The bathroom was also basic with an underpowered, but clean shower. However any sacrifices on modern amenities are more than offset by the delights of an old fashioned woodfire at night, or eating lunch sitting on the banks of the stream outside the back door.
As a bonus, if you take a walk up the hill behind the property past the main guest house you'll be rewarded with great views of Akaroa, and enjoy the company of Gus, the owners' dog, who will race you to the top.
And if you really need Wi-Fi, head down to the local library where you can connect with the net for free.

Room Tip: Although 4 can squeeze in, it's really only suitable for 3 people, and is a perfect retreat for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

One of my best holiday experiences ever and definitely the best while staying in New Zealand. We stayed at the Potager Suite in the main house and the hosts, Wendy and Mark made us feel like a part of their family. Great food, beautiful views, garden, vineyard, evening lounge with fire, singing birds, heaven on Earth. Wish could stay MUCH longer, preferably forever. And Akaroa and Banks peninsula district is absolutely beautiful too. Many secluded beaches, wild forest, tracks, wildlife. While there, go to Vangionis their family restaurant, the food there is excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lenka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This may be a beautiful place to stay but I never got the chance as the owner cancelled my booking as she had people who wanted to stay for 4 nights instead of the 2 nights I had booked.She never told me until I rang to reconfirm my booking and tried to book me into a B and B in Akaroa which is not what I wanted. No other accommodation service would do this to a person. This is very unprofessional and bad behaviour and purely for her financial gain. Just beware when booking as she may cancel on you, very unreliable and unprofessional.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hopefultraveller54, Owner at Kokopu Estate, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.
Firstly, please accept my sincere apologies for any misunderstanding you perceive to be on my part regarding your provisional booking. It is unfortunate that we are not able to accommodate you,but as the weekend in question is 4 weeks away I am sure you will be able to find a suitable alternative.
It is common practice that, when fully booked, establishments such as ours offer alternative suggestions for similar accommodation in the vicinity.
If you should be visiting again in the future and would like to stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact us and we will ensure you have an enjoyable time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed in the gate keepers lodge. Nice courtyard to sit in and great views. Walk to town is too far but no problem. The restaurant they are associated with is excellent and well worth the visit. The wi-fi was a big disappointment - very poor connection. Another example of it being it being advertised but not really provided in an adequate form.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hopefultraveller54, Owner at Kokopu Estate, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you very much for your comments. I am pleased to be able to say that the temporary problem with the WiFi has now been resolved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

A beautiful welcome & mountain top view as we wound our way down the winding country road into the quaint French sea cove. The ambience into the property past the cottage, running stream, through the gates to the main house delighted our senses, only to discover so many more, namely: a beautiful room in the main house with magnificient views beyond & gardens. I loved the venture up to the vineyard & later a welcome drink & nibbles by the grand fireplace with our hosts sharing their own pinot noir. Mark & Wendy, your hospitality is amazing, you are a credit to your community in all you recommend and do!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrea_leckenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Wonderful treasure! We stayed in the Gatekeepers Cottage...what an amazing place. Wonderful for a romantic, restful and quiet holiday. Beautiful property to walk around on. Plentiful bird life. Close walk to town. We didn't want to leave and will go back as many times as we can!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
1.3 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 5 in Akaroa
131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beaufort House Akaroa
Beaufort House Akaroa
#1 of 25 in Akaroa
240 reviews
1.2 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Annandale
Annandale
#7 of 22 in Akaroa
33 reviews
1 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
1.7 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 25 in Akaroa
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokopu Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokopu Estate

Address: 155 Grehan Valley Road, Akaroa 8161, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range: $128 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kokopu Estate Cottages - Kokopu Cottage is idyllically situated beside a stream with gorgeous garden and native trees. Two bedrooms, full kitchen and bathroom with washing machine.Open fire in the living room. Secluded outdoor wood-fired bath beside the stream. DVD player, games and books. No WiFi - this is country living at it's best. The Gatekeepers Cottage is a luxurious romantic retreat with ensuite bathroom and private courtyard. Stunning location. Self catering or delicious cooked breakfast bought to you. WiFi available The Potager Suite is a bed and breakfast room within the main house with a private adjacent bathroom. Single room also available. Lounge with open fire available for guests use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Kokopu Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing