We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found”
Review of Kokopu Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kokopu Estate
Ranked #4 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was the second time we stayed at Kokopu cottage. It is a little paradise. I love the stained glass window in master bedroom and we love the outdoor tub. We would definitely stay again. It is a lovely setting with the running creek and great garden with a little bridge to cross. Birds singing, the creek bubbling and wind whispering, it is a great spot.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Kokopu Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 122 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

We found the Kokapu Estates B & B from a recommendation from a B & B we had stayed in in Auckland (it was owned by a friend of a friend of our hosts). We stayed in the Potager B & B suite rather than the self-catering cottages. Immediately on arrival, about a mile out of town up a gravel road, we were offered ANYTHING to drink by Wendy– we settled for gin and tonics on the patio overlooking their gorgeous English-style garden and a view over the bay! We found out that Wendy and Mark Bradley had designed and built their home and that they own one of the best restaurants in town (Vangioni’s), and that they have sheep and grow vines. Cooked breakfasts were first class and beautifully presented. On the second night on the patio Mark shared some of his pinot noir that he had produced – absolutely the best pinot noir we had in New Zealand. My wife said Mark’s home-made salami was exemplary also.

Room Tip: Go with the Potager - full service with stunning breakfasts.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heckmondwike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

If you are travelling in the Christchurch area, you must stay in Mark and Wendy's B&B. We have nothing but good things to say about this accommodation. It has it all - great views, friendly owners, farm animals on site, a vineyard, fruit orchards, vegetable gardens, and close proximity to the beautiful town of Akaroa. The breakfasts are fantastic and a great kick start to the day and you must try the Pinot Noir from Mark and Wendy's vineyard. We stayed in the Potager Suite which was ideal for our family of four - our two daughters are still talking about the family dog (Fergus) and cat (Carrie). For anyone with NZD2.4mn to spare you can buy the whole 37 acre property which is currrently on the market at this price. In my opinion, $2.4mn is a huge bargain since property values are surely destined to up in the Akaroa area in next few years as the economic benefits of the ambitious rebuild plans for Christchurch (only 90 mins away) start to take shape!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We recently stayed in the self contained Kokopu Cottage on the Kokopu Estate, run by the most lovely hosts Wendy and Mark, who made our stay so special. It was our first family holiday in 5 years and it was a truly memorable stay which my husband, 3 year old daughter and I will always hold dear.

There were many incredible aspects to this holiday spot; with the charming yet incredibly comfortable cottage, sitting and listening to our own private stream with 'Neil the Eel' making a guest appearance, woolly sheep grazing on the rolling green hills, fluffy bumble bees, an outdoor bath and separate reading hut, well kept but free flowing garden with incredible rose bushes and personal touches everywhere - all set amongst an unparalleled sense of tranquility and privacy.

Such a great find, it will renew your faith in beauty, nature and human goodness. If you are looking for a relaxing, yet interesting holiday accommodation we couldn't recommend more highly this truly utopian place on earth.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband, daughter & I (plus our beloved wee dog Ruby) stayed in Kokopu Cottage for two nights recently. From the moment we pulled into the driveway we were enchanted by this little red gem nestled in a lush green valley, surrounded by birdsong & the gentle burble of the stream at the bottom of the garden. The cottage itself is absolutely gorgeous: full of character & hiding a myriad of lovely surprises to be discovered in drawers & cupboards-- everything you could ever want or need for a relaxing getaway. There are stunning views wherever you look, & it's amazingly private & peaceful. The outdoor bath is something that everyone should be lucky enough to experience- soaking under the stars while surrounded by native bush is simply magical. A real soul-nurturing holiday, & just what we needed. Thank you, Mark & Wendy, for sharing such a beautiful piece of kiwi paradise with us-- we will be back to stay again for sure. :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Kokopu is a beautiful place to stay. We stayed in The Gatekeepers Cottage and found it was so private and pretty. We went to sleep and woke in the morning to the sound of birds singing in the bush near by. Beautiful sunsets and sunrises, the most comfortable bed and our wee boy loved the goldfish and Furgus the dog who is a real character and very sweet. We had really hot weather during our holiday and Wendy organised a paddling pool for our toddler which was just great. Kokopu is a top spot and run by cool people.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank belinda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Mark & Wendy hosted our wedding with guests from all over NZ and the UK. The location, house, rooms and hospitality were all fantastic. The welcome we received helped to make our time here especially memorable. Great catering by the Akaroa cooking school for the main event and a great prematch meal at Vangioni's.
Kokopu is a unique venue, not to be overlooked and probably unbeatable!
Thanks Mark & Wendy

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lordschache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
1.3 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 6 in Akaroa
113 reviews
1.2 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
1.0 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
216 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
1.3 mi away
L'Hotel Akaroa
L'Hotel Akaroa
#9 of 24 in Akaroa
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokopu Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokopu Estate

Address: 155 Grehan Valley Road, Akaroa 8161, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range: $114 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kokopu Estate Cottages - Kokopu Cottage is idyllically situated beside a stream with gorgeous garden and native trees. Two bedrooms, full kitchen and bathroom with washing machine.Open fire in the living room. Secluded outdoor wood-fired bath beside the stream. DVD player, games and books. No WiFi - this is country living at it's best. The Gatekeepers Cottage is a luxurious romantic retreat with ensuite bathroom and private courtyard. Stunning location. Self catering or delicious cooked breakfast bought to you. WiFi available The Potager Suite is a bed and breakfast room within the main house with a private adjacent bathroom. Single room also available. Lounge with open fire available for guests use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kokopu Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing