We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a slice of kiwi paradise.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kokopu Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kokopu Estate
Ranked #4 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“a slice of kiwi paradise.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband, daughter & I (plus our beloved wee dog Ruby) stayed in Kokopu Cottage for two nights recently. From the moment we pulled into the driveway we were enchanted by this little red gem nestled in a lush green valley, surrounded by birdsong & the gentle burble of the stream at the bottom of the garden. The cottage itself is absolutely gorgeous: full of character & hiding a myriad of lovely surprises to be discovered in drawers & cupboards-- everything you could ever want or need for a relaxing getaway. There are stunning views wherever you look, & it's amazingly private & peaceful. The outdoor bath is something that everyone should be lucky enough to experience- soaking under the stars while surrounded by native bush is simply magical. A real soul-nurturing holiday, & just what we needed. Thank you, Mark & Wendy, for sharing such a beautiful piece of kiwi paradise with us-- we will be back to stay again for sure. :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    14
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
73
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Kokopu is a beautiful place to stay. We stayed in The Gatekeepers Cottage and found it was so private and pretty. We went to sleep and woke in the morning to the sound of birds singing in the bush near by. Beautiful sunsets and sunrises, the most comfortable bed and our wee boy loved the goldfish and Furgus the dog who is a real character and very sweet. We had really hot weather during our holiday and Wendy organised a paddling pool for our toddler which was just great. Kokopu is a top spot and run by cool people.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank belinda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Mark & Wendy hosted our wedding with guests from all over NZ and the UK. The location, house, rooms and hospitality were all fantastic. The welcome we received helped to make our time here especially memorable. Great catering by the Akaroa cooking school for the main event and a great prematch meal at Vangioni's.
Kokopu is a unique venue, not to be overlooked and probably unbeatable!
Thanks Mark & Wendy

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lordschache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

I can only echo other's comments on Kokopu Cottage, we didn't want to leave. We stayed for 3 nights while exploring the Akaroa area, and loved our little cottage nestled in its own valley - with a stream running through the garden and sheep nearly at the door, it's a little patch of paradise. The cottage is slighly rustic, but with all comforts provided, lovingly furnished and bursting with character, and this only adds to its charm - spending time with Wendy and Mark, the owners, and learning about the history of the place was fascinating. We didn't use the outdoor bath as the evenings were cool, but curling up in front of the log fire with a glass of wine, after a day exploring Akaroa Harbour and a fantastic meal at Vangionis, was a great end to the day.

Room Tip: Kokopu Cottage is the ultimate 'get away from it all' retreat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frootbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

A truly fantastic place to stay, combined with the beautiful Akaroa harbour in all of its sparkling glory, the Kokopu estate gave us a magical start to our New Zealand adventure. Mark and Wendy were lovely hosts, incredibly kind and helpful. The accommodation in Gate Keepers is exquisite - quirky details and Mark's building handiwork is fantastic. Wish we could have stayed forever! We shall return..... :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moggygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Stayed here for a couple days and realized that I could have just moved in for a month.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leputz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

This was a really lovely place to spend 2 calm and romantic days around Christmas. The whole premises, house and grounds are really lovely, with lovely views of the surrounding hills. The house is wonderful with gorgeous wood floors and ceiling and rich, warm textured decorations. The bed and bedroom were so comfortable.

We whiled the day away sitting on the outside patio, drinking wine amidst the blooming garden with summer all around. The owners, Wendy and Mark, made us feel so welcome at their place during Christmas and Wendys Sherry Trifle (with gooseberries) was delicious! I'm sorry that we had to leave so soon.

Attention burgeoning artists! It would be a perfect place to write, navel gaze and maybe even to catch up on lagging paperwork, whatever! This place is perfect for those who want to get away from it all, to relax and enjoy the silence on your own or with your loved ones! Of course, the nearby village of Akaroa provides some great activities (swim with dolphins) and restaurants.

We'd love to go back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roddyosullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
1.3 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
1.6 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
0.9 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beaufort House Akaroa
Beaufort House Akaroa
#1 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kokopu Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokopu Estate

Property: Kokopu Estate
Address: 155 Grehan Valley Road, Akaroa 8161, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kokopu Estate Cottages - Kokopu Cottage is idyllically situated beside a stream with gorgeous garden and native trees. Two bedrooms, full kitchen and bathroom with washing machine.Open fire in the living room. Secluded outdoor wood-fired bath beside the stream. DVD player, games and books. No WiFi - this is country living at it's best. The Gatekeepers Cottage is a luxurious romantic retreat with ensuite bathroom and private courtyard. Stunning location. Self catering or delicious cooked breakfast bought to you. WiFi available The Potager Suite is a bed and breakfast room within the main house with a private adjacent bathroom. Single room also available. Lounge with open fire available for guests use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kokopu Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing