We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Really is Enchanting Garden!”
Review of The Giant's House

The Giant's House
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.98*
and up
Akaroa Self Guided Audio Tour
Ranked #1 of 32 things to do in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Giant's House - A historic Akaroa house with original artworks, terraced gardens with sculptures and mosaics. Very Unique. A creative feast and a wonderful experience. Romantic secluded and quiet, but only a few minutes walk to the centre of Akaroa.The Giant's House was the first bank managers house in Akaroa, built 1880 of totara and kauri. It is grand in size, proportions, and features. Elegant and comfortable, it is designed and decorated in the french style. Being the home of an artist it balances and contrasts the historic and contemporary. Both the house and terraced gardens are full of surprises -expect the unexpected at The Giant's House!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“This Really is Enchanting Garden!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This place is delightful! The Artist, Josie, has really put her imagination to work here and created an absolutely magic garden. The sculptures and mosaics are a joy to behold and we spent two and a half hours feasting our eyes on these wonderful creations and wandering through the beautiful gardens. Initially we thought the $20 entry fee was expensive but this is very unique and worth the money. We have travelled extensively and have never seen anything like this anywhere else in the world. Don't miss the magic of this attraction and reserve 2 to 3 hours to enjoy - it is special!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josie M, Owner at The Giant's House, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Robyn,
Thrilled you enjoyed it so much- THANK-YOU!

Kind Regards

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    614
    101
    24
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 508 helpful votes
“Worth the $20? Yep.”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Let's be honest. People do walk up the drive way to The Giants House, look at the price of $20 for adults and walk away. I know because some fellow passengers from the cruise ship on which I was travelling told me they did. And I sat on the seat and pondered the same thing myself.

For me, it was worth the entry cost and I thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The whimsical and charming mosaiced statuary engaged that part of my brain that causes me to visit galleries all over the world. For the sheer joy of it. The garden is impeccably kept which is actually very important, even if you are not there to look at the garden, because if it were not perfect, the illusion of a magical space would be broken.

The Giants House is a pleasant walk from town past some of the pretty and historic houses of Akaroa. Yes, you can comfortably walk there from the dock where the cruise ship tenders arrive.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaisyClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josie M, Owner at The Giant's House, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Daisy,
I loved your comments, THANKYOU. For me the garden weaves magic too.

Kind Regards

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Colourful, vibrant and radiating masses of joie de vivre. Not only are the mosaic works wonderful, the garden is immaculate and the plantings cleverly planned. Thank you Josie for this joyful place.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josie M, Owner at The Giant's House, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Jameron,
THANKYOU, I think it is indeed "The Happiest Garden on Earth"!Celebration and Joy are so
important.

Cheers

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, FL
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Photo Opportunities in this Mosaic Garden”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This attraction is worth the $20. I spent over 2 hours examining the huge and beautiful mosaics created by Josie Martin. It is amazing how she has built these wonderful works of art on the steep property she owns. Lots of steps and hills to climb but well worth it. I've traveled extensively and I have never seen anything like this!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josie M, Owner at The Giant's House, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Linda,

THANKYOU for your lovely comment.

Kind Regards

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A garden of national importance. It 'out Gaudi's' Gaudi.”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Visitors to Barcelona can not fail to be familiar with the works of Gaudi. His bright and organically inspired designs became one of the world's most recognisable style of the post war-era. His schemes covered houses, sculpture and public art transforming him into the leading designer of the post modernist movement. He brought a fresh and shocking vision of post war design that many struggled to adapt to. Nowadays he is acknowledged as a leading visionary of art and design, a man of truly outstanding talent that in the case of La Sagra Familia, the cathedral in the city's centre, has yet to be fully realised. This is true of the Giant's House. Set amongst the charmingly quaint and historic town of Akaroa in New Zealand's Bank's Peninsula, it is difficult to find a superlative that does justice to what has been created. It is a truly outstanding example of garden design unmatched by anything Europe might possesss.Taking inspiration from Gaudi and travelling the world this garden wittily mixes horticulture with sculpture to stunning effect. The talent on show here is extraordinary. This is a garden of national importance and both the artist and what she has created deserves more recognition than it does now. It 'out Gaudi's Gaudi. Bravo!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josie M, Owner at The Giant's House, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Phillip,

THANK YOU for your fabulous comments.I am doing what I love with all my heart and soul, and felt

so overwhelmed and thrilled by your comments.I can't seem to find the right words to explain my

feelings to you.Totally flattered but more....the work goes on.

kind regards

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Giant's House also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Giant's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing