We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical place”
Review of The Giant's House

The Giant's House
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.98*
and up
Akaroa Self Guided Audio Tour
Ranked #1 of 32 things to do in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Giant's House - A historic Akaroa house with original artworks, terraced gardens with sculptures and mosaics. Very Unique. A creative feast and a wonderful experience. Romantic secluded and quiet, but only a few minutes walk to the centre of Akaroa.The Giant's House was the first bank managers house in Akaroa, built 1880 of totara and kauri. It is grand in size, proportions, and features. Elegant and comfortable, it is designed and decorated in the french style. Being the home of an artist it balances and contrasts the historic and contemporary. Both the house and terraced gardens are full of surprises -expect the unexpected at The Giant's House!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Gooik, Belgium
2 reviews
“Magical place”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Our first stay in NZ was in this magical place. We loved and enjoyed it. The garden was magnificent, but the animation by the artist was even better.
Josie, thank you for our nice talks and just for being you.
Astrid & Hugo

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Striedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    618
    101
    24
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Extraordinary - take cash”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Yes it is $20 per person, ( and more if you want to use a credit card ) but WHERE in the world would you see anything like this.
It may not be worth spending the $20 unless you had an interest in gardens and art.

As a visitor of many of the worlds gardens, many of them blur after a while, whereas this was totally memorable. It was a sunny day, roses were in full bloom, music was playing and every turn was some quirky new tribute to the talent and hard work of this artist.. who was beavering away at the top of the garden as we wandered around. I would love to have sat in that conservatory and had a cup of tea, and really had a chance to admire the artwork in a bit more depth.
As a gardener I can just imagine how much work this was, and what it cost to put together. The artist and the ticket selling lady spoke to us briefly and perfectly politely as we left.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDebTheTravelDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
1 review
“our the most unexpected place in New Zealand”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

In August 2012 we (Dmitriy from Almaty, Kazakhsatn and Svetlana from Saint-Petersburg) visited the Giants House in Akaroa, created by Josie Martin and her friends. It was the last day of our marvellous 10 days trip in New Zealand and definitely it was most fantastic and unexpected impression. Being a geologist, I planned to spent time observing volcanic rocks and landforms of old Acaroa volcano... but fortunately we found that place in the village (located in the volcano's crater) and spent there all time we had. Its incomparable. We've seen some remarkable places of that kind - ethereal Milles Garden in Stokholm, tremendous Vigeland Park in Oslo, touching Sculpture Park in Bishkek (Kirgisia), Kirovka street in Chelyabinsk (Urals) with alive cast iron sculptures, bright Lubenko's Mosaic Yard in Saint-Petersburg... All of them are unique, and the Giants House is the most magic from them. It just returns you to the childhood, to the sunny and endless morning... Thank you, Josie!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DmitriyGurevich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I am a seasoned garden visitor having been to many garden festivals in NZ and around the world. This garden is AMAZING and I would recommend to anyone. We visited on a fabulous sunny day and were fortunate to have a chat to owner Josie while there. The art is a one off and the vision this lady had for art and gardening is incredible. I thought it a little pricey as other reviewers have said at $20 but overlooked that as the afternoon was a delight.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Camda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A very pleasant time”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The more you look the more you find. It's obvious that the artist has put heaps of thought and love into the garden. I enjoyed the vibrant colours and the clever and creative placement of the mosaics. There are lots of surprises in this really special garden. Quite an uplifting experience. I took so many photos!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BeerwahTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Giant's House also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Giant's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing