We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Coffee!”

Peninsula General Store
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Healthy
Description: We are a fairly unique shop selling organic, local and international foods. Customers really love our organic, fair-trade Kawatiri coffee (sourced from an East African single estate) roasted on the West Coast of New Zealand. We have a range of freshly made cabinet food including gluten free, dairy free and low fodmap options. Come and enjoy our great coffee, delicious food and friendly atmosphere.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a fairly unique shop selling organic, local and international foods. Customers really love our organic, fair-trade Kawatiri coffee (sourced from an East African single estate) roasted on the West Coast of New Zealand. We have a range of freshly made cabinet food including gluten free, dairy free and low fodmap options. Come and enjoy our great coffee, delicious food and friendly atmosphere.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came to the Store after a trip out on the Harbour with Coast up Close, a very worthwhile. Appetites were keen and we enjoyed good food and coffee. The service was pleasant and they made individual food to suit us on our request. Nice work at the Store!

Thank Se4sandsurfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGS_Akaroa, Owner at Peninsula General Store, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us and thankyou for taking the time to let us know. We look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 83 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2018 via mobile

We had a high quality coffee with a delicious slice of cake and fresh sandwich. We were served by Kate who was extremely friendly and personable. When in Akaroa this café is a must.

Thank CameronW1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018

Occupying a sunny street corner, this is a great place for brunch or that early morning coffee. Popular with locals. Wide range of interesting culinary condiments. The coffee is from the West Coast and you can buy the beans there.

1  Thank zhuhai2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGS_Akaroa, Owner at Peninsula General Store, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Thanks for your review with the nice overview of what we offer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2018

On a recent day trip to Akaroa we stumbled upon Peninsula General Store (okay, with a little help from researching Trip Advisor) and the coffee was out-of-this-world fantastic! They know how to make a smooth and delicious flat white!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank WanderingToesTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGS_Akaroa, Owner at Peninsula General Store, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2018

Thanks for your generous comments WTT. We are glad you loved our coffee and hope you will visit again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2018 via mobile

Have been here several times recently for great coffee. Full bodied and mellow. Also had homemade scones and frittata. All delicious. Character building and friendly staff. A must when visiting Akaroa!

Thank SusanA865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PGS_Akaroa, Owner at Peninsula General Store, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2018

Thankyou for your great review Susan. We hope you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peninsula General Store also viewed

 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Peninsula General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing