We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great spot for lunch on a cold winters day”

The Trading Rooms Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 30 Restaurants in Akaroa
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Exciting modern cooking, fine wine selection, beautiful sunset harbour views from the terrace. The Trading Rooms is a timeless historic venue, perfect for your special occasion.
christchurch
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great spot for lunch on a cold winters day”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

lovely warm environment and great food. Between us we had the beef pie, the seafood pasta special and the club sandwich and thoroughly enjoyed it all. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markmarChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    162
    57
    27
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice.”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our service was very slow due to being understaffed on a winter's weekend lunchday, and the food was pricey. Although probably average by Akaroa standards. It was very good if a bit small portions for the price. The atmosphere was attractive, despite having a lot of corporate branding. Could have been a bit warmer, but was warm-ish by NZ standards.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eponymous_Trout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Little gem”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Went to Akaroa on a cold winters day and decided on lunch at The Trading Rooms after reading the menu by god door. We definitely made the right decision. They were very busy, which meant we had a bit of a wait, but if was worth it. The breads and dips starter was tasty with plenty to go around, the ribeye was cooked to perfection, as was the seafood pappardelle. Kids meals were very good value and the atmosphere was cosy and inviting. Would return and recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lucjay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Splurge, you're worth it!”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I got out of my American comfort zone and had the lamb dinner special. This consisted of roast lamb loin which was so tender and another lamb dish. The veggies were good, crisp, and had two purees, one with cumin. Excellent dinner with professional staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katmai8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
172 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wedding day feast”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My groom, and friends had our wedding dinner here, and I was nervous as we hadn't dined here before. We couldn't have asked for a more sumptuous dinner, it was so incredibly good, and I am so very grateful for the fabulous service and utterly goregous meals that the eight of us had on our very special night. Thankyou for making our wedding dinner so very memorable, we plan to go back on our anniversay and do it all again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank misfortune2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trading Rooms Restaurant also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Trading Rooms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing