We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

The Trading Rooms Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 30 Restaurants in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: Seafood, European, New Zealand, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Exciting modern cooking, fine wine selection, beautiful sunset harbour views from the terrace. The Trading Rooms is a timeless historic venue, perfect for your special occasion.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We enjoyed a excellent evening meal at The Trading Rooms, sitting outside overlooking the harbour. Both our meals were great as was the service from our German waiter. Higly recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    162
    57
    26
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rowland Heights, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Husband fell in love with the Akaroa Salmon Mousse”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I tried the Akaroa Salmon tasting platter at The Trading Rooms in Akaroa, New Zealand.

The Salmon platter was $28 NZ and consisted of 2 small slices of bread, a dollop of cream cheese, 4 slices of Akaroa Salmon Lox, a tiny glass of Salmon Mousse, and a small piece of grilled salmon.

Very expensive...but since we have been seeing $25-$30 per very small entree portions in the tourist ares from Sydney, Australia to New Zealand, this was not really different from the other touristy restaurants in price.

However, since my husband said that the Akaroa Salmon Mousse was one of the best tasting things that he has ever had in his life, the $28 was worth it!

I will have to agree that the Akaroa Salmon is much less fishy than other salmon that I have had and is definitely worth trying while in Akaroa! As to where and how much to pay for the salmon, that you'll have to figure out for yourselves since I only ate at one restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

What a great location overlooking the water and we loved the seafood platter for 2. Very fresh and a great value if you like seafood. The bluff oysters and chowder were great, as well. The service was very nice and I would highly recommend based on our experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler33305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW< Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“excellent food”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The seafood was cooked to perfection, they also had excellent beer. The perfect meal after swimming with dolphins.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scumgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant Atmosphere and Good Food”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The chocolate fondant is totally yummy! The Lamb is excellent. The window seat we had overlooked the Bay. A very nice evening.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kstanney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trading Rooms Restaurant also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Trading Rooms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing