We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Trading Rooms Restaurant

The Trading Rooms Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 29 Restaurants in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: French, Seafood, European, New Zealand, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Exciting modern cooking, fine wine selection, beautiful sunset harbour views from the terrace. The Trading Rooms is a timeless historic venue, perfect for your special occasion.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Last night we were pleased to find the Trading Rooms restaurant in Akaroa open. It lived up to and beyond our expectations in every way. Situated on the waterfront road, once we stepped inside we were greeted and entered the charming, cosy interior. The ambience is that of a high class restaurant and the food, wine list and service matched our first impressions. We returned from Europe a short time ago and and can say this restaurant is right up there with the best we experienced while away. Each course was beautifully presented and there were delicious flavours and interesting creative combinations. Particularly worthy of mention are the duck pate, the main beef duo and the creme brulee. We look forward immensely to returning.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    156
    56
    26
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
122 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Service and sumptuous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We are frequent visitors to Akaroa, but had never tried this restaurant on past visits. Not sure why, but now we have been we will certainly return. The food was delicious, not a french fry or chip in sight, with freshly cooked vegetables and everything cooked to perfection. We were astounded that they came to us apologising for the wait for our meals - we were quite happily chatting - and then gave us coffee and dessert on the house to make up for it! Amazing! We will definitely be back to enjoy their cuisine.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton, London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, value and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were in beautiful Akaroa in the winter so it was quiet and we were alone in the restaurant so had plenty of attention. The food was cooked to perfection and consisted of very unusual combinations that worked very well. Excellent value for money. The most memorable meal in our month's stay in NZ.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emomonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Food fantastic and restaurant on water front.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic food, restaurant Cody and with fab view. Service very friendly and quick.

Helpful?
Thank SueH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Really enjoyable meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We had dinner here during last summer, seems a long time ago now, but can still remember how much we enjoyed the food, I had lamb and was stunning, the girls where smart but friendly, we got to sit outside on the water front on a hot night, which was a highlight

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trading Rooms Restaurant also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Trading Rooms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing