We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS”

Bully Hayes Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #3 of 30 Restaurants in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, International, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Bully Hayes Restaurant & Bar, Akaroa's Premier Dinning Spot. Open year round, seven days for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner or just a casual drink or coffee in the sun. Enjoy the spectacular panoramic views of Akaroa Harbour whilst you dine from any number of our indoor or outdoor dining areas. Sheltered garden area with childrens play area also. Specialising in comtempory New Zealand cuisine using fresh local produce with a mix of traditional and modern flavours. An extensive menu with alarge selection of seafood including freshly shucked oysters. Innovative and award winning cuisine all at prices to suit any budget. To compliment our dining menu we carry the" Monteiths" range of craft beers on tap and by the bottle along side an all embracing wine list and non alcoholic beverage menu.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
284 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“FABULOUS”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Enjoyed our brunch here on a busy Sunday morning. Great staff and more importantly the meals(and coffees) were fantastic. Value for money - with great servings. Can only recommend this place to others.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NZfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    339
    110
    32
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sumner Beach, Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect late lunch”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We arrived just before 2pm on a clear warm winter Saturday afternoon. I asked for a wine recommendation and was told of a local Pinot Gris. It was FANTASTIC. Nice to see support for local produce!

The gravlax was fresh and very tasty. The pumpkin soup was tasty as. The platter was big enough for two and very tasty.

Excellent service, great view of harbour inside or out. (We chose in).

Looking forward to going again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sumnerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very helpful”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We ate here for breakfast. One person in our group has a nut allergy. We mentioned this to the waitress who was very thorough & helpful in finding out if any ingredients they use may contain traces of nuts. Unfortunately alot of the menu was cooked using oil that may have traces if nuts which made it hard for my friend to order much but we really appreciated the waitress taking our concerns seriously. Food was great & came out in good time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Quite literally the best meal I've ever had.
Scallop Entree was particularly good, and the venison main was absolutely beautiful. Plus a fantastic range of Gluten Free options were available.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NWNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“undercooked food”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

we dined for an evening meal, had a salmon meal, which was half raw, my husband had a medium well steak, which was oozing blood. one staff member stood at end of bar eating while seating customers and could hear kitchen staff loudly out back, not a very professional eatery

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kilgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bully Hayes Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Bully Hayes Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing