We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant couple of days” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Hotel Akaroa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Hotel Akaroa
Ranked #10 of 24 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant couple of days”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We booked room 3 for a couple of days over Easter. Although a little pricey L'hotel is in an excellent location. Room had a lovely balcony which was excellent for that morning croissant or evening champagne, clean comfortable studio with cooking facilities. Due to road closures we had thought we might not get across to Akaroa, on ringing the hotel they would have cancelled our room with no charge, we however did get across and a kind staff member had put the heater on for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerrycNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    56
    15
    8
    6
See reviews for
15
85
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Algoma, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

The rooms are very large with wonderful views of the Akaroa Harbour. A nice little balcony faces the water. There are only four rooms here with all of them above the bar and restaurant. The location is great but there is a lot of noise. Need to keep the windows closed. Even though the bar was closed for Labour Day the staff had a party until late at night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wisconsinron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in February. Not a good impression when you first pull into the carpark as it is at the back of the Hotel & another eating place next door. Carpark is dirty and climbing the outside stairs to the room you get all smells of cooking/frying food from below. This is the only entrance to the 4 rooms. We had to keep the small window over the door closed to avoid the room filling with the cooking smells.We checked in at the Restaurant and the full amount was charged to our credit card before we had even seen the room. This should have rang alarm bells! The room was nice, great views but no air-conditioning and the sun pours in the afternoon & it gets very hot. We were expecting noise from the bar/restaurant below until about 11pm, and on the 1st night this was the case, we weren't troubled by this. However on the second night,(Thursday) after the public had left by 11pm we heard cars arriving and the noise got louder & louder as staff & friends partied on until 3am, This kept us awake even though we had closed all the windows to try to block the noise.This is not what we were expecting for $175 a night! On talking to local businesses the next day we were told they had heard it all before and weren't surprised by our experience. On checking out after the 3rd night we spoke to the Owners who told us they had been on holiday! They were surprised to hear about the party & said they would talk to the staff BUT no offer of compensation at all! I would not recommend this Hotel at all if you are expecting to sleep at night!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

I stayed here for one night at the end of my NZ trip.
Lovely clean room, glorious view from all rooms, good little balcony, great location. All good things.
Had dinner downstairs - delicious food, but a little over-priced. Relaxed but attentive staff.
And unlike other reviewers, not too noisy, good to hear people having fun.
A huge big heater blower in the restaurant - really needed as it was a freezing night!
Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Room 1 - uninterrupted views from the little balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanurfan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
351 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We went as a family and had a selection of starters and mains. Calamari to start - perfectly cooked. I had the NZ green lipped mussels which were huge and excellent. Other mains we had were BBQ ribs, fish and chips and unusual and delicious pizzas. Beautifully chilled Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc, plus children's meals which they loved. Colouring pages and crayons kept the young boys happy and good service made for a lovely first lunch all together as family from opposite ends of the earth. Would definitely go again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SueWithaView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
397 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

In comparison to everywhere else we stayed during our time in New Zealand, this was the most overpriced for the poorest quality. In fact, I wore my flip flops at all times in the room and in the shower.

The rooms are based above the bar below, which does of course mean it gets rather noisy in the evening, and depending on your luck with the clientele below you may not get the best nights sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank steyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We stopped for lunch here before getting back on our ship. The fish was great. I wish I could remember what kind. We had New Zealand beer, brewed right up the road. With a ship being there, it was busy, but the one waitress did her best. We didn't mind at all. After all, we were in New Zealand for the experience. Definitely recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LovinMaui_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.0 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.7 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
1.8 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#5 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel Akaroa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel Akaroa

Property: L'Hotel Akaroa
Address: 75 Beach Road | Akaroa, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'hotel is perfectly positioned right in the heart of Akaroa, making it the ideal place to stay while you spend your days relaxing and enjoying all the unique experiences that the Banks Peninsula region has to offer. Akaroa is world famous for its breath taking scenery, and hector dolphins, with a whole raft of exhilarating activities to choose from during your stay at L'Hotel in Akaroa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your L'Hotel Akaroa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Akaroa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing