We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the nicest place to stay”
Review of L'Hotel Akaroa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Hotel Akaroa
Ranked #8 of 24 Akaroa B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
406 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Not the nicest place to stay”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

In comparison to everywhere else we stayed during our time in New Zealand, this was the most overpriced for the poorest quality. In fact, I wore my flip flops at all times in the room and in the shower.

The rooms are based above the bar below, which does of course mean it gets rather noisy in the evening, and depending on your luck with the clientele below you may not get the best nights sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank steyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    59
    15
    8
    7
See reviews for
17
90
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We stopped for lunch here before getting back on our ship. The fish was great. I wish I could remember what kind. We had New Zealand beer, brewed right up the road. With a ship being there, it was busy, but the one waitress did her best. We didn't mind at all. After all, we were in New Zealand for the experience. Definitely recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LovinMaui_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had an amazing dinner at L'Hotel on 3rd Januay, had only been here once before but def glad we went back. The young lady who looked after us was just amazing and looked like she was the only one really working I have to say and pregnant as well. She gave excellent service and kept everything ticking as it was rather busy

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Ordered 2 wines at the bar after waiting 5 minutes to be served. Bar tenders were more concerned about getting themselves drinks than mine. After I eventually paid, the drinks were left on the wrong side of the bar, which I couldn't reach. I had to flag the bar tender down again to pass them to me, which took another few minutes. Very poor service.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akaroa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I am a frequent visitor but what a great finish and start of the years. Lovely food while sitting in the sun listening to 2 duo groups while dining. The sun sets and a local group of young Akaroa musicians starts up then at 11 the main band plays. Heaps of people, great staff and a good time was had by all.

Don't wait for next years eve as the atmosphere, food and staff are awesome all year round. Over the summer they often have live music and the Sunday happy hour is a good way to chill out late in the avo.

Right in the centre with unobstructed views of the Harbour.

Room Tip: Noisy if there is a band on but good if you are staying up to listen to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

L'hotel is right on the waterfront with balconies overlooking the sea. the room was clean and bright. We were a bit concerned that there might be noise form the beer garden just under our balcony but it was very quiet with the bar shutting at about 9. So a great location in a lovely beachside setting

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Thanks for the fantastic vegetarian and gluten free burger! One of the best lunches I've ever had! My hubby loved his fish lunch.
Service was a little slow and in attentive and it was annoying that someone was refilling the stinky kerosene lamps/heaters as we were eating.
Overall - great. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiCat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.0 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
1.8 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#4 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel Akaroa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel Akaroa

Property: L'Hotel Akaroa
Address: 75 Beach Road | Akaroa, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'hotel is perfectly positioned right in the heart of Akaroa, making it the ideal place to stay while you spend your days relaxing and enjoying all the unique experiences that the Banks Peninsula region has to offer. Akaroa is world famous for its breath taking scenery, and hector dolphins, with a whole raft of exhilarating activities to choose from during your stay at L'Hotel in Akaroa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your L'Hotel Akaroa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Akaroa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing