We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
L'Hotel Akaroa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Rochelle Motel(Akaroa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sumner Bay Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arcadia Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ferry Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cashel Court Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
City Worcester Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveler rating
45
67
15
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
67
15
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafood plattergreat locationcold eveninggreat pizzadownstairs restaurantservice was promptcatch up with friendsfrom australiasit outsidegood sizecruise shipshower headnew zealandglass of winespent two nightsoverlooking the harbouramazing views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 142 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2013

L'hotel is right on the waterfront with balconies overlooking the sea. the room was clean and bright. We were a bit concerned that there might be noise form the beer garden just under our balcony but it was very quiet with the bar shutting at about 9. So a great location in a lovely beachside setting

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Thanks for the fantastic vegetarian and gluten free burger! One of the best lunches I've ever had! My hubby loved his fish lunch.
Service was a little slow and in attentive and it was annoying that someone was refilling the stinky kerosene lamps/heaters as we were eating.
Overall - great. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiCat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We ate at L'Hotel over the Labour Day weekend. We were seated quickly but that is where the service grinded to a halt. We waited over 20 minutes to have our drinks order taken, we ordered a garlic bread as a entree and we all had mains (party of 5). The drinks arrived, then the garlic bread. We then waited and waited. Tables around us who were seated after us had been served their main,had eaten and left. No-one came near us to apologise or offer an explanation. I had to ask the waitress when our meals were coming out. My husband wanted to leave but we were assured ours was just being plated up. The waitress then proceeded to tell us that the sales docket had a time on it and we had in fact had not been waiting long at all. Funny that because being adults we all wear watches and can read the time. The food was not worth the wait. It was average. I was asked on paying the account "how was it" and I replied the service was slow. He did point out that they were very busy!!! Well 2 things - either get more staff or take away tables. Would not eat here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scooby1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

we stayed on a saturday night, our room was very clean and tidy, everything we needed, great little balcony and wonderful view. this is a great spot to stay, although bit noisy from the bar below, to be expected on a saturday night, well done l'hotel

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kilgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed the night and had dinner. room 4 is clean, tidy and spacious. Furniture and fittings are fine although not luxurious by any means. Good oblique view over the harbour. The bar/restaurant is noisy busy and fun. On a busy Saturday night the service was a little stretched, but the food when it came was very good. Reasonable selection of wines by the glass. We enjoyed our evening and would return. They don't mention that they do not serve breakfast, but this is no problem as there were two good places within 100m or you have your kitchenette and can buy it from the nearby shop. The views are outstanding.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank astonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews