We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect views matched by great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Hotel Akaroa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Hotel Akaroa
Ranked #9 of 24 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Tampa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect views matched by great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were in Akaroa in February 2013 for a memorial service for my stepmother, who grew up in Akaroa. We had three of the four upstairs rooms at L'Hotel, which were roomy and comfortably appointed. These are not luxury rooms, but had amenities that would allow cooking in the room if desired, a TV, small table, and balconies. The view from all of the rooms was fabulous!

The service of all the staff was great - very friendly and welcoming. We had a large group (20+) for lunch one day. They set up a large table outside with a canopy. The food was great and was matched by the servers attention to everyone in the group. The cook made a special order birthday cake with less than 24 hours notice.

I would love to return to Akaroa one day and would definitely stay at L'Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcampb15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    56
    15
    8
    6
See reviews for
15
85
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Booked this place because of the views & I must say they were awesome.. Once we realised that we had to go into the bar to check in, all was good. Were given milk & shown up to our room. Quite basic but a really big room (room 2). Little kitchenette, but everything we needed. Nice toiletries in the bathroom. We stayed in Feb & were a bit worried about the huge skylight in the roof leting in too much light in the morning, but this wasn't an issue. Balcony has the most amazing views, but gets a little hot (even for an aussie) late in the afternoon when the sun is right on it, but that doesn't last too long. Went downstairs for dinner. We'd booked so we had a lovely table with once again awesome view. Garlic bread with chilli sauce & sour cream was lovely. Fish & chips were really nice & huge. Hubby had fish of the day which was Groper with prawns & stir fried vegies, an awesome dish. Sauce was that nice that we would have licked the plate if no-one else was there. Found all the staff, especially our dinner waitress, to be very friendly & efficient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Witch1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Did not stay at the hotel, only ate at the facilities.

As we only had a day in Akaroa, we only managed to have lunch at the facility.

Food was delivered in a timely manner, considering the heavy traffic of people from the docked Cruise ship from Australia. However, good serviced ended there. There only appeared to be 2 wait staff and over 20 tables (both inside and outside). It was next to impossible to flag down a staff member both in the restaurant and at the bar area.

Of the 4 meals purchased, 2 were sensational and 2 were below ordinary.

Room Tip: I recommend their burgers - don't order anything over complicated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roxcochrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I recently ate at this eatery, and once again it was superb. The breads for starters were yummy and we both had the slow roasted pork belly. It was soooo good, I usually have a steak but felt like a change, and wasn't disappointed. For starters my husband shared a seafood chowder with his sister, they agreed it was to die for. We always like to eat here when we visit this lovely part of the country. And I must say, the waitress was quite open to the chowder being shared, as were the desserts, but the cheesecake was so yummy we ordered more, as one to share was just not on, we needed one each. Go there and enjoy :)

Room Tip: we didn't stay the night here, only ate there for dinner, but this is nothing against the L'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in room 2,wonderful views over harbour.Room was good size,bed comfy if you are there in summer take a sleep mask as the large skylight lets in so much light early morning.The shower has great water pressure.Had a meal in the restaurant which was nice.Staff all very pleasant.easy off street parking.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank didee62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had 2 nights in an upstairs room with a balcony. The small kitchen is adequate if you want to do your own cooking. The restaurant/bar closes at 11pm promptly so we had no problem with noise. The view is lovely. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony watching tourists walk past and the boat bobbing in the water.. Very handy to shops and walks along beach and wharf. Friendly staff. Our meal in their restaurant was great. Comfortable bed, no bath but good shower. The best location. Get a room upstairs with a balcony. Room 2 is the best!

Room Tip: Book an upstairs room with a balcony facing the water.There is no fitness centre or swimming pool an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frank s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
293 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Considering prices in this trendy area, L’Hotel Akaroa was reasonably priced and good value. The best mini apartments are 2, 3 and 4 with balconies and bay views and priced between NZ$120-140. Not luxurious but spacious, clean and comfortable with kitchenette and sitting area. Queen size comfortable bed. Effective heater and heated towel rack. The feature is the great view over the water from this second storey. The hotel underneath with bar and restaurant looks attractive and the Saturday night noise was not a problem. The hotel shuts at 11pm to allow a peaceful night. The staff were very friendly and obliging. Akaroa itself; worth visiting.

Room Tip: Rooms 2, 3 & 4; larger rooms & balconies with waterfront views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_addict13_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.0 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.7 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
1.8 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#5 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel Akaroa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel Akaroa

Property: L'Hotel Akaroa
Address: 75 Beach Road | Akaroa, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'hotel is perfectly positioned right in the heart of Akaroa, making it the ideal place to stay while you spend your days relaxing and enjoying all the unique experiences that the Banks Peninsula region has to offer. Akaroa is world famous for its breath taking scenery, and hector dolphins, with a whole raft of exhilarating activities to choose from during your stay at L'Hotel in Akaroa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your L'Hotel Akaroa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Akaroa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing