We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Olive Grove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Olive Grove
Ranked #8 of 24 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
weybridge
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A fabulous place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed here en-route to Picton. The owners Chris and Annette are charming. It's just outside Akaroa which is a delightful town settled by the French in the 1800's. you can be sure of a warm welcome - delightful hosts, clean beautifully decorated rooms with super views and a taster of their home grown olives with a glass of wine. A lovely spot and I highly recommend this B and B

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anni55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
62
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bavaria
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here at the end of an amazing trip to new Zealand and this place was just the icing on the cake. Annette and Chris are the most wonderful hosts and couldn't do enough to make our stay comfortable, relaxing and extra special. The room was simply beautiful with stunning views over Akaroa Bay and a balcony where we could sit out and enjoy the view. We could have spent the whole trip on that balony! The whole house was immaculately finished, well presented and very classy. Combined with the BEST hosts and beautiful, secluded setting, we cannot reccommend the Olive Grove highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyBavaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Akaroa is a must to visit and the Olive Grove is a very good base to do it from. Annette and Chris are the perfect hosts and we particularly enjoyed the evening wine and olive tasting on the verandah. The breakfasts are plentiful and the rooms are comfortable. Akaroa is a lovely seaside town with a French influence. The only minor criticism of the Olive Grove is that the twin room (which we asked for to be fair) is a little small to say the least. However Annette did open up more space for our luggage. The other rooms are excellent and spacious with a balcony and great views. Fish and Chips at the restaurant in the bay at sunset is spectacular. (Think it is called the Har Bar)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

this place was excellent. the house is in great condition and the room was wonderful with a very comfortable bed, a great balcony with a great view and updated bathroom. the grounds are gorgeous. the breakfast was amazing and one of the best meals we had in NZ (french toast with bananas was awesome). chatting with the hosts and other guests was also great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carnifex1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the olive grove for two nights and loved it. A warm welcome with coffee/tea and homemade bananamuffins, comfortable room with the best views of banks peninsula (even from bathroom), impressivr surrounding of the beautiful house and working olive grove, a nice tasting with different styles of olives and oils and nice conversations... All things that want us to stay longer...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Our destination in winter, on the rugged Otago Penninsula, was The Olive Grove - a beautifully restored farmhouse B&B, near the former French colony of Akaroa.

Annette and Chris, who also lovingly tend to 1000 olive trees producing award winning oil and fruit, were our hosts. Although we encountered some stormy weather in the winter, our spirits, given the picturesque surroundings remained un-dampened.

Our hosts were fun conversationaiists and provided, along with excellent breakfasts complete with fresh squeezed juices, a lovely tasting of thier olive crop with refreshing white wines.

Annette told us that her great, great grandfather, a whaler from England landed at this Bay in 1840, and was part of the community that thwarted France’s attempt to claim New Zealand. (break out your old DVD of The Piano, if you want the essence of the area).

The pubs and bistros in the postcard town of Akaroa, serve up fresh fish platters, creamy local tap beers, and large cups of foamy “flat white” coffee, that fortified us from winter’s dark chill.

There are numerous trails to hike, and attrations, like swimming along with dolphins in the harbor area. Highly recommended

Room Tip: The corner room with balcony and view of the harbor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelblogger1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at The Olive Grove for three days of our honeymoon while travelling through New Zealand. We were greeted by Annette upon our arrival and immediately she made us feel at home. Our room and the property were very well kept, the views were spectacular and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. Annette and Chris were the perfect hosts. They were able to give us suggestions of places to eat, along with other activities for us to do in Akaroa. We really enjoyed our time at the Olive Grove, along with the Olive Oil and bath products! Thank you to Annette and Chris for making our first B&B experience a great one! Adam and I hope to make a trip back to Akaroa after we cross a few other places off our list :)

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
3.4 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.5 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
2.8 mi away
Beaufort House Akaroa
Beaufort House Akaroa
#1 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
2.8 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
3.1 mi away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#5 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olive Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olive Grove

Property: The Olive Grove
Address: 36 Sawmill Road | Robinsons Bay, Akaroa 7581, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Olive Grove 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Olive Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing