We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
197 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lovely view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

We arrived in Akaroa on a Saturday lunchtime and immediately went to the 'i-site' where the helpful assistant told us we would be very lucky to find any accomodation as most motels had a two night minimum. However, we went for a wander and ended up here. The owner was helpful and showed us a studio apartment that was available. We paid $215 for this which was the most expensive we paid on our whole trip. The apartment had a separate room with two single beds and then a studio area with a double bed, seating and kitchenette. The view from the little balcony was stunning as it looked out across the water. It was a nice bright unit which seemed modern and airy. We were happy with our night here, although there was some noise during the night from nearby residents. All in all it was a pleasant stay. Akaroa is a great place, but very busy at the weekend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    67
    24
    10
    7
See reviews for
53
122
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

The stay here was alright however the owners really were not welcoming and the place had a very bad vibe going around it. Also they charge a hefty amount and then make you pay for every single extra for example renting dvds to using the spa pool.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minimary123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

Clean, new, friendly staff - the best location!

Travelling through NZ with friends - this was rated by the groupos as the best location of the tour.

I am not sure why this is not the no 1 in Akaroa - but from our experience - it was excellent - thank you to Chris!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedRover_no_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2010

Driftwood Motel is now known as the Akaroa Waterfront Motels.
From the beginning, with the view of the carpark and the tiny unit we were put in, we were not impressed. It went downhill from there, we were woken in the early hours of the morning by the people in the room above us. Through the paper thin ceilings we could hear everything- from a teaspoon stirring a cup to a person opening a drawer.

Exhausted from lack of sleep I went to see the owner about a late check out. The atrocious customer service was unlike anything I have encountered before in New Zealand. I was told that I would have to pay for the late check out. This was followed by a long rant where the owner denied there was a problem at all. At one stage he even had the said "well what do you expect when you are crammed in like sardines", referring to how small the rooms are and how close together they are.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauratmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst on our 2nd tour of the South Island.
Although there is a new manager and the prizes have gone up since 2005 we enjoyed are stay in beautiful Akaroa. We love the scenery, the warm weather and the evenings in this French cultured town.
The room was still great with a lovely view over the bay and beyond. This is an ideal motel from where to see the rest of the Banks peninsula and the beaches "over" the rim road.
We had the opportunity to visit one of NZ greatest water painters at French Farm too.
A great stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank René R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2009

I cannot agree with some of the previous reviewers about this accommodation. We moved here after not being very happy in the motel we had booked from home. We were given a 1 bedroom apartment directly on the waterfront, with superb views. All the apartments, and I believe the motel (which is in a separate building) have been totally renovated. We had a kitchen with 2 hotplates and a new microwave. It was very well equiped with crockery, cutlery and saucepans. The decor was very, very tasteful. It was lovely to sit outside on the porch, and look across the lawn at the panoramic view of sea and mountains. As the weather was a little cold in the evening, we also appreciated the heating in both the lounge room and the bedroom, and the bed was extremely comfortable. All in all, we would not fault this apartment, and we would certainly stay there again if we ever return, and for longer. It was so serene and quiet. Also, the ower was very, very helpful and could not have been nicer. So do not be put off by some of the other reviews!! Expect to pay more for accommodation in Akaroa, but this was cheaper than most other motels there.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussyone_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

Nice enough place. Nothing special but pleasant waterside views from the balcony. Five minutes walk into town centre so leave your car in the large car park.

Take the drive along the Ridge Road when you can.

Reasonable value.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avery-Little
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.5 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.2 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
L'Hotel Akaroa
L'Hotel Akaroa
#9 of 24 in Akaroa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa Waterfront Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa Waterfront Motels

Property: Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Address: 56 - 64 Rue Jolie, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Akaroa Waterfront Motels 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful, historic French village of Akaroa, just 1.5H from Christchurch. With 24 refurbished units to choose from featuring studio,1, 2 and 3-bedroom units, you can enjoy affordable comfort with the waterfront right at your doorstep. With most units offering views of the water, spacious living and well-equipped kitchens you have everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. We are only a minutes stroll to the art and craft shops, restaurants, cafes and other attractions Akaroa has to offer. You could also relax in our private hot tropical spa pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Akaroa Waterfront Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akaroa Waterfront Hotel Akaroa
Driftwood Hotel Akaroa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing