We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a bayview room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2013


Make sure to ask for a waterfront room. We stayed for one day, and decided to stay for another 3. Great location, in-town, (two minutes to the nearest coffee shop).Rooms are good and well maintained with balcony overlooking the tides, birds and boats in the bay and pastures beyond. Service is without pretentions, but manager's suggestions for trips (Fox II, Oakain, flowers how) were really worth it.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank TJ V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
There are newer reviews for Akaroa Waterfront Motels
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 225 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

Our daughter had booked a unit for six people, but on arrival my husband and I felt that it would be a tight squeeze for 4 adults and 2 young children, so we asked if another was available, and we were soon installed in a pleasant studio on the other side of the little stream. the children loved running over the bridge and coming to see Gran and Grandpa. The owner kindly left a second bedroom in our unit unlocked, so that we had somewhere to store our luggage, having travelled from the UK. the accommodation was spacious, and right down by the waterfront, as the name suggests. The stunning views across the water to the mountains opposite would be reserved for millionaires in the UK. We felt privileged, paying just a moderate amount for what was luxurious accommodation, very clean and comfortable, and with a refrigerator and basic cooking facilities. We thought the very exact numbers of plates, cups and cutlery a little frugal, and we were slightly taken aback by the rules of the establishment, which stated that bed-making and washing up were the responsibility of guests, but obviously that kept the costs down, and only took a few minutes. The guest laundry was a useful amenity and we appreciated the beautiful shady trees and colourful flowers in the gardens, and we loved the musical tones of the bell-bird's clear song ringing out all day long. What a lovely place - a little piece of paradise!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room overlooking the water, in the building with wooden stairs. The ones opposi...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pam_cr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Akaroa Waterfront Motels has a good location, within easy walking distance from the town and restaurants. The accommodation is basic, but good should you want to stay for a short period of time. However, on the downside their credit card machines struggle with foreign credit cards so make sure you have cash available and the manager on duty had a few too many drinks when we stayed over which was not very professional.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uwe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Reason for Stay:
We were Looking for a location where one could relax for a few days following a 3 week trip driving around New Zealand prior to returning to the UK. Turned out to be ideal.
Subsequent to our visit I have read later TA reviews with interest and have some sympathy with most of their comments. I have tried to look at the more positive aspects of our stay.

Location:
The motel is in a great spot on the waterfront about 5 minutes walk to the main area of Akoroa. Shops, eating places and cruise points all within easy walking distance.

Reception:
Efficient and much advice given as to many local available activities and eating and retail shops. Chris does not come across as the most accommodating host in the world but tries to be professional in his own way. Think he does have a sense of humour - if a little difficult to establish - the photo of Chris shown here in this review was in fact taken by him on my latest iPad Mini which had just been released.

Parking:
Directly opposite each room.

Accomodation:
There are two blocks of apartments. When booking try and get one that overlooks the water preferable on the ground floor as they have a little garden area which is nice to sit in. It was a busy week end when we visited and the room had a nice but restricted view of the water. Not a problem.
Bedroom/kitchen and bathroom very functional and clean and met all expectations. Rooms had lots of shelves rather than cupboards which was useful for having in transit items stored in site rather than hidden away. The dreaded “ no mussels to be cooked in kitchen” prevailed. This is a shame and would put me off a further visit as I love mussels and the ones we experienced during our three week trip to NZ were fantastic and if bought in the local supermarkets so cheap when compared with our own in the UK.

Value:
We paid NZ$ 445 for our 3 night stay which was excellent value for money. There was small amount of Free Wi F was included but over a 3 day period the only extra was the purchase for $10 of a internet voucher which whilst an irritant for travellers who expect complimentary Wi Fi as part of our package is quite common in New Zealand.

Summary:
If you want a restful interesting calm place to visit , Akoroa and this motel is the place to come to and stay.
Be aware that “tourist signed road “ approaching Akoroa can be a bit challenging for those who are not keen on heights but the views or the bay are spectacular.
Further Tips:
We enjoyed Akaroa Sea Adventures boat trip as an alternative to the big operators.
Had I known about Cookery School in advance would definitely made a reservation and a meal The Little Bistro is a must if you enjoy food.(See separate reviews on Trip Advisor)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HighburyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are very nice and well appointed. Nice to see spare soap etc in the bathroom. Very clean, no street noise.

When we checked in time was taken to highlight some of the activities that we could do. Was also told that we could leave our car in the car park after we checked out if needed.

Pricing may be high but we do not know what other places charge.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Youngone51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was a last minute decision to come out to Akaroa. Booked online, and was promptly contacted by Chris. I asked for an upstairs room if possible, and Chris quickly came back to say this had been arranged.
We didn't have much time here, but on arrival we were given some suggestions of places to visit. Had a great dinner on the waterfront, and then back to our room for a lovely relaxing evening. The accommodation was lovely. Spacious, clean and I thought really good value for money.
The laundry facilities were great.

Room Tip: Upstairs in 'Driftwood' has an awesome view.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseStevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Location is the one thing in favour of this motel with superb views, depending on choice of unit but that's about it. We stayed in upstairs studio with queen bed in lounge and separate twin bedroom (with reasonable views of waterfront) which was OK, very clean but rather overpriced. We didn't have any problems with noisy neighbours like some other reviewers here. Appeared to have been some attempt at updating an old unit including new cupboard doors in kitchenette, all rather basic with just enough equipment provided for preparing a simple meal. However, if you want to self-cater, don't stay here! We realise that residual smells from cooking must be a nightmare for motel owners and we don't have a problem if requests are made to restrict the type of foods cooked. Fish and curries are prohibited here plus any "odiferous" food (all food can be this), with notes on the wall, in the room literature and additional reminder notes on bits of paper in the frying pan!!! Hmmmm.......then a note to say if the room needs deodorising as a result an additional $40 charge will apply. If you stay for more than one night, you must make your own bed as this service not provided without additional charge (not a problem in itself, just the way everything is stated in the literature). All in all a place of additional charges and rules and regulations. Sadly, hosts didn't add anything positive to the experience either - surly and more bothered about whether or not we'd paid - and all without a smile!! In conclusion, a great location but would sacrifice this for better and more pleasant customer service, plus more value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.5 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 6 in Akaroa
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.2 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Tresori Motor Lodge
Tresori Motor Lodge
#4 of 6 in Akaroa
117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa Waterfront Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa Waterfront Motels

Address: 56 - 64 Rue Jolie, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range: $86 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Akaroa Waterfront Motels 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful, historic French village of Akaroa, just 1.5H from Christchurch. With 24 refurbished units to choose from featuring studio,1, 2 and 3-bedroom units, you can enjoy affordable comfort with the waterfront right at your doorstep. With most units offering views of the water, spacious living and well-equipped kitchens you have everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. We are only a minutes stroll to the art and craft shops, restaurants, cafes and other attractions Akaroa has to offer. You could also relax in our private hot tropical spa pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Akaroa Waterfront Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akaroa Waterfront Hotel Akaroa
Driftwood Hotel Akaroa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing