We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!”
Review of La Rochelle Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Rochelle Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
NZ
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
Reviewed February 7, 2010

We stayed in a studio apartment on the first floor and my parents were in the same on the ground floor. Both rooms were extremely clean and very comfortable with private outside seating areas next to a small stream. The motel was very easy to find as it's at the start of the village, on the flat and within easy walking distance of everywhere.

When we arrived we discovered we had a flat tyre and the owners were extremely helpful in getting the offending tyre to the local garage for us....THANK YOU!!

Great accomadation and very friendly and helpful owners, will definately be recommending La Rochelle to others.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazjoolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    75
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
30
155
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Douglas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2009

This was my second time staying at La Rochelle, this year. The apartments are lovely and well serviced - extremely good value. The motel is opposite parkland and the harbour and easy walking distance to town and great restaurants. Will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2009

What a beautiful little boutique hotel with such wonderful people and service, I have a seriously poor back...No problem! Mine host Garth was there immediately to help me with my luggage up to a delightful upstairs studio right bext to a rain forest like brook. Outstanding furnishings, comfortable beds (tall people beware...sleep on the right...the ceiling slopes quite dramatically on the left...ouch). Great room service...just ask!. So many 'wee' restaurants and hotels. All fantastic! If possible dont visit Akaroa after April,,,a bit chilly...or is that 'chully').
Improvements...3 more Sky Channels...definitely Sky News, morning news paper?...a small TV in the bedromm for us insomniacs.....heh, but I'm nit picking...Garth and Pauline you deserve to have a 'house full' sign everynight. You're on our trip tip list for all our friends planning to 'vusut' NZ....Akaroa and La Rochelle...the perfect quinella with a couple of swell jockies in Garth and Pauline.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erskine49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaRochelleAkaroa, Owner at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review, July 21, 2009
The person who wrote this review appears to have us a bit confused with other places he may have stayed in.
We don't have any sloping ceilings in any of our units so no matter how tall you are it is never a problem getting in and out of bed.

Everything they talked about was very encouraging and we appreciate any feedback.

We look forward to future reviews by any of our guests.

Garth & Pauline Reid
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2008

I stayed here with a friend while we were travelling through NZ. The owners were so helpful - they clearly love the area and gave us top tips to explore. The 2 bed apartment is amazing for the money, like a home from home. We stayed 2 nights longer than planned because we liked Akaroa so much.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelbunny20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2008

New owners and newly "Qualmarked" - the gold standard for New Zealand accommodation and services. Congratulations!

With the road to the wine regions cut due to heavy storm damage, we booked accommodation for a few days. First in a motel nearby that proved entirely unsatisfactory - and then we discovered this little gem. A beautiful stream (Akaroa has many!) running beside the outdoors patio, and commodious and wonderfully warm indoors - heating, double glazed windows, new and contemporary furnishings, comfortable bed and good linen - and clean!! We happily stayed two nights.

The owners were very professional - with the right combination of helpful advice, local knowledge and respect of guests' privacy. I would recommend anyone to visit and enjoy La Rochelle.

Ros, Sydney Australia

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank RoseAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2007

We stayed in a studio spa bath unit. We were a bit disappointed with our unit. Unit was small, dark and compact but provided good amenities such as fridge, cooking hob, microwave. Soundproofing was inadequate, noise travelled between units very easily. Nice patio area next to stream although no petitions between each area so no privacy. Unit not particularly clean or well serviced. Friendly staff and good location close to local shops, beach and restaurants.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Dark and small unit
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelBugNZ78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaRochelleAkaroa, New owner since 1 September 2007 at La Rochelle Motel, responded to this review, January 12, 2008
This review was based on a period prior to us buying the complex.
We are committed to providing the cleanest units possible and pay particular attention to detail. We have recieved excellent feedback from guests on the cleanliness of units and service we offer. All rooms have double glazing and we have never had a comment regarding soundproofing. In fact guests have commented on how quiet and peaceful the units are.
The native plantings would have grown since January 2007 and are already effectively screening between the units, however we are adding trellis screening between the garden units to provide extra privacy .
Pauline & Garth Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akaroa
0.7 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 6 in Akaroa
104 reviews
24.9 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 145 in Christchurch
1,819 reviews
0.3 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.7 mi away
Tresori Motor Lodge
Tresori Motor Lodge
#4 of 6 in Akaroa
117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rochelle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rochelle Motel

Property: La Rochelle Motel
Address: 1 Rue Grehan, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Rochelle Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the beautiful village of Akaroa La Rochelle Motel is your perfect destination for a relaxing & peaceful stay. Our modern complex offers a mix of 8 Studio Units with either King or Queen sized beds & a 2 bedroom unit. Access facilities or twin studio also available. Each unit is comfortably furnished with kitchenette, en-suite bathroom with either shower or single spa bath, heating, flat screen TV & DVD player, & iPod docks. Each unit also has its own balcony or patio overlooking our native garden & stream boundary. Off-street parking, free Wireless Broadband, continental breakfast & Guest Laundry available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your La Rochelle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing