We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful fish!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akaroa Fish and Chips

Akaroa Fish and Chips
Ranked #5 of 29 Restaurants in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Spain ...... but Scottish
Level Contributor
194 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Wonderful fish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Incredible fresh, white fish (Orange Roughy) in light, crisp batter. Cooked to order. Loved it! A 'must do' experience when visiting beautiful Akaroa.
There are tables inside & outside for the use of customers.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ailmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    190
    61
    34
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

The local cat was so sweet, but I had nothing for it. Grilled fish and chips was good satisfying and not too dear

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Willis174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
180 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

These are fantastic fish and chips - sure they are expensive but even if they are really busy the quality is always the same.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kerry553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoy freshly cooked fish, and the stunning harbour view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

At the time we visited there was a limited variety of fish available , we chose the gurnard and sole with kumara (N.Z's sweet potato) chips. Served traditionally in newspaper wrap, we struggled to get through the enormous portions! Cooked perfectly - there was virtually no fatty residue. Only fault to our minds was too much salt (and we're salt lovers!). Sitting outdoors, on a glorious afternoon we enjoyed both fish and ships and Akaroa's stunning harbour.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
428 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Some of the best Fish and Chips in NZ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

First f&c of our 5 week trip to NZ and they were equal first with some that we had in Kaikoura. Get there early if you want blue cod as they tend to run out - that said all the fish (we had 3 types) were delicious. Chips tasty and crisp and sitting outside eating out of the paper is the way to do it - Very highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akaroa Fish and Chips also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Akaroa Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing