We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good coffee and food, service ok”
Review of L'Escargot Rouge

L'Escargot Rouge
Ranked #17 of 30 Restaurants in Akaroa
Cuisines: Cafe, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
273 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good coffee and food, service ok”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch. Had a good selection. Salmon bagel was nice as was the bacon & egg panini. Coffee good too. Sat outside as it was a gorgeous day and
enjoyed the fab view. Overall reasonably pleasant on this occasion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    67
    30
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good coffee.....shame about the service”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Have just spent a week in Akaroa and enjoyed lots of the local cafes and restaurants in town. L’Escargot Rouge makes a good coffee, but sadly the service left a lot to be desired so we got our coffee elsewhere for the remainder of our time there. If your in hospitality – smile!! Its not that hard. We ordered our coffee’s takeaway and they were piping hot, struggling to hold the cups I asked if we could have another cup to sit them in (anywhere else just double cups them as a given) and the older lady behind the counter without even looking at me said ‘take some napkins, if you want cups I’m charging you’. What a crazy attitude, two big American cruise boats were in harbour that day too – its summer time, in a tourist town.............smile!!
P.S. Food is quite nice, a little pricey but no more than other places in town.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DellaButts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A Fawlty Towers moment”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

It brought a wry smile to our faces when the lady behind the counter sneered at our party of 6, when we moved some tables to seat us together and had the audacity to order.... Coffee. She then followed up with a Basil Fawlty comment to the man who ordered after us, "Just wait... Just wait... I can't do everything you know... "

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wills68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food but no customer service”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This little place has excellent quality food - we visited each day for filled rolls and cakes to take off for a picnic and we found the standard very high and quite deliicious.

Unfortunately it is let down by the staff, one in particular who treated each person like they were ruining her day by coming in to her domain asking for things. There was no greeting, no personal service, just a stony face over the counter who slammed food onto plates and into bags almost indignant if anyone asked for anything extra.This was on a day when cruise ship visitors were cramming the shop. I felt embarrassed as a New Zealander at such a lack of customer service shown to our overseas guests. Good customer service is paramount - a lot of businesses in Akaroa need to upskill in this area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tastey food - testy staff. Dont expect a smile”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Nice food but not so nice staff. Word of advice to the staff, remember you are in the food and hospitality business which means you should be hospitable and not just rely on good food.

Only went back again because it was the closest shop open at the time I wanted some food and coffee.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Escargot Rouge also viewed

 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to L'Escargot Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing