We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
Ranked #3 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2008

We went down with friends and booked the studio units. The website advertised the accommodation as "luxurious". We were bitterly disappointed. For $170 a night per unit, the accommodation was sadly lacking. Basic motel accommodation is how we would rate it - worth more like $120 a night. They were clean. The setting was beautiful with magnificent views, and the gardens well kept and quite lovely. But everything about the cottage was basic right down to the toiletries e.g. one cake of soap which had to do shower and handbasin. We ordered their "yummy brekky tray" (their words) and again what was on offer could not be more basic. Akaroa is a beautiful place and we had gone down to celebrate our 36th wedding anniversary (which I advised at the time of booking). When we expressed our disappointment, the response we kept getting was that the honeymoon cottages are lovely. But we didn't stay in them so the relevance was bit lost on us! Also felt that when we expressed our disappointment they tried very hard to make out that we were most unusual as their feedback is always positive. They have since offered us a free night in better accommodation HOWEVER to travel to Akaroa from the North Island is an expensive business - this was an expensive weekend! So we are unlikely to get down there again in the near future.. And because of their attitude - would not return even for a free night. There are plenty of alternatives. The other couple we went with are in complete agreement with us. I just felt that the advertising of this property promised a lot more than is the reality, hence the disappointment. They do not live up to their website or brochure hype.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 267 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2008

Our cottage was a seaview cottage with amazing views.

We wanted something for relaxing near the end of our holiday and this fitted the bill.
Log fire, self contained cottage and spa bath.
Reception were great, the room clean, hotplate and microwave.

Small external deck overlooking bay. Nice way to sample the local produce and enjoy NZ.

Small downsides. No internet (perhaps a blessing), filtered coffee and small TV. (They do however have free DVDs)

The cottages are now called Akaroa Cottages and highly
recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mav777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2008

This is my second stay and it was just as amazing as the first! The cottages are tucked in amongst native bush. We were checked in by a very friendly receptionist Val who gave us great advise on restaurants and local attractions. The cottages are great ... a little tired but that adds to the charm. They were clean, warm and welcoming. Val had lit the fire and turned on the bed side lamps prior to our arrival as we arrived late on a chilly day.If I had wanted to stay in a sterile hotel room I could have booked in the Village but we chose to return to this little haven hoping to recapture our memories from our earlier stay.We were not dissappointed. We will be back again - thanks for the memorable stay Akaroa Cottages.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiler255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2008

We had a romantic escape to Akaroa Cottages and booked the property as we wanted a private getaway without being disturbed. This is exactly what we had..we stayed in one of the Seaview Cottages that had unbeleiveable views, was spacious clean, had large king size bed and double spa bath. The cottage was hidden away in the bush with the only noise coming from the bellbirds outside. The man on reception was freindly and very obliging recommending restaurants and points of interest and made us feel very welcome upon arrival. We loved the property and will be back again in the winter so we can relax infront of the fireplace and reccommend this property for couples who need a well earned break and some quality time together without disturbance. Our only gripe was we did'nt want to leave.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markchristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

Has seen better days. Great views however overpriced and underserviced. Hotel did not tell us that water restrictions were in force when we booked. Could have been ground water but in any event it was disgusting.

Warning signals should have sounded when hotel required full payment on booking rather than just deposit. In my experience Hotels that are confident in their Quality don't ask for payment up front.

Lesson for owners-- clean mould up from around bath

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ozzie2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

My husband and I stayed @ the cottages for the second time in feb 2008,The first time we stayed in a beautiful cottage with a fire place and a spa bath which was amazing and the views were wonderful, overall the cottage so cozy and romantic loved them this was nov 2007.
Feb 2008 sadly the cottage we wanted were fully booked so we were offered the studio appartment which was only $20 cheaper than the cottage where we stayed previous, but was told no spa bath and no fire place in it.Was'nt as big or cozy as the other cottage but was still lovely,the views were even better than the last cottage,the room/bathroom was v clean but a little tired looking.
I cant say enough good things about the Akaroa Cottages a hidden treasure so relaxing so peacfull.
I would recommend the spa bath cottage as its better better value for the money but both are lovely.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank casie2322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2008

After reading raving reviews on Trip Advisor we were really looking forward to spending our last two nights in New Zealand at the Akaroa Cottages.

As it was a busy weekend there were only "Studio Apartments" left when I phoned the Cottages direct. I was concerned about this as we had just had 16 wonderful nights in Crown Plaza's in Aukland, Christchurch and Queenstown. The manager assured me the studios were of high quality and had all the facilities that the one bedrooms had except for the spa bath.

I believed her so booked for 2 nights at $NZ210 per night - significantly more than we paid even in Queenstown - I believed the saying "you get what you paid for."

What a mistake!
Started by finding someone already in our room - went back to reception who then gave us another key to the next room.Opened up the room and it stunk - they have a very poorly designed shower system and the smell kept returning all night. YUK!
As a consequence of the shower system mould and rot was very evident - also YUK!

I couldn't stand the smell and sight of the bathroom so the next morning approached the Manager about the mould on the tiles - to give him credit he sent his wife (who was well aware of the problem) to try to eliminate the mould with a heavy dose of bleach - much better smell that the mould!

She spent 15min really scrubbing and get alot of it off. At least she tried.

Under the bed we found many nasty surprises - a shoe, library book, remote control, gift box and lots of dust - and this was just with a very quick look by accident when we went to move the bed away from the wall as the walls are so thin we could hear the couple next door making entertainment so didn't want the same happening for them....

The setting is beautiful. The cottages look very appealing from the outside and the Manager was very polite. HOWEVER it lacked the attention to detail you expect at that price point and the cleaning was of a very poor standard.

Next visit we will be driving right past the Akaroa Cottages!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank RandJFrankston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2011

October 2011, We have have all our cottages curtained, carpeted, and painted some new furnishings and they are really looking good. We have proberley had a couple of management changes since these people stayed and hope if they were to come back to Akaroa We might see them, even if just to look :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
1.1 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 5 in Akaroa
131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.7 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 25 in Akaroa
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Akaroa on the Beach
Akaroa on the Beach
#8 of 22 in Akaroa
37 reviews
0.7 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
1.1 mi away
L'Hotel Akaroa
L'Hotel Akaroa
#10 of 25 in Akaroa
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection

Address: 6888 Christchurch Akaroa Road | Banks Penninsula, Akaroa 7542, New Zealand (Formerly Loch-Hill Country Cottages)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range: $126 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akaroa Cottages is part of Heritage Hotels group (Heritage Hotels).We have recently upgraded most of our cottages with new curtains, carpet and paint with some new furnishings. Perfectly located just 1.5 kilometers from the historic and unique French settlement of Akaroa, this idyllic Heritage Collection resort offers luxurious self-contained accommodation in a truly magnificent setting. Capturing the charm of this special location, Akaroa Cottages are crafted from timber and stone and are surrounded by tranquil native bush. These Private spacious cottages are complemented by stunning views of the beautiful Akaroa Harbour and the undulating hills of Banks Peninsula. Most of the Cottages have Double Corner Spa baths, Log burners and Views and they are all privately set. We cater for groups, couples weddings and Families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing