We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
Nearby Hotels
Sumner Bay Motel(Christchurch)
$92
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arcadia Motel(Christchurch)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Ferry Motel(Christchurch)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cashel Court Motel(Christchurch)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
City Worcester Motel(Christchurch)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveler rating
132
92
31
14
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
92
31
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathseaview cottagelog firenew zealandupstairs showerbeautiful viewlaundry facilityon arrivalcooking facilitiesminute drivetucked awaysteep hillpiece of paradiseanyone wantingromantic getawayliving areaqueen bed
Filter
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 277 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed in the 3 bedroom sea view cottage as two couples. This is one of about 10 cottages and studios located in well-maintained wooded grounds on a bluff overlooking Akaroa. The location and views are fantastic. The main driveway was being repaired while we were there but the alternative access was fine and the roads to the cottages, although a little steep in places are absolutely fine. The staff at reception, including the couple who manage the facility, were really helpful and friendly and gave us lots of good advice.
However, the cottage that we occupied does need some modernisation and improvement. The bathrooms look very dated and the decor and furnishings need a make-over. The deck furniture consists of 4 really cheap plastic chairs that you get in garden centres for about $20 and a really old small table with rusted feet. Even with 4 people the deck is too narrow, and in reality the deck is too small for a cottage that can accommodate 6 people. (The cottages are individually owned but centrally managed, so the improvements needed are down to the owner and not a reflection on the management company, who seemed to us to be doing an excellent job. I hope our comments provide some impetus to the cottage owner!)

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Strian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan H, General Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for the constructive review of the 3 bedroom, We do have the owner tied to a date to come and discuss, we hope to be able to upgrade this cottage with a large deck and a complete revamp inside including some furniture. Thank you again and we hope to see you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed in a 3 bed cottage with friends, it had 2 bathrooms a spacious lounge and kitchen area. Very clean, a good gas barbecue on the veranda proved useful.
We had a 4x4 so the driveway which was temporary as under repair was very steep.
Its necessary to drive into Akaroa.
The views are fantastic over the bay

Room Tip: All cottages looked good.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmuggeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan H, General Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for your Response for the 3 Bedroom cottage, It is a comfortable cottage. Due for an upgrade very soon. We hope to see you back Take care Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We booked a studio cottage for one night at this complex of cottages just outside Akaroa but feel we should have opted for a B&B after our experience. The steep downward drive to the reception was quite scary ( the usual road apparently undergoing repairs) Our studio cottage was very dark inside being right back onto the mountainside so no views from the back. The veranda area was ok but looked a little neglected. In fact that's the impression the whole studio had- needed a splash of cash. The mattress had seen better days, ie we rolled into the centre!! The old fashioned blue leather settee was showing signs of age too. Such a shame because the some of the larger cottages appeared more cared for. Spa bath was nice but overhead shower just satisfactory. The overhead fan in the living room was needed during the night as it was warm but the chord needed attention as it kept catching and so made an irritating clicking noise whilst in use ( only noticed once we turned the lights out) All these things are easily remedied with a little cash. Since arriving in NZ we have stayed in some fantastic B&Bs for around the same price so this experience was a little disappointing. The motel stay the night before in Kaikoura was only 145 NZ dollars but was actually alot newer and well maintained than this complex, granted it didn't have the view so maybe that's what we paid for at Akaroa??! No free Internet ( first time we have been charged during our stay) although on trying to contact we couldn't as we only had a MasterCard ( not accepted) small fridge containing ( opened from the wrong side) a large selection of alcohol ( all chargeable) had to empty out completely to keep our own small supplies cold. There's a small microwave and two ring electric stove but if staying for longer than a few nights this kitchen isn't the best for cooking own meals. Average accomodation only with room for improvement but with the potential of alot more.

Room Tip: Request larger cottage with light front and back of property. Avoid studio accomodation.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindsayCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for your Review, I have BUSHSIDE cottage (A Seaview cottage not and Studio) in my head. As these units are all individually owned we have been trying very hard to get these upgraded and the one you did see has been upgraded, hopefully your review will help us. Unfortunately Our main Entrance is under major reconstruction, i know not a great time as we are so busy but as it gave way and became very unsafe. we are lucky our neighbors have allowed us to use their private entrance which allowed us to stay open at this very busy season. The steep hill the last part is always there and at this stage we are unable to think of a better solution to get everybody around the cottages with out using this road. Internet has always been a problem but like all the other Motels/Hotels in Akaroa there is a charge, We do have some form of free internet in the pipeline for this year. If guests are staying longer we do have a portable oven or BBQ's available it is just a matter of asking us. Thank you again for you constructive comments and we hope that they help and a little cash is splashed not only on this one but on some of the others that need some upgrading. Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here for a night during our honeymoon and had a blast. I love this town - It is so small yet so full of life !!

Hotel was nice, good rooms and sweet staff. Food was good as well but a little far from main town is the problem

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParagbMehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan H, General Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for your review, We are a little out of the village but those who want peace and quiet, this is the please to come set on 12 acres and situated 1.5-2 km out of the village in native nz bush. We hope you return to Akaroa in the near future. take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed in a sea view cottage and it was lovely. The staff on the desk were really pleasant.

It is a little further than the 10 minute walk out of town, but other than that, a great stay. It does actually work out well as after staying in Bruce Waterfront apartments (where the tour buses pull up outside your window), it was really quiet.

The rooms were very clean and the beds were really comfy. The spa bath is a major plus.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susannah83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan H, General Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for you review, we we like where our property is at present with cruise boat season in full swing, we are in prime location to sit back and relax during the day and then put our for a quiet meal at night with all the boat people gone. There's no buses going past your room blocking your view here. I might be a fast walker but the length of time it might take the average person to walk in to the village (rec Grounds) is more like 15- 20 mins We do hope to see you back some time Take Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews