We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Lafayette, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We spent two nights at Akaroa Cottages and couldn't have been more pleased. Superb view of the bay. Surrounded by a beautiful garden complete with the singing of Bellbirds. The room itself was perfect. Can't recommend more highly.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pajaro_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan H, Front Office Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
We really appreciate your fantastic feedback. Thank you very much and we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Take care, Terri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    83
    26
    13
    7
See reviews for
36
179
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
derby
Level Contributor
142 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

A large spacious cottage with full cooking facilities of microwave and 2 ring electric hob. All the cutlery and crockery you could expect. Our double apartment was well looked after and always serviced to a high standard. It had superb views from high of the hill over the harbour at Akaroa from our very large picture window. Whilst we were there it snowed as we drove over the hill to the town and also snowed whilst we were out this made for a cool stay BUT this was no problem as the apartment had a very efficient fan heater to warm up the room. The bathroom was shower only but again that is quite normal and acceptable. Our cottage / apartment connected to another and we had a locked door between them. This could be very useful if you travel in a party of four as you can have adjoining cottages with the connecting door being unlocked.

The people running the site were more than happy to help out, they were happy to move our washing from machine to tumble drier whilst we were in the cottage about four minutes away. The laundry room also had a series of books and games available to be borrowed during our stay. We found the Scrabble a good distraction.

The whole cottage site is on a quite steep hill though there are some which are on the level more suitable for people who are less mobile.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makesholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan H, Front Office Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and of course the magnificent views from your studio. The cleanliness of our cottages is something we take pride in and its great to hear they are very clean. Take care Terri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, hong kong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We couldn't have asked for more...except a couple more days to really enjoy this cottage. There was no "roughing it" at this cottage. Very nicely decorated, wood stove, good kitchenette, fantastic bedroom and living room widows looking out over the town of Akaroa & the bay. The amount of stars that you could see at night from the porch were breathtaking. The secluded area made you really feel like you were out away from it all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
We are really happy you enjoyed your time with us, and yes most people say exactly that " wish we could stay longer" Thank you for your wonderful review. Take care, Terri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We've just returned from 15 days of self driving around the South Island of New Zealand and all things considered, we rate our accommodation in the above complex at "Woodside" cottage as the best we experienced during our time away! On the advice of other contributors, we stayed for two nights and couldn't fault this accommodation in any way. Our cottage had an amazing view over the harbour and, like every other cottage, was sufficient distance from the others to provide privacy and that sense of seclusion. The furnishings and decor were tasteful and comfortable, everything was immaculately clean and the wood-fire kept us at "home" self catering and enjoying the ambience rather than venturing out! The on site managers were helpful and extremely personable: we'll certainly be back!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a cottage with a harbour view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in the cleanliness of our cottages and its nice to get great feedback like yours. We will certainly look forward to meeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We booked for 1 night and wished we had stayed for 2 nights. These cute cottages are in a lovely location away from the town. We drove into the pretty town and enjoyed the local restaurants and the French atmosphere. There was more to see in Akaroa than we had thought.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZTrip2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Great to hear you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Very impressed from the moment we arrived. Reception was very friendly and helpful. The cottages are set in the most glorious of grounds with great views overlooking the hills and Harbour.
The cottages were very well presented, being exceptionally clean and fresh looking. There was an added bonus of having a gas fire to give extra warmth, if needed. A most enjoyable stay and would recommend to all. Amble car parking. Would suggest that you need a car, as the cottages are on the outskirts of the town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review, We are very happy you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you back Take Care Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My parents arrived from long flights from the UK then from Auckland to Christchurch. The travel agents in the UK had recommended we come to Akaroa before heading off to Kaikoura etc, they said it was a 20 minute drive from the airport...
It was an hour and a half and we had to drive all the way back to Christchurch to then head off to Kaikoura so my parents were not amused.. UNTIL we arrived in Akaroa Cottages. Then they decided that it was actually worth the drive!
We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage, one double room and a twin bedroom, lovely spa bath/shower, cosy lounge/kitchen with mini bar facilities. There was a deck area and some local ducks that have obviously been fed by many guests in the past who visit the deck area regularly! The views are beautiful over the harbour.
When we arrived we were given a small complimentary bottle of milk.
It is about a 5 minute drive into town. If planning on walking into town it would be a steep hill to get back to the cottages. We only stayed the one night but would definitely stay again, it is a home away from home but also a beautiful relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vettyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
We are really happy to hear you all enjoyed your short stay over and that you want to come back, Sandyford has one of the best view of the Akaroa harbour and is very relaxing, Take Care and we will look forward to welcoming you back. Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
1.1 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.8 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.7 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection

Property: Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
Address: 6888 Christchurch Akaroa Road | Banks Penninsula, Akaroa 7542, New Zealand (Formerly Loch-Hill Country Cottages)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akaroa Cottages is part of Heritage Hotels group (Heritage Hotels).We have recently upgraded most of our cottages with new curtains, carpet and paint with some new furnishings. Perfectly located just 1.5 kilometers from the historic and unique French settlement of Akaroa, this idyllic Heritage Collection resort offers luxurious self-contained accommodation in a truly magnificent setting. Capturing the charm of this special location, Akaroa Cottages are crafted from timber and stone and are surrounded by tranquil native bush. These Private spacious cottages are complemented by stunning views of the beautiful Akaroa Harbour and the undulating hills of Banks Peninsula. Most of the Cottages have Double Corner Spa baths, Log burners and Views and they are all privately set. We cater for groups, couples weddings and Families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing