We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
La Rochelle Motel(Akaroa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sumner Bay Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arcadia Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ferry Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cashel Court Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
City Worcester Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveler rating
131
91
31
14
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
91
31
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathseaview cottagelog firenew zealandupstairs showerbeautiful viewlaundry facilityon arrivalcooking facilitiesminute drivetucked awaysteep hillpiece of paradiseanyone wantingromantic getawayliving areaqueen bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 275 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed here in May 2012, eventhough the property was a little way from town we enjoyed ocean views and a beautiful outlook over the harbour. We had a car so transport into town was not a problem and parking was never an issue. After staying in many other cottages during our stay, this one was the best and we felt represented good value for money. A similar cottage in Australia would be over $200 a night. We had an amazing time in the township of Akaroa just sight seeing and enjoying the tranquility. We had a Tapas plate and a few wines while the sun went down very nice! The spa was a good size and the bed was very comfortable. It was well appointed and it was nice to have a hand written note and chocies on arrival. The only small downside we found was reception was a little disorganised when we checked in. The grounds are lovely. We had a great stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan H, General Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you and hope to see you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We spent a pleasant evening at Akaroa Cottages - a cold May night that made us appreciate the woodstove and the ample supply of firewood (I'm a bit of a pyromaniac, anyway). Our cottage, an old weighbridge, was well equipped, although I wouldn't call it luxurious. These cottages only work for people with their own transport - it's a short drive, but a long walk to town. One negative for us was the additional charge for the use of the Internet. These days free Internet is the norm in even simple accommodation, and being expected to pay $8 for 3 hours of Internet use diminished what was otherwise a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, we are working on the Luxurious with all our units this winter. i Understand the internet situation but as we do not own the wireless gear because of our layout the cost are very high. This is something we will continue to look at but the cost is actually cheap to other places i have stayed. The local library has free internet as do some resturants in Akaroa. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We spent 2 lovely nights here as part of our honeymoon, we have stayed here in the past so we knew what to expect - lovely veiws, quiet grounds with lots of native birds and the romantic little cottage. We had a great time over all staying here - its very close to Akaroa however you still need to drive into town to the nice resturants etc. My only complaints would be the silly new rules the new owners have up in the cottages - do your own dishes ( or you could be charged) and they also now only supply you enough fire wood for one fire which they advise you to have only at night, supposedly because the guests burn too much wood... Pity one of the reasons we liked going here was for the ambience the fire gives out , would also be nice if they could provide some bubble bath for the spa baths too - little things can really make a difference.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Thank you for your review, this valued info helps make us a better place, You will be happy to know we have taken down the dishes sign and yes we do prefer guest to lite the fires at night and use the heaters during day especially when they depart as we like to set the fires for the incoming guests, Wood gets replenished every day. We do have bubble bath available (Body Wash) but the jets in the Spa baths do not really bubbles nor is it good for them. We have lots of little things that matter, personal welcome notes with complimentary gifts, herbal tea's natural bathroom ammenties, we do hope to see you again Thanks Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We booked a bushview cottage and that is exactly what we had, a view of the bush only. In the description, printed on the lodging voucher, it stated we would have, "a view of the ocean and the mountains..". When I pointed this out, I was told that we got what we paid for and no adjustment would be made. So, this is definitely overpriced and overpromised. It is really quite close to the highway (there is not a lot of traffic on the highway but you can easily hear the noise). There is a fireplace, but there is a charge for more wood if you use the first small amount there. The cottage is clean but very dated.
The cottages are not in town. They are several miles out of town. So unless you have transportation they are out of the question.
I cannot recommend this to others.

Room Tip: Do not rely on the description of the room. Instead, go by the name of the cottage only.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKNDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

loved the website, and loved the location, about 2 minutes just outside of town. It's situated on a hillside so you can just make out the bay of Akaroa from our cabin window. No wireless in the cabins, but you can purchase it in the lobby.Very well appointed kichenette and cooking facilities. We stayed 2 nights, and it was just enough to sample the restaurants nearby. The hiking trails are amazing, and the tourist road is superb, recommend it heading back to CHCH instead of towards Akaroa as the views are better that direction. Take lots of bug spray as the Sandflies are horrible.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdlibra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Hi there not sure which cottage/unit you were in some have better views than others but 8/10 cottages have Sea/ harbour views, as we are in a gully and trees are everywhere sometimes wireless isn't available in all cottages this is something we are aware of and are always working on to make it better. Thank you for your review Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews