We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Cottages”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We spent 2 lovely nights here as part of our honeymoon, we have stayed here in the past so we knew what to expect - lovely veiws, quiet grounds with lots of native birds and the romantic little cottage. We had a great time over all staying here - its very close to Akaroa however you still need to drive into town to the nice resturants etc. My only complaints would be the silly new rules the new owners have up in the cottages - do your own dishes ( or you could be charged) and they also now only supply you enough fire wood for one fire which they advise you to have only at night, supposedly because the guests burn too much wood... Pity one of the reasons we liked going here was for the ambience the fire gives out , would also be nice if they could provide some bubble bath for the spa baths too - little things can really make a difference.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Thank you for your review, this valued info helps make us a better place, You will be happy to know we have taken down the dishes sign and yes we do prefer guest to lite the fires at night and use the heaters during day especially when they depart as we like to set the fires for the incoming guests, Wood gets replenished every day. We do have bubble bath available (Body Wash) but the jets in the Spa baths do not really bubbles nor is it good for them. We have lots of little things that matter, personal welcome notes with complimentary gifts, herbal tea's natural bathroom ammenties, we do hope to see you again Thanks Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 273 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

We booked a bushview cottage and that is exactly what we had, a view of the bush only. In the description, printed on the lodging voucher, it stated we would have, "a view of the ocean and the mountains..". When I pointed this out, I was told that we got what we paid for and no adjustment would be made. So, this is definitely overpriced and overpromised. It is really quite close to the highway (there is not a lot of traffic on the highway but you can easily hear the noise). There is a fireplace, but there is a charge for more wood if you use the first small amount there. The cottage is clean but very dated.
The cottages are not in town. They are several miles out of town. So unless you have transportation they are out of the question.
I cannot recommend this to others.

Room Tip: Do not rely on the description of the room. Instead, go by the name of the cottage only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKNDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

loved the website, and loved the location, about 2 minutes just outside of town. It's situated on a hillside so you can just make out the bay of Akaroa from our cabin window. No wireless in the cabins, but you can purchase it in the lobby.Very well appointed kichenette and cooking facilities. We stayed 2 nights, and it was just enough to sample the restaurants nearby. The hiking trails are amazing, and the tourist road is superb, recommend it heading back to CHCH instead of towards Akaroa as the views are better that direction. Take lots of bug spray as the Sandflies are horrible.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdlibra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Hi there not sure which cottage/unit you were in some have better views than others but 8/10 cottages have Sea/ harbour views, as we are in a gully and trees are everywhere sometimes wireless isn't available in all cottages this is something we are aware of and are always working on to make it better. Thank you for your review Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

This is a pretty beautiful property set amid hills just 5 minutes drive from the Akaroa towncenter. The cottages are beautifully done with comfortable furniture and well set up kitchens. The whole property is nicely landscaped and cottages are well covered around with greenry.

We stayed at the cottages for 5 nights to start off our vacation and it was a brilliant start. The stay was comfortable and the host family was very sweet and helpful. They took care of all our requests and were well informed of the town and whereabouts.

The only drawback for our cottage was the missing Wi-Fi, the signal didn't reach to our cottage. The roads are a little narrow but i guess that adds to the charm of the place.

Overall we are pretty impressed with the property and highly recommend for staying in Akaroa.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BudLuBudKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Thank you and we are very please you enjoyed you stay with us here, Wi-Fi is an issue we are always trying to make better. Hope to see you back Take care Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Outstanding accommodation at the Akaroa Cottages. Fantastic location. Very well appointed. Excellent value for money. Lovely to be able to sit out on the balcony with a glass of wine and enjoy the magnificent view! Included kitchette and cooking facilities.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JhhDjh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Thank you for the lovely review hope to see you again Take care Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Akaroa Cottages claims on its website to be, “luxurious private setting and accommodation “ , BUT is it?
Positives
Quiet and peaceful with off road location with good car parking alongside the cottage
Clean and tidy well maintained grounds and gardens.
Reasonable separation between cottages with an attractive bush setting
A warm and comfortable studio cottage with a good standard of appointments. Compared with the hard beds of French holiday homes to have a comfortable king-size bed with good pillows was a real pleasure and ensured a good night’s sleep.
Negatives
While a friendly reception, no attempt was made to show us to or round our accommodation – just a vague pointing in the direction
Round 20 minutes walk from the village especially coming up hill with a rather dangerous road with no footpaths – you take your life in your hands when walking as it is a major road and the only way into Akaroa.
While the property is named Akaroa Cottages the official signage says Country cottages. As a result we drove right passed even though we were looking for the property – should be corrected.
A nice hand-written welcome note, but only backed up by two small bite size chocolate bars – no wine or bread.
Akaroa is unique in that it is New Zealand’s only French settlement and while the village reflects certain aspects of France with the boucharie and the gas station selling essence, at Akaroa Cottages we never heard even a “Bonjour” from the staff, or any signage in French. So if you are looking of a slice of France you won’t find it at Akaroa Cottages.
The property is promoted as having Wi-Fi, but in this day and age you don’t expect to have to lodge your credit card and pay for a connection – not good enough Akaroa Cottages!
Akaroa Cottages miss a great opportunity in that while promoting Bush View cottages don’t expect to find an outdoor bush bath – just a standard corner indoor plastic spa bath.
With a ****plus Qualmark rating one expects a high standard of maintenance – broken window thatches, walls patched with plaster and not sanded and painted are certainly not to this standard
In general some big and important positives, but falling down in the smaller points that make for an exceptional experience. Would I recommend the property to a friend? Maybe with some qualifications!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Winetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you Wine-tourist for you review, we value everybody's views on the property and while we aim to provide a well maintained property and Fabulous service, sometimes not everybody is happy. i find your review interesting as we have again passed our Qualmark assessment 4* plus. Our official signage is Akaroa Cottages but transit has Country cottages as this is the Original name of the property. we are working at getting this changed but seems to be an ongoing problem and not on the top of their list to fix. We give all our guests a small complimentary gift (Chocolate) on arrival, should you have wanted wine and Bread we could have organised this for you, Outdoor baths do sound great and we would love to have a few around the property but we do not advertise that we have them, but we have bathspa's in most of our rooms which most of our guests are happy with. Thank you again for the informative review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed in a bushview cottage for 2 nights during our short stay in Akaroa. Akaroa is a charming town and was a nice stop for us between Twizel and Nelson. The cottage was very nice. It is probably more enjoyable during the Winter months when you can use the spa and the fire to its full value. You also get lots of Sky channels, which made it nice to kick back in front of the TV after a long drive.

The cottage is comfy and clean, but I do feel that it is slightly overpriced and you might be able to find something nice, for better value.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank estherlala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akaroa
1.1 mi away
Akaroa Village Inn
Akaroa Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Akaroa
143 reviews
24.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
712 reviews
3.7 mi away
Twin Gullies B&B
Twin Gullies B&B
#9 of 25 in Akaroa
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
1.2 mi away
Mt Vernon Lodge
Mt Vernon Lodge
#10 of 24 in Akaroa
40 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bon Accord
Bon Accord
#21 of 24 in Akaroa
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection

Address: 6888 Christchurch Akaroa Road | Banks Penninsula, Akaroa 7542, New Zealand (Formerly Loch-Hill Country Cottages)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range: $160 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akaroa Cottages is part of Heritage Hotels group (Heritage Hotels).We have recently upgraded most of our cottages with new curtains, carpet and paint with some new furnishings. Perfectly located just 1.5 kilometers from the historic and unique French settlement of Akaroa, this idyllic Heritage Collection resort offers luxurious self-contained accommodation in a truly magnificent setting. Capturing the charm of this special location, Akaroa Cottages are crafted from timber and stone and are surrounded by tranquil native bush. These Private spacious cottages are complemented by stunning views of the beautiful Akaroa Harbour and the undulating hills of Banks Peninsula. Most of the Cottages have Double Corner Spa baths, Log burners and Views and they are all privately set. We cater for groups, couples weddings and Families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing