We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“picture perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Adelaide
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“picture perfect”
Reviewed April 18, 2011

5 adults stayed in a 3 bedroom cottage for 2 nights, views were fantastic, very relaxing, although there are a number of cottages on the site, we found it very secluded but there is also the opportunity to mingle with other guests on the grounds. The only downside we found was that the fridge was a small bar fridge, and not enough room for all our food and drink!!!!
Love it and WILL return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waltek01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan H, Manager at Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
The 3 Bedroom cottage is great for couples, i know where you are coming from with the fridge, the only way we can really get around that is we can offer you a chilly bin with lots of ice for the fantasfreeing up the space for you food in the fridge. Unfortunaly this is a down side with most accomodation these days. We look forward to seeing you again Thanks Megan:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    83
    26
    13
    7
See reviews for
36
179
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We stayed there for two nights when we had to change our hotel from Christchurch. It was very nice and quiet. The cottage was clean and spacious. The wireless internet didn't really work -- but I was only using my iTouch rather than a computer and that may have been the problem. The cottage had a nice kitchenette which was handy for breakfast and preparing lunch on-the-go. We liked it there and would stay again. The Fish and Chip place down by the water in Akaroa is amazing!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsDidi63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We stayed here in October 2010 and it was a welcome surprise as to how nice the cottages were. Very spacious and everything we needed. We were greeted on arrival to be told we had been upgraded from a Bushview to a Seaview cottage and it was just lovely. Each of the cabins are totally separate so you don't really see any of the other guests. Just a very short drive to Akaroa but that adds to the privacy.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daytripper19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We stayed here for one night in Jan 2011. I think we had a cottage called Overton. One bedroom cottage with a good size lounge, kitchen area and a small deck with a view of the town in the distance.

It is a fair hike out of town - a car is essential. I'm not sure I'd fancy a walk back up the hill in the dark.

On the plus side, the cottage was very nice. Loads of space for two people. It made a really pleasant change from hotel rooms.

One thing we weren't keen on - the spa bath - we turned it on and lots of brown/black bits came out of it. No idea what... told reception in the morning, they didn't seem overly phased.

This place is ok - lots going for it, but if you want to be able to walk around the town after a couple of glasses of the local vino, you'd be better off staying in the town. It's generally a quiet town so I'm sure there are some other lovely places.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbsandStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

We stayed just one night in Akaroa at the end of our four day walk on the Banks Peninsula track. The cottages were the perfect way to end our trek. Just outside of town but only a few minutes drive away, the cottages are very peaceful and newly renovated. They are up on the hillside overlooking Akaroa bay with a beautiful lawn to lay on and soak up the sun. We even had two ducks visit us on our deck in the morning! The staff were all very friendly and enthusiastic. I would have no hesitation in recommending the cottages to friends.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cody85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Great quiet retreat set up on the hill overlooking Akaroa. The service was friendly and the cabins set well apart for privacy. The log woodburner was fabulous on cold winter nights - it's a great place to put your feet up and relax. Just a five minute drive into town to the restaurants and shops or a 15 minute walk.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidays_Yay_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
338 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

This is a fantastic find. The room we had (Rowan) was fantastic - great facilities with a wonderful view over Akaroa harbour. Really friendly and helpful owners too.

You'll probably be better off to have a car - it's a little way to the town centre from here (5 mins by car).

The deal we got with an included continental breakfast was great - usually "continental breakfast" deals are poor, but not here - really nice package, lovely food, well presented.

In winter, you can't beat the feeling of sitting in front of the fantastic in-room fire, warm and cosy looking over that gorgeous harbour.

We will happily return if we are lucky enough to get to Akaroa again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WH0A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
1.1 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
65 reviews
0.7 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.5 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
213 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#5 of 24 in Akaroa
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection

Property: Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
Address: 6888 Christchurch Akaroa Road | Banks Penninsula, Akaroa 7542, New Zealand (Formerly Loch-Hill Country Cottages)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akaroa Cottages is part of Heritage Hotels group (Heritage Hotels).We have recently upgraded most of our cottages with new curtains, carpet and paint with some new furnishings. Perfectly located just 1.5 kilometers from the historic and unique French settlement of Akaroa, this idyllic Heritage Collection resort offers luxurious self-contained accommodation in a truly magnificent setting. Capturing the charm of this special location, Akaroa Cottages are crafted from timber and stone and are surrounded by tranquil native bush. These Private spacious cottages are complemented by stunning views of the beautiful Akaroa Harbour and the undulating hills of Banks Peninsula. Most of the Cottages have Double Corner Spa baths, Log burners and Views and they are all privately set. We cater for groups, couples weddings and Families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing