We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad I booked here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Akaroa Criterion Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2010

In a great quiet location, near the waterfront and I think almost all units have a sea view. A good large unit, comfortably furnished and a well-equipped kitchenette. Nothing in Akaroa is very far, but this place is near the Supermarket and information office and about 5 minutes from the main row of restaurants and the harbour for the dolphin cruises. Pleasant and helpful owners.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
There are newer reviews for Akaroa Criterion Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 256 of 275 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2010

What a great place. We were initailly booked to stay at the Holiday Inn in Christchurch, but due to the earhthquake decided that it would be far better to steer clear of the city due to the state of emergency. I had heard of Akaroa from a friend who gave it a big rating. On arrival we decided on the Criterion due to its closeness to the water. I was advised by the manager that the top floor rooms were not being alloocated due to the aftershocks, I wanted a top floor, (for the view) so he agreed to give us a room on the top. No problems, there were a number of aftershocks during the night but this place is very solid and barley moves. The village itself is great, plenty of places to see and eat. The only disappointment was the weather, but after all it is just at the end of winter.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RockyBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

In some ways this is a typical modern NZ motel that is functional more than anything. however it goes a stage past that. The rooms are large and well equiped. A perfect view out over the harbour. You could sit on the balcony and watch the activity. It was very clean and comfortable. The service was great. It would be my first choice if returning to Akaroa.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
3  Thank NZMike57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

We spent 3 nights here in a wonderful room on the top floor, excellent views over the harbour, huge comfortable bed, all mod cons, cooking facilties plus if you ask they can give you a toaster oven and fry pan which came in very handy. The bathroom was very large and equipt with very good shampoo and body wash which you don't get very often these days, coffee plunger with coffee that was replaced every day and coffee mugs not tiny cups which we used everyday whilst sitting on our balcony looking at the view. The lady on duty is very lovely and there to help, there is a supermarket behind the hotel that has most things you could need and a lovely restaurant in the street infront. It is a short walk to the main wharf and there are loads of shops.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveller_Chelly10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

Lovely spacious rooms with great views to the bay and all facilities, would highly recommend. Close to restaurants etc

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eimear_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2009

try to get a room in the 2nd floor and enjoy the view..... the motel is 20 meters away from the sea, has clean, large and comfortable rooms....
nothing to complain at all....
perfect accomodation for long term stay too

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank austrokiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our NZ tour, having booked in advance.

Good clean motel with great views over the harbour and mountains from the balcony of our very spacious room, car parking underneath, so you have stairs to climb but the Manager helped us old codgers up with our overweight cases! Honesty box in the laundry on ground floor and he let us hang out the washing in his back garden to dry.

A bit more expensive than most @ $180 NZ per night, but you are in beautiful Akaroa and it was the start of the holiday season. Do the Dolphin Cruise, visit the lovely interesting Museum, walk along to the restaurants in 10/15 mins in the main part of the town (Harbour 71 was disappointing with tiny portions of pretentious food) but Ma Maison opposite the Motel was excellent. We haven't got WiFi or whatever its called, but the cafe/shop two doors up has internet (a bit slow) and does a lovely cooked breakfast. On your way back to Christchurch take the scenic route - its excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jj-the-jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 6 in Akaroa
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tresori Motor Lodge
Tresori Motor Lodge
#4 of 6 in Akaroa
117 reviews
1.5 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
216 reviews
0.8 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa Criterion Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa Criterion Motel

Address: 75 Rue Jolie | Akaroa Banks Penninsular, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Akaroa
Price Range: $97 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Akaroa Criterion Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb harbor views from most rooms at this 4 plus star plus motel. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Super-king beds, private balcony. Double glazing and underfloor heating. Free WiFi each day in every room. Free car parking with ltd under cover parking also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akaroa Criterion Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akaroa Criterion Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing