We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot in a charming town.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akaroa Criterion Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Akaroa Criterion Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
227 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Great spot in a charming town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Perfect spot for a stay in the charming small port of Akaroa which, nestling between vaguely Côte d'Azur hills and with its French history, seems to be a delightful forgotten slice of the South of France before it became ribbon development.

We spent two nights at the Criterion, perfectly situated in the centre of town. The room was very comfortable, spacious and well maintained, and reflected the town's ambiance with a couple of Raoul Dufy prints on the wall. The room had a balcony, suitable for late afternoon reflection aided by a fine Otago wine, a small, adequately equipped kitchenette, and, usefully, a coffee table, couch and armchair.

Gabrielle and the laconically humorous David, are great hosts and even Mista (?), the Motel Dog, was affably welcoming (forgive the pathetic fallacy, but Mistah really did seem genuinely pleased to see guests).

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry Lynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Wow you make it all sound so romantic.
Thanks for all the compliments and Mista thanks you too. He takes his job very seriously, all the meeting and greeting of customers. Mind you he has been doing it for 11 years now.:) He is very experienced. He has been doing the job nearly as long as us.

We are really glad you enjoyed your time in our little town and look forward to seeing you here again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    78
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
199
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We spent two nights here at the end of a recent tour of NZ and can recommend the motel for its proximity to the delights that Akaroa has to offer. However, there had been a mistake with our booking and we had to be given an alternative room, which was the one designed for disabled access, which meant some of the bathroom fittings were at the wrong height for a 6'1" man! I can only assume that this room is infrequently used and locked up for long periods as throughout our two days it had a distinct unpleasant smell every time we walked in...not so bad that we worried about it but definitely an unpleasant welcome! (the receptionist tried to blame the confusion with the room on the booking coming in while she was on holiday recently but we booked over 8 months' ago!).
The ground room was spacious and clean with a patio to sit out on (albeit overlooking a road) and, as other reviews have mentioned, the convenience of being on the doorstep of the shops and restaurants of Akaroa does mean some noises from deliveries to the small supermarket next door, though this didn't overly concern us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wine_and_Chocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
We are sorry you did not enjoy your time here.
There was no confusion with your booking. We upgraded you to a sea view room when you had only booked a standard room without a sea view as the person in the standard room had asked to stay another night.
If there was a smell in the room you should have told us and we could have looked at the problem. The room has been used every day for months and is not an infrequently used room. It is one of the most popular as it is ground floor and has good sea views.
Yes the shower is used as an access shower but is adjustable so shouldnt be a problem.
We hope you dont hold all this against us and return to Akaroa at some time. It is a beautiful town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

I was surprised and delighted by the Criterion. Describing itself as a Motel, it is more a set of large studio apartments with balconies facing the sea. The huge bed was very comfortable, and the sofa and chairs added nicely to the usefulness of the place when the rain closed in without making it cluttered or cramped. The whole suite including the bathroom was spotlessly clean and seemed to have been either recently refitted or very well maintained. Possibly both!
There is a very decent Freesat reciever and flatscreen TV (also good when the weather goes wrong) A good selection of tea, coffee and biscuits are laid on and there is a fridge, kettle and microwave oven if you feel like running up a quick feast. Personally I would save this measure for the small hours lest you miss out on the excellent eating that Akaroa has to offer. Between the French tradition of elegant eating, and New Zealand's aptitude for innovation and skilful adaption of old ideas and new ways, and you will take a long time to run out of great places to eat; and that's just within a very lazy walking distance.
There is a small supermarket next door for general supplies and lots more shops for presents, gifts and other bits and pieces along the main strip and by the harbour front and pier. I wasn't joking about the location! All told, a great place to stay for a comfortable visit to this rather unique part of a very beautiful country.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rivnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay here.
We try to make the units as comfortable as possible and , well the views just speak for themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just spent 3 nights at the motel it’s more like staying with friends in their annex. Gabrielle & David are the perfect mine hosts, welcome you, make sure you understand everything in your studio, advise on places to go and where to eat, but also there is an honesty laundry, a lounge/meeting room with exchange books,, beach towels and the brand new gas BBQ is free for you to use, add this to the room facilities, the space the comfortable lounge furniture, large bathroom and comfortable king beds, and you can cook for yourselves should you wish to stay in, with the supermarket over the fence you are spoilt for choice. Then there is the position, the view from the third floor rooms over the bay is superb, sit on your own balcony over a cup of fresh ground coffee or a bottle of wine whilst planning tomorrows trip advised by your hosts and it is hard to think of anywhere better to be, thank you Paul Carberry for another superb suggestion

Room Tip: Third Floor for the views definitely just remember no lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments.
We enjoy our customers becoming our friends, even if it is for the short time they are here.
We are always happy to offer advice on where to go and what to do in this lovely town and try to make sure that they enjoy their time here.
Dave and I are pleased you enjoyed your time here and look forward to meeting you again should you stay in Akaroa again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Lovely rooms and a great reception from the lady who was looking after the place... This location is really great and only about a five minute walk to the main shopping part. We were however behind the 4Square supermarket and were woken both mornings before dawn with trucks unloading goods for the shop. This is one of those things that we can't do much about. The room was immaculate and clean and friendly staff so we can't complain and would return. Also handy to great restaurants that are in the opposite direction to the main town and would highly recommend e.g. The Brasserie and The Little bistro....

Room Tip: Ask for one with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moochNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your great comments. Yes our minder is lovely such a gracious lady.

Sorry to hear the milk truck woke you up delivering the bread and milk but you are right. There is not a lot we can do about that. This is a very busy time of year.

However we are pleased you enjoyed our accommodation and our town. There is certainly a lot to see and do here. We hope to see you when you return to our town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed two nights in what I think must be (apart from the penthouse) the best room in the motel. I can't remember the number, but it was top floor at the far end from the office, and looked down the street to the harbour and a little jetty.

The room was enormous, and it was a delight to be able to spread out a bit. It was well-equipped with a comfortable sofa, TV, and DVD player. The bathroom was reasonably large and was clean and well-maintained. The bed was very comfortable. I liked the bright decor, which suited the "coastal" ambiance.

The location is great, allowing an easy walk to everywhere in town. Cafe, supermarket and bank are adjacent, and the posher restaurants are a short saunter around the bay.

I had read about the noise from the supermarket freezer, but it was pretty minor, and with the bathroom window closed was no more than you get from any motel bar fridge. We didn't lose any sleep over it. The kitchenette doesn't include a hotplate, but there is a communal barbeque with a side burner, so that is one way around that.

We enjoyed our couple of days in Akaroa (such a pretty town) and the Banks Peninsula (as an Aussie I don't think I've ever driven on such steep and winding roads before!) and we would thoroughly recommend Criterion as a place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sapientpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. Your unit was unit 12 as you descibed and yes you can lie in bed and look at the harbour with no one to see in. Always a bonus.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here in the town and would look forward to you returning one day.
Guess if you aren't used to winding roads it can get a bit hairy, but really not that bad once you are used to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights over New Years and found the room to be spacious, but a little tired / dated.

There are fantastic sea views from the balcony and the motel is north facing for the sun

The bed was a king size which was good, but I personally found it to be a bit hard for my liking.

The shower was a large walk in type and had good pressure and the bathroom was very big

Only downside is the local supermarket is right behind the motel, and from very early you can hear trucks coming to deliver goods and the forklift moving around the back.
This was the only let down for this motel

Room Tip: the rooms on 1st and 2nd floor get fantastic views of Akaroa Harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muffinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your commments.
I guess decor and the hardness or softness of the beds are a personal thing. We do not feel it is tired or dated and because most people like a firm yet comfortable bed we have tried for a happy medium. We can never please all of the people all of the time
The Motel actually faces West to get all the afternoon sun.
Yes the supermarket can get very busy especially at New year when you stayed and does have some delivery trucks in the morning however the forklift is only used for the big delivery trucks which come well into the day.
Once again thanks for you comments and even though you only spent 2 days here we hope you had a great time..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tresori Motor Lodge
Tresori Motor Lodge
#4 of 6 in Akaroa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.5 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#5 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa Criterion Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa Criterion Motel

Property: Akaroa Criterion Motel
Address: 75 Rue Jolie | Akaroa Banks Penninsular, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Akaroa Criterion Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb harbor views from most rooms at this 4 plus star plus motel. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Super-king beds, private balcony. Double glazing and underfloor heating. Free WiFi each day in every room. Free car parking with ltd under cover parking also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Akaroa Criterion Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akaroa Criterion Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing