We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Akaroa Criterion Motel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We arrived in Akaroa without a reservation had a wander around town and checked out a couple of accommodation options. Then I looked at Trip Advisor and noted a very positive recommendation for the Criterion Motel so we ventured out to find it and I am so pleased we did.

We were given a lovely corner room on the ground floor with awesome views of the harbour, very spacious with king bed, sofa lounge, table and chairs, kitchenette, very roomy bathroom and doors opening to an outside gated patio complete with director's chairs for outdoor use, it was a very comfortable room.

The location was right across the road from the harbour and restaurants and the supermarket and other shops were in the street behind. We ate at Ma Maison right across the road from the motel and I highly recommend it, food and service was excellent. So if you are going to Akaroa you can't go wrong with staying at Criterion Motel and eating at Ma Maison!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morris80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments.
Yes we are very central to everything and are walking distance to most things.
Our rooms are spacious and we love to make our customers comfortable if we can.
Glad you enjoyed your food as well. There are so many good restaurants in Akaroa it is hard to choose.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you decided to share your comments with us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 307 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

There was nothing we could recall as a fault. That leaves all of the good elements which included: Hospitable manager, very clean exterior and clean hotel room, free wi-fi, outstanding view (Room 9), well appointed room, very comfortable bed, plenty of bath towels, room was well maintained, and the nearby small grocery store, deli, restaurants and a friendly smile with a pleasant greeting around the neighborhood.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank CaptainBlackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments.
We are pleased that you enjoyed our town and the great hospitality that the whole place offers. Akaroa is a friendly town and we look forward to making our tourists happy.
We hope you had a great holiday and look forward to maybe seeing you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our room was perfect. The rooms were big, airy, light and clean. Great value for money.
Owners were pleasant as well as the resident dog and cat.
We almost changed our flights to stay another night as this place was one of the highlights of our 11 day south island tour.
Sounds like a small thing, but nice to have "real" milk for tea and coffee.
I would highly recommend to others.

Room Tip: Mid floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aklr81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments. Yes the rooms are spacious. The resident cat and dog are always pleasant and love greeting customers. Thats why they tend to sit in the office :)
We always try as well and mostly succeed.
I totally agrree with you re the milk. The real stuff is soooo much better.
We hope you had a great holiday and Akaroa is one of your nicest memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Reasonably priced with helpful manager and the VIEW. Walking distance to all restaurants. This is also a good family room as the size and kitchenette allows for breakfast and or a lunch in the room. Plenty for the kids to enjoy.

Room Tip: 2nd floor worth the stairs and $20 NZ extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phynanze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for your comments. Yes the view is quite spectacular from the unit you were in, especially when the sun is glinting on the sea.

These are large studio type rooms so maybe not as suitable for families as units with seperate bedrooms. but are more comfortable for couples or even with 3 people.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you enjoy the rest of your time in NZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a two night stay on the 2nd floor in a large studio (#4). The rooms were clean, well furnished and we had a sunny balcony. We had a beautiful view looking out onto the small wharf and bay. Really friendly hosts.Would really recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harlsshiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you had some good weather as well.
It is great to be able to sit on the balcony and look at the harbour on a sunny day.
Even on a winters day to be able to sit inside and look out at the sea in all its moods is great.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

A nice motel in a good location very well set up but having a spacious studio on the middle floor resulted in the sound of elephants from above until late at night. The proprietors were friendly but didn't seem to care about the impact of this on our sleep even though we had chosen this motel based on their own comments on Trip Advisor about not being able to hear any noise from other rooms.

Room Tip: Do anything you can to avoid a room on the middle floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenalavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Yes you did have a family with teenage children in the unit above you and as you said they were up until 11pm and then again at around 7am.

We certainly do care about our customers, but there was very little we could do to help as you didn't inform us until you were leaving the next day.

You had booked our standard room and my husband was looking at upgrading you however when you arrived you asked him for an upgrade. This normally is at the discretion of the Motelier and we do upgrade people from time to time depending on availability.
Once again our apologies and we hope you enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

A very well located motel , very clean & tidy, modern & well sized. We booked thru an Internet site but upon arrival we were advised we could be helped even more & they very kindly upgraded our room to one that reflected our tariff. A very nice thing to do without us even asking. We would recommend you do consider staying here & book directly rather than through an Internet accommodation site.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle D, Owner at Akaroa Criterion Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for your comments.. If it is possible for us to upgrade you in those circumstances we always do try.
We like to give our customers a pleasant stay if possible.
It can be more expensive sometimes to book online as booking fees can be added to your cost so booking directly by phone to us can be an advantage.
We dont mind either way but it is the customers choice.
We are pleased you enjoyed our lovely town and may see you again one day.

Gabrielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#2 of 5 in Akaroa
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 5 in Akaroa
228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tresori Motor Lodge
Tresori Motor Lodge
#4 of 5 in Akaroa
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.4 mi away
L'Hotel Akaroa
L'Hotel Akaroa
#10 of 25 in Akaroa
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beaufort House Akaroa
Beaufort House Akaroa
#1 of 25 in Akaroa
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa Criterion Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa Criterion Motel

Address: 75 Rue Jolie | Akaroa Banks Penninsular, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Akaroa
Price Range: $95 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Akaroa Criterion Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb harbor views from most rooms at this 4 plus star plus motel. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Super-king beds, private balcony. Double glazing and underfloor heating. Free WiFi each day in every room. Free car parking with ltd under cover parking also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Akaroa Criterion Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akaroa Criterion Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing