We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An idyllic end to our vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beaufort House Akaroa
Ranked #1 of 24 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An idyllic end to our vacation”
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Wilderness House was the final destination of our New Zealand vacation and what a wonderful spot it was! Our gracious hosts not only made us feel at home, but ensured that we found all the beautiful walks and drives from this picturesque corner of the world. We enjoyed the superb breakfasts, the exchange of travel stories, the history of the area, the decor of the house and meeting other guests while sharing a glass or two of wine from Jim's own vineyard. Our stay at Wilderness House provided the perfect end to our vacation!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandv0akville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
187
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

We had friends take part in Le Race , who travelled from Auckland, we booked Wilderness House as a treat after the cycle race and what a treat it turned out to be, our hosts Lilly and Jim were incredible, the decor of the historic home is fabulous, the rooms and bathrooms are 5 star plus, the breakfast was beautiful, we sat outside and drank wine in the garden, compairing our pinot with that from Jim's small boutique vineyard at the back of the house. The House is a short walk from the main street, Jim booked us into a fabulous local restaurant, In short we had a ball , this place is world class and I have trraveled widely. Stay here you'll love it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alwrighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2010

Anyone visiting the Christchurch area should go out of their way to stay at the Wilderness House in Akaroa. The drive itself is beautiful. The destination is perfect. This is a five-star B &B, with hosts that make you feel like you've known them your entire life. My husband's favorite was sipping a complimentary glass of port in the study at the end of the evening, having great conversation. And, these people are well traveled, recommending sites/cities for the remainder of our trip. The scenery and grounds are beautiful. Your own Mom couldn't do it any better.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkinnerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2010

Stayed 3 nights and enjoyed every minute. A great deal of thought has gone into making this old property a delight and Liz & Jim are the perfect hosts. A relaxing atmosphere is generated at the pre dinner drinks get together with plenty of local wine part produced from the vineyard in the garden. The supply of port keeps flowing after dinner and the garden is a perfect place to unwind. The breakfast was first class with the menu varying daily. Good advice freely given on local amenities and restaurant recommendations proved to be correct. We placed Widerness House in our top 3 of our holiday and cannot think of any faults.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4barley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Everywhere you turn in this beautifully maintained home shows the remarkable attention to detail that Liz's skills in interior design bring. The host, Liz and Jim work hard to make you feel at home, from the welcome drinks, to booking ongoing accommodation and restaurants, and providing maps and suggestions. The food is beautifully prepared and presented, rooms are impeccable and the total experience is memorable.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanandJulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2010

We had the wonderful privelidge of staying at Wilderness House for two nights, but could have stayed forever!! The setting and garden was absolutely beautiful and we were able to wander around the large property and enjoy the vistas, the vineyard and the amazing specimen trees and plants. Just a short stroll to the cafes and resturants we were very delighted with our choice.
Our room was just devine with superb furnishings and fittings and so very romantic. The rest of the homestead was fascinating with amazing collectables and antiques and a great selection of beautiful books and magazines to read. We spent time in the guest lounge and enjoyed complimentary wine with Liz and Jim our hosts, before dinner each evening.
The breakfast each morning was absolutely scrummy and again, the table setting and the dining room was something very special. Delicious Akaroa French Toast and Eggs Akaroa were to die for and there was fresh berry fruit grown locally with lots of other goodies.
We are just so pleased we chose Wilderness House above all else as it was truly a wonderful and unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emptinesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2010

The location of Wilderness House is just perfect, tucked up the leafy drive of a beautiful garden yet only a short stroll to restaurants and shops. Liz and Jim are very gracious and knowledgeable hosts who are only too happy to assist with advice on day trips and restaurant choices. The historic house is decorated in English country style. Our room was gorgeous with beautifully tiled bathroom, exquisite bedding and restful decor. Breakfast in the dining room was delicious with produce from their own garden in both the continental and cooked options. A highlight for us was the Happy Hour in the evening sharing a glass of wine from their own petite vineyard with the other guests. This proved to be a lot of fun. This is not the first time we have been to Akaroa but it was our first time to Wilderness House and we loved our stay. We will be back and recommend this B&B to anyone visiting this quaint town.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwitraveller1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.8 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
91 reviews
1.3 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#5 of 24 in Akaroa
63 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oinako Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort House Akaroa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort House Akaroa

Property: Beaufort House Akaroa
Address: 42 Rue Grehan | Banks Peninsula, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand (Formerly Wilderness House)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaufort House Akaroa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a memorable experience in one of Akaroa’s gracious historic homes. A charming and romantic retreat nestled in a beautiful one acre garden and vineyard. Enjoy cosy open fires and gorgeous bedrooms. Join us for a glass of our estate wine in the evenings. Linger over our special cooked breakfasts. Tranquil, private and secluded yet just a short stroll to the village. Open all year round, multiple night rates and group bookings available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beaufort House Akaroa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing