We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in Akaroa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beaufort House Akaroa
Ranked #1 of 25 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I brought my partner here for her 30th birthday, and it exceeded my expectations. The photos on this site don't do it justice at all, because it's been all refurnished with the most amazing french antique furniture. The new owners Sharon and Noel were fantastic hosts. They went above and beyond for every little detail which made for a truly relaxing weekend away. Will definitely be making another visit next time i'm in NZ.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Owner at Beaufort House Akaroa, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

We so enjoyed your company, and to be able to reminise over the sailing trips in Croatia!
Love to see you again when in Akaroa. Our best wishes to you both. Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 240 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at wilderness house last weekend with Sharon and Noel. We have had a tough couple of years and were always making excuses why we shouldn't have a weekend getaway. Wilderness house had been recommended to us and we were not disappointed. From the moment we drove up the gorgeous tree lined entrance and were greeted by Sharon and Noel, to the waves goodbye, we had a truly relaxing time. Sharon and Noel could not do enough for us. The tour of the property, the fresh baking and plunger coffee in our room, canapés and drinks before dinner, the most comfortable bed we have slept in, ever! To the best cooked breakfast in the world; we rate this propert 110%. Wilderness house is without a doubt a five star bed and breakfast, and we would recommend it hands down! We cannot thank you enough for your kindness and hospitatity. Jeanette and Bruce McEachen; Christchurch. May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanetteMcEachen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Owner at Beaufort House Akaroa, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you Jeanette & Bruce for your kind words. So pleased we were able to offer a peaceful haven to you both after such a difficult couple of years, Happier time to celebrate your birthday in beautiful Akaroa. Will send a reminder you when it is grape picking season :) Our best wishes to you both. Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed just one night in Akaroa to get out of Christchurch and have some time to ourselves. Noel and Sharon were the perfect hosts, providing drinks and canapes (herbed salmon vol au vonts and smoked chicken and avocado crostinis - both delicious) in the lounge area, as well as some great conversation. We stayed in the Nalder room, and thoroughly enjoyed the spacious and beautifully appointed room including heated tiles in the en suite to keep your toes warm! The view from both windows is lovely, and the bed, while antique, was amazingly comfortable and plenty of room for a couple. Waking up to the sound of birds chirping and breakfast smells coming up the stairs was pure bliss. They really have the right mix of chattiness and interaction, versus leaving you to enjoy some time alone in their lovely house. Breakfast did not disappoint! Excellent location, a stroll to "town", yet the gorgeous grounds (including a mini vineyard) make you you feel as though you're at a rural retreat. Fully recommend this place for a luxurious getaway with helpful and welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctaylor84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Trish and i have just spent 4 nights in paradise at the Wilderness House in Akaroa,
with the new owners Noel and Sharon being the perfect hosts.The facilities at Wilderness House are second to none and the setting is enchanting.Loved all the antique furniture and the bed was very comfortable.
The breakfasts were to die for and the late afternoon drinks and canapes absolutely sensational.You really felt like you were part of Noel and Sharons family and nothing you asked for was too much trouble.
We would not hesitate to return at some time in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Owner at Beaufort House Akaroa, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you Trish & Barry for you kind comments - we enjoyed having you both to stay.
Our grapes are now harvested, vines pruned ready for another season . Hopefully we will see you back again from Melbourne for a well deserved break and you can sample some of the vintage!
Best wishes to you both. Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here just after the new owners took over... so a different look is to be had from all the other reviews. Great time was had plus the weather was fantastic as well, nice and warm, no wind and a mild over night temperature. The grapes are all but ready to harvest in a week or two as well! The native bird life is a real treat with all the noise and the like. Just a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank APRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Owner at Beaufort House Akaroa, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for your pleasing comments Mark, so pleased we could offer the 'home away from home' and a restful stay, after a busy year for you. Love to see you back in Akaroa in the future with the family! Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

It was our last B&B (after 4 weeks in NZ) and it was a perfect end. The house has a great history (which is mirrored in the Rooms) and Jim & Liz are perfect hosts.The garden and the little vineyard behind the house giving the place a unique character and made it very hard to leave this place again. The house has 4 Rooms and we missed nothing. The breakfast was amazing and each day special. The hosts even left us the BBQ and the kitchen for one night. Unfortunately Jim & Liy sold this place and mid 2013 there will be new hosts. Hopefully the place will remain like it is. We'll comme again. Martin & Steffi

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Had a wonderful relaxing weekend with Jim and Liz who were perfect hosts. Their attention to detail to make my weekend was nothing but outstanding. Thank you to you both and wishing you all the very best in the next chapter of your lives. Safe and happy travels. Sandy

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.8 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 5 in Akaroa
131 reviews
1.3 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 25 in Akaroa
220 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oinako Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.3 mi away
Akaroa Fyrne Brooke House
Akaroa Fyrne Brooke House
#14 of 25 in Akaroa
9 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#5 of 25 in Akaroa
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort House Akaroa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort House Akaroa

Address: 42 Rue Grehan | Banks Peninsula, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand (Formerly Wilderness House)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range: $267 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaufort House Akaroa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a memorable experience in one of Akaroa’s gracious historic homes. A charming and romantic retreat nestled in a beautiful one acre garden and vineyard. Enjoy cosy open fires and gorgeous bedrooms. Join us for a glass of our estate wine in the evenings. Linger over our special cooked breakfasts. Tranquil, private and secluded yet just a short stroll to the village. Open all year round, multiple night rates and group bookings available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Beaufort House Akaroa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing