We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay, for a few days away from the city....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beaufort House Akaroa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beaufort House Akaroa
Ranked #1 of 24 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, for a few days away from the city....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here just after the new owners took over... so a different look is to be had from all the other reviews. Great time was had plus the weather was fantastic as well, nice and warm, no wind and a mild over night temperature. The grapes are all but ready to harvest in a week or two as well! The native bird life is a real treat with all the noise and the like. Just a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon R, Owner at Beaufort House Akaroa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your pleasing comments Mark, so pleased we could offer the 'home away from home' and a restful stay, after a busy year for you. Love to see you back in Akaroa in the future with the family! Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
180
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bremen
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

It was our last B&B (after 4 weeks in NZ) and it was a perfect end. The house has a great history (which is mirrored in the Rooms) and Jim & Liz are perfect hosts.The garden and the little vineyard behind the house giving the place a unique character and made it very hard to leave this place again. The house has 4 Rooms and we missed nothing. The breakfast was amazing and each day special. The hosts even left us the BBQ and the kitchen for one night. Unfortunately Jim & Liy sold this place and mid 2013 there will be new hosts. Hopefully the place will remain like it is. We'll comme again. Martin & Steffi

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Had a wonderful relaxing weekend with Jim and Liz who were perfect hosts. Their attention to detail to make my weekend was nothing but outstanding. Thank you to you both and wishing you all the very best in the next chapter of your lives. Safe and happy travels. Sandy

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was the last night we shall spend with Liz and Jim now that they are moving. We have been to Wilderness House for every special celebration over the last ten years and will miss it and them mightily. They are good friends, superb hosts and their home is an absolute delight to stay in. Our last evening - 23/3/13 - was extra special and we wish them the most wonderful of times as they prepare to leave on their great adventure. God speed dear friends and we can't wait for your return in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

From the first time we entered we were made to feel at home. Jim & Liz are excellent hosts (Shame they are leaving in April) Their recommendations for restaurants and what to do are excellent. Wine and canapes on the terrace on the lovely wooden table were really excellent (shame the new owners don't want the table and chairs). Breakfast was a great meal with all guests at the table together.NZ's loss is England's gain!!!
Jim also convinced me that NZ Chardonnay is the way to go!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TERRYA466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We have just spent our final 2 days in New Zealand with Jim & Liz at Wilderness House
The room was certainly on the small side, but the hospitality was huge!
Jim & Liz provide a superb example of what B & B is supposed to be. The welcome is heartfelt, you genuinely feel you are a valued guest in their home, not just a paying customer. The get together with Jim's own wine and the other guests is a really fun time and Jim is a very generous host. The breakfast is excellent, not the normal fry up, but a well thought out and beautifully cooked delicacy! This morning was smoked salmon and poached egg on a muffin topped with spinach and it was delicious.
We learned they are temporarily moving to England to do B & B there and Akaroa's loss is undoubtedly England's gain!
Thank you both

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HSeeingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

after 3 weeks travelling both north and south this was our last stop, lovelly old house, you are made very wellcome as soon as you arrive. the host are very helpfull with anything booking a meal etc. The host are moving on latter in 2013 and even though notthing is too much truble you can tell they are looking forward to giving up the B&B. Just 2 little things and they are that they is no choise in the cooked breakfat and the music that they play just not my taste. The room you can not fault with a lovely view, would tell anyone looking to vist the area to stop here

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjdigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.8 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.3 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#5 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oinako Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.2 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort House Akaroa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort House Akaroa

Property: Beaufort House Akaroa
Address: 42 Rue Grehan | Banks Peninsula, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand (Formerly Wilderness House)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaufort House Akaroa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a memorable experience in one of Akaroa’s gracious historic homes. A charming and romantic retreat nestled in a beautiful one acre garden and vineyard. Enjoy cosy open fires and gorgeous bedrooms. Join us for a glass of our estate wine in the evenings. Linger over our special cooked breakfasts. Tranquil, private and secluded yet just a short stroll to the village. Open all year round, multiple night rates and group bookings available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Beaufort House Akaroa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing