We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beaufort House Akaroa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Sumner Bay Motel(Christchurch)
$94
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arcadia Motel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ferry Motel(Christchurch)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cashel Court Motel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$74
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
City Worcester Motel(Christchurch)
$55
$52
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Rochelle Motel(Akaroa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveler rating
246
17
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
17
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestseach eveningpre dinner drinksb bperfect hostsnew zealandsmall vineyardenjoying wineguest loungefeather pillowschristchurch earthquakeset in beautiful gardensshort strolla real treatcooked breakfastthought of everythingfriendly hosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 263 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at Wilderness House for a weekend trip to Akaroa. Wilderness House a heavenly home a short stroll away from downtown Akaroa. Make sure you set aside some time to tour the tastefully furnished, amply decorated villa, explore the wide network of garden paths, and have a cultivated conversation sipping Pinot in the lounge before you go for dinner. Jim and Liz are amazingly attentive and very friendly hosts who had us enjoy their company in no time. Their intimate knowledge of the local scene comes really handy when arranging activities. The breakfast the next morning made the whole stay perfect. Wilderness House is spotless clean, an amazing achievement given the thousand little things around.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Boris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at Wilderness House for two nights. It was the penultimate stay of our tour around New Zealand. It is a charming, beautifully decorated house with wonderful gardens and its own vineyard.
Jim and Liz are wonderful hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them and their breakfasts seem to be legendary in ,
Akaroa, and you can see why!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Very nice and relaxing stay. The hosts are very welcoming and we had a nice chat in front of the fire with some local complimentary wine. The premises have been thoughtfully and tastefully restored and are a joy to stay in. The rooms feel homely and comforting, the beds sooo comfortable with gorgeous soft linen. The views are wonderful and you don't need to close the curtains so you get a nice private view of the hills beyond. To top it all off you get treated with an amazing breakfast with fresh produce and special treats.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We had the fyfe room which has a bathroom with a bath and gorgeous views over garden and hills beyond, checked out the other rooms which are just as nice, but the other 2 rooms have only showers. One other room (slightly bigger but had bathroom across hall which sounds odd but is actually very nice with a claw foot bath and lots of space!) plus you get plush dressing gowns to wear etc. The rooms feel very private and cosy. There is no pool or fitness centre as such, but there is an ocean 5 minute walk away and lots and lots of beautiful walks short or long, flat or very hilly in the fresh air!!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We had planned a car tour of South Island, staying at a succession of B&Bs booked via the internet from UK. We arrived at our first B&B (in Akaroa) around 5 pm and to our dismay, found it totally deserted! So we sought refuge elsewhere and were very lucky to be attracted by the lights blazing from Wilderness House. Jim and Sue were busy hosting a family gathering to celebrate a birthday and to mark the local ANZAC day commemoration in which they had been involved. But we were welcomed most warmly into the group and plied with drinks and canapes. That chacterised the hospitality we enjoyed at the beautiful Wilderness House.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Bernard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Wilderness House was a total revelation when we found it tucked into the hill in Akaroa. Built in 1878 it was everything you would imagine a colonial home to be. From the wonderful wooden verandahs, beautiful internal staircase and wonderfully sized rooms.

Lilly and Jim are the perfect hosts and I don't think our views are tainted by the amount of their chardonnay or pinot noir that we consumed during the evening drinks with their guests. They are a very welcoming couple, available but not overly attentive (in an over bearing way).

Much has been written about the gourmet breakfasts and most of it is true (at least the good bits). We loved the relaxed come and go atmosphere, the gorgeous garden and the sheer quality of the interior decor.

We would certainly go again and recommend it to anyone. (They even threw in a minor earthquake tremor whilst we were there!)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelSK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews