We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing comfort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beaufort House Akaroa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beaufort House Akaroa
Ranked #1 of 24 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Relaxing comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Very nice and relaxing stay. The hosts are very welcoming and we had a nice chat in front of the fire with some local complimentary wine. The premises have been thoughtfully and tastefully restored and are a joy to stay in. The rooms feel homely and comforting, the beds sooo comfortable with gorgeous soft linen. The views are wonderful and you don't need to close the curtains so you get a nice private view of the hills beyond. To top it all off you get treated with an amazing breakfast with fresh produce and special treats.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We had the fyfe room which has a bathroom with a bath and gorgeous views over garden and hills beyon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
179
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We had planned a car tour of South Island, staying at a succession of B&Bs booked via the internet from UK. We arrived at our first B&B (in Akaroa) around 5 pm and to our dismay, found it totally deserted! So we sought refuge elsewhere and were very lucky to be attracted by the lights blazing from Wilderness House. Jim and Sue were busy hosting a family gathering to celebrate a birthday and to mark the local ANZAC day commemoration in which they had been involved. But we were welcomed most warmly into the group and plied with drinks and canapes. That chacterised the hospitality we enjoyed at the beautiful Wilderness House.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bernard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Wilderness House was a total revelation when we found it tucked into the hill in Akaroa. Built in 1878 it was everything you would imagine a colonial home to be. From the wonderful wooden verandahs, beautiful internal staircase and wonderfully sized rooms.

Lilly and Jim are the perfect hosts and I don't think our views are tainted by the amount of their chardonnay or pinot noir that we consumed during the evening drinks with their guests. They are a very welcoming couple, available but not overly attentive (in an over bearing way).

Much has been written about the gourmet breakfasts and most of it is true (at least the good bits). We loved the relaxed come and go atmosphere, the gorgeous garden and the sheer quality of the interior decor.

We would certainly go again and recommend it to anyone. (They even threw in a minor earthquake tremor whilst we were there!)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelSK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Wilderness House at the tail end of our honeymoon trip, and it was exactly what we needed. The home and property were just beautiful, amazing decor and all the comforts you could want. We knew we were somewhere special from the moment we walked in.
Location is great, just a short stroll to the cafes and main strip of Akaroa.
The hosts were a pleasure to deal with, and took the time to provide us with tips on what to see and do, and the best places to eat. We took on all their tips and were not dissapointed.
The breakfasts were delicious and generous, and it was lovely to sample some fine wiine from the local vinyard each night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephCraig2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

We concur with all the other excellent reviews. Beautiful accommodation, furnishings, breakfast, pre dinner hospitality, location, it was all superb. What more can we say but just go and find out for yourselves, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

We spent 4 days in Akaroa. We could not have picked a better place to stay than “Wildernes House”. It is a beautiful house and feels very homely, so peaceful and quiet. The whole house is furnished with great care and comfort in mind, very sumptuous! The gourmet breakfasts were delicious, a real treat each day. The garden was wonderful to just sit and relax in.
Jim and Liz were great hosts. Inviting all the guests each evening to meet for wine and nibbles was a great idea.
There were some very good restaurants within walking distance of the house, “The Little Bistro” was our favourite.
Akaroa is such a pretty place with stunning views of the bay. There are also good walks to burn off some of the lovely food!
We would highly recommend a stay here.
Trina and Richard

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We spent 2 nights in this more than 100 Years old house with a very nice atmosphere and lovely decoration! It has a beatifull garden and is situated in a quit neighbourhood. The rooms are comfertabel, the breakfast is nice and special, every evening drinks with all the guests with wine out of the own vinegard. The owners are very helpfull even when you want a early breakfast! They do there very best to make feel at home!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.8 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.3 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oinako Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#5 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort House Akaroa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort House Akaroa

Property: Beaufort House Akaroa
Address: 42 Rue Grehan | Banks Peninsula, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand (Formerly Wilderness House)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaufort House Akaroa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a memorable experience in one of Akaroa’s gracious historic homes. A charming and romantic retreat nestled in a beautiful one acre garden and vineyard. Enjoy cosy open fires and gorgeous bedrooms. Join us for a glass of our estate wine in the evenings. Linger over our special cooked breakfasts. Tranquil, private and secluded yet just a short stroll to the village. Open all year round, multiple night rates and group bookings available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Beaufort House Akaroa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing