We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right day best view”
Review of Hilltop Tavern

Hilltop Tavern
Ranked #12 of 30 Restaurants in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: Pizza, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Hilltop is perched on the pass overlooking the beautiful Akaroa Harbour. Its a classic 1930s pub building with a nice front lawn to enjoy the view. We serve freshly caught fish, wood-fired pizza, steaks, slow-cooked meats, soup and a range of tapas. We also have homemade pies, sweets & pastries for those looking for a quick bite. Great fair-trade coffee & loose leaf tea. Craft beer and local, sustainable wines. Check out our websites for upcoming live music. (Open later than 9.30-pm on gig nights and weekends, depending on busyness) Please note, the Hilltop has seasonal hours: 7 days 10-late: Christmas- Easter Thur- Sun 10-late: Easter to the end of July Closed for the month of August Wed-Sun 10-late Sept-Christmas
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Right day best view”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Wow just the most spectacular view. Don't drive past get a nice coffee and just sit in the garden and absorb the view of the amazing inlet that is Akaroa. At 470m it affords one of the best views of my weekend in Akaroa. Well worth the stop for a brew or a bite to eat

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeRebels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    79
    17
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great pizza, phenomenal view”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Excellent wood-fired pizza - we tried three kinds and all were good. The fish and chips ordered by the table next to us looked really good, too - and the local person we were with said there really isn't a bad choice on the menu. The view was phenomenal, stretching miles down to the water. Enjoying a beer and the breeze from the patio is a great way to pass a summer afternoon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank time2travel_4_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Consistently awesome”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We travel past the Hilltop regularly and now find it hard not to stop. The staff are young, enthusiastic and helpful. The food is of a very high standard. Our favourite starter is the bruschetta which is superb. The lovely thin based pizzas made fresh in the wood fired pizza oven are excellent. My favourite is Pigeon Bay.
The steak is cooked to perfection, and fish & chips or the hamburger make old standards classy again. Don't even think of leaving until you have tried the banana split which is cooked in it's skin in the pizza oven and drizzled with chocolate and rum and a hint of cinammon.
We dine out a lot in Christchurch and rate this restaurant as our favourite.
Oh, and by the way, the view from the Hilltop is to die for!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ffBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

A must to stop at and savor the wonderful view.

This was our lunchtime stop ......walking in to meet the friendly staff found this most welcoming combined with great food ......and of the course the view wonderful start to a visit to Akaroa.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank GoodyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire uk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful scenery”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

What a wonderful place to stop off and enjoy some nice food and very friendly staff. We didn't have long but the soup and scones were of a very good quality and not a bad price. Some of the items on the menu did look tempting and deserts amazing. Wish we could of stayed longer. A reservation is recommended if you require a window seat

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Littlemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilltop Tavern also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Hilltop Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing