We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza and views ... and dog friendly too!”
Review of Hilltop Tavern

Hilltop Tavern
Ranked #12 of 30 Restaurants in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: Pizza, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Hilltop is perched on the pass overlooking the beautiful Akaroa Harbour. Its a classic 1930s pub building with a nice front lawn to enjoy the view. We serve freshly caught fish, wood-fired pizza, steaks, slow-cooked meats, soup and a range of tapas. We also have homemade pies, sweets & pastries for those looking for a quick bite. Great fair-trade coffee & loose leaf tea. Craft beer and local, sustainable wines. Check out our websites for upcoming live music. (Open later than 9.30-pm on gig nights and weekends, depending on busyness) Please note, the Hilltop has seasonal hours: 7 days 10-late: Christmas- Easter Thur- Sun 10-late: Easter to the end of July Closed for the month of August Wed-Sun 10-late Sept-Christmas
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stopping for a meal on the way back home from a holiday, we were certainly not disappointed!
Having heard that the pizzas were amazing, I ordered the "Hilltop" which was just devine! I just had to share with the family who had ordered other items which were equally delicious!
We had decided to choose a table outside overlooking the beautiful views of Akaroa Harbour, and our spoodle was in the car and saw us through the fence. The waitress noticed this ans said we were able to bring our dog in as it is a dog friendly restaurant! This was our first experience of a dog friendly restaurant, and although not everyone's cup of tea, a small dog sitting under the table observing the goings on is certainly no inconvenience to any other diners.
Great view, exceptional hospitality and dog friendly. We will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Buckoinchch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
There are newer reviews for Hilltop Tavern
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 183 of 228 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

The Hilltop Tavern offers so much and apart from the view (on a fine day) delivers on nothing. The food is palatably average, the staff are inattentive and mismatched in their appearance so it is hard to distinguish waiters and waitresses from guests. The worst crime is however the decor - the Owners may think the distressed furniture is shabby chic but it is actually just shabby and appears to have been rescued from a waste skip. Very disappointing and for future trips to Akaroa we may stop to admire the view but we will not stop to eat at the Hilltop Tavern.

Thank GallopingGourmet51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilltop-Tavern, Owner at Hilltop Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

As Lincoln/Lydgate said "You can please some of the people some of the time, all of the people some of the time, some of the people all of the time, but you can never please all of the people all of the time.”

In regards to the furniture, we did rescue old school chairs and sanded and painted them one by one and then distressed this paint by sanding over top and then a final protective coat. It was a labour of love and we had a great time doing it.
I see no shame in reusing or recycling. In fact, I am all for it. It just makes sense when your buying 100 chairs that can cost up to $120 each new. Not for everyone of course, but we are creating a business with a personality, not a generic appeal.
Regarding the clothing of the staff, much like the chairs.. we encourage personality. But you will be pleased to know that we have Hilltop Tshirts that all the staff now wear. An exciting progression for us.
Regarding the food, could you email us letting us know what you had and your thoughts on it, so we can take this into account for future menus?: info.hilltoptavern@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I was surprised, to be honest. I had read the pizza in this place was good, but said "yeah, right" - a lot of people say that about pizza, but I'm a bit more picky than the average. To my surprise - the pizza was really really good. Thin crust, excellent toppings. Both the kids and myself thoroughly enjoyed this stop on the way to Akaroa on a rainy day. We often stop there just to take in the view, but this was the first time we actually went inside to eat, as it was not a good day for a picnic outside. It's so nice and cozy in there, by the fireplace. The staff are very nice, too, although if you happen to arrive just when a busload of tourists stops there - they can be a bit busy for a while.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

This Tavern has amazing views and on a glorious day we sat outside and enjoyed the fish bugers which were fillets of yummy gurnard. The staff were friendly even though they were busy. Recommend stop on the way to akaroa.

Thank d4isyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Place was recommended to use by Warren at French Peak Winery and we are so glad it was. Amazing views and the food was wonderful. Good local wine selection as well.

I'm usually wary of pizza places but theirs was excellent, especially the crust.

Friendly service. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank boygabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilltop Tavern also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Hilltop Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing