We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just so good!”

Akaroa Sailing Cruises
Ranked #3 of 23 Tours in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Uralla, Australia
Level Contributor
283 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Just so good!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Sailing around Akaroa harbour is wonderful and Ray Shoebridge provided us with great info,expert instruction and incredible photo opportunities.With all sails up and the engine off, this was a true adventure!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 10Raindrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    15
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great way to see the bay”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

a first class trip with a very experienced captain a trip that must be taken by any all visitors to Akaroa Great value for money will be taking the trip again

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank HIGHLIFE66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
736 reviews
455 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 468 helpful votes
“Best wildlife sailing”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had a great morning cruise and saw a school of dolphins, birds, even a couple penguins. It was fun to steer the sailboat and help with the sails. Ray had so much interesting information. We enjoyed the small group setting and the quiet. This is so much better than the larger boats. He respects the animals and makes it safe for them and fun for you. I loved the price too!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank alibarbaraMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
“Had an amazing time”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Excellent trip, weather was perfect, saw hectors dolphins, had a chance to sail the yacht.

Highly recommend.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gareth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
134 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Wildlife and a Great Sailing Adventure”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We did a dazzling cruise with Ray Shoebridge on the SV Manutara in Akaroa! Ray is clearly in love with Akaroa and with his boat. He gives you the opportunity to help steer the boat and to help spot wildlife but he is the expert in both areas. We saw fantastic numbers of the small Hector’s Dolphins as they cruised along with us right under our bow. We also saw a few shy Little Blue Penguins as they bobbed in the water. Ray also pointed out other different types of sea birds. He tantalized us with his sighting of a Southern Right Whale the day before but we had no luck on our sail. This was a thoroughly enjoyable tour and we would highly recommend it to anyone interested in wildlife or beautiful sailboats.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn_B_27312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akaroa Sailing Cruises also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Akaroa Sailing Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing