We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different to do”

Shamarra Alpaca Farm Tours
Ranked #11 of 23 Tours in Akaroa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tour departs from Akaroa and takes you on a scenic drive to the western side of the harbour where Shamarra Alpaca Farm is situated, boasting breathtaking panoramic views.Alpaca farmers, Frank and Anya are passionate about their alpacas and will treat you to an interesting and interactive introduction to these majestic animals. Wander amongst the grazing herd, learn how to lead an alpaca and discover the unique qualities of their fleece - “fibre of the gods” as proclaimed by the Incas.The Alpaca Shop in the barn has a selection of gorgeous locally made alpaca product, all in natural colours. Enjoy refreshments and home baking offered at the end of the tour.
Yorba Linda, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Something different to do”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

We were visiting off a cruise ship. Towards the end of the day we looked into this tour. We only had on 2 hours till we left but Frank hustled down from his farm to give us a tour. It was a lot of fun and not something we had ever done before which made it more interesting. We got a lot of info about alpacas with a beautiful view from the farm. We got to walk Rising Sun on a leash also. I would recommend bringing your camera for some great shots

Helpful?
Thank Scott N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya W, Owner at Shamarra Alpaca Farm Tours, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Hi Scott. Thanks for your great review. So glad you enjoyed your visit to our farm. Cute photo of mother and cria - thanks for posting. The cria's name is Mikado, a real cutie.
Please forward your postal address so we can post your Kiwi souvenir that you left behind in our vehicle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    4
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic tour”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We were researching things to do for our cruise's port day at Akaroa, and the Alpaca Experience came up with 100% excellent rating, so we went along with it. It turned out to be the best farm tour we've done in a long time.

Frank picked us up from Akaroa, and after a 20-min drive, we arrived at the farm. The views took our breath away. After a chilly and drizzly morning, even the sun had come to the party! Frank and Anya were very friendly and provided lots of informationon alpacas, fibres, siring, alpacas in NZ and around the world, and many other things. We got to pat and hug the alpacas, and even got to lead a couple of them out to the paddock. There we met many other alpacas, mothers, cria, pregnant. Some of them were sleeping with eyes open, tummy facing the sun, like dead until they suddenly got up and looked at us with those round gorgeous eyes!

My family, including two teenage daughters, thoroughly enjoyed this tour. And we didn't even get spat on.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank NigelT168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya W, Owner at Shamarra Alpaca Farm Tours, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your alpaca farm tour and had such a memorable experience. Thanks for your detailed review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville IL/Tucson AZ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Highlight of Akaroa”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

After walking around and exploring the town of Akaroa on our own, we stopped by the "I" center and noted there was a tour of an Alpaca farm and decided to see what that was all about. It turned out to be a wonderful experience. Anya and her husband Frank breed Alpacas for show, and have their farm on a beautiful hill overlooking the bay. They have about 90 Alpacas of two different types (Huacaya and Suri), and varying coloring. The animals are very cute and friendly and my wife would have brought one home if we could fit it in the suitcase. We learned not only about Alpaca's but also about Anya and Frank and shared the best cup of tea with them that we had in all of NZ. For something a bit offbeat but fun, you must try this tour.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jtriebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Highlight of Our Trip”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had an amazing time at the Alpaca Experience. It was a lovely day, lovely scenery, our kids had a blast - an all-around good time. The owners are warm and welcoming, the alpacas couldn't be any cuter or more friendly. I'm not sure how they're rated #12 when they've only gotten "excellent" ratings, but I can't imagine a better activity for people who come to Akaroa on a cruise. Really fun for kids. Plus the Anzac cookies were so good that we've already made a batch ourselves at home. A great spot and one of the nicest days we had on our trip. Mahalo!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Fun With the Shamarra Alpacas”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Frank picked me up at the i-site and we learned a lot about Alpaca farming on our way to Shamarra Alpaca. Anya and Frank explained how they started this farm and how they care for the Alpacas. We got to visit the different paddocks where the young, pregnant and studs stay. These gentle animals came to greet us and take photos with us on this breathtaking property in Akaroa. It was a real highlight of my trip to New Zealand. If you like animals, you will love this! Don't miss it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anya W, Owner at Shamarra Alpaca Farm Tours, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks for your review Linda and we always appreciate hearing from visitors about how enjoyable the tour was. We have a new baby in the paddock and are expecting a few more any day. Hope to see you back in lovely Akaroa again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shamarra Alpaca Farm Tours also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Shamarra Alpaca Farm Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing