We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Akaroa
Post
Inbox
Search
Review Highlights
Best excursion ever.

Adam and I were supremely lucky to choose this wonderful vessel and owner guide. We went into... read more

Reviewed today
Hatepasswords101
Tremendous tour!

We booked online the day before based on the great reviews posted on trip advisor. Well I would... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Larry m
,
Minesing, Canada
Read all 255 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Akaroa
from $67.08
More Info
from $62.51
More Info
from $59.22
More Info
from $55.93
More Info
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveler rating
240
12
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
240
12
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small boat saw dolphins longer trip hector dolphins boat trip sea birds great trip blue penguins local wildlife comfortable boat personal experience cute dog personal tour royal albatross hectors dolphins new zealand rock formations
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were lucky to have wonderful weather on the morning of our cruise with Coast up Close. Well maintained, comfortable boat takes you right up close to the Hector dolphins, penguins and seals. We were even lucky enough to see an albatross soaring near us. Would definitely recommend. Plenty of room to move around the boat and not crowded so easy for everyone to get great views and photos.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coastupclose, Owner at Coast up Close, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Jennifer
Thank you for joining our morning cruise. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our boat and got to see all our wildlife. We think our boat 'Wairiri' is absolutely ideal to get close to it all, and the dolphins, too, love her.
Come and join us again soon.
Cheers, Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I had the most fantastic and amazing experience in Akaroa with Coast Up Close. We were in Akaroa on a cruise. As we were arriving I noticed I had mixed up the dates on my booking and quickly messaged Coast Up Close, who were both understanding and accomodating, shifting our booking tot he correct date.
When it was tie for the tour, we met our hosts - Tony, Mafi, and of course, Scruffy the dog. One of the best things about this tour is the fact that it is a small boat, and you are not in with a horde of other people - there were only 8 passengers, including us, which really made for a relaxed, friendly outing. And what an outing! We were treated to huge numbers of dolphins swimming around, beside, under the boat, leaping in the air - it was more than we had expected or hoped for. We also went in by the cliffs and caves and saw a lot of seabirds nesting, and baby seals basking in the sun. Out at sea was the occasional penguin swimming.
The amazing wildlife, friendly operators and wonderful time that they gave us are all thoroughly recommended.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank GeorgiyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coastupclose, Owner at Coast up Close, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello GeorgiyH, Thanks for choosing coast up close for your Akaroa boat cruise.It was not a problem for us to swap your date as we are usually around 8 to 12 people on our 40' launch so yes plenty of space. Occasionally on cruise ship days we can get a bit busier.We are very happy that you enjoyed your cruise.We enjoy it every day and one of the most satisfying things for me is seeing our customers leaving the boat with big happy smiles.Come back again next time you are down here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020 via mobile

Unfortunately we were on a cruise and the port was cancelled. These guys were so understanding and refunded in full. They even called back to confirm it would take a day to refund. We are really disappointed we couldn’t experience there actual service because even if it was half as good as there office service it would have been amazing. We would have absolute no hesitation in booking with Coast Up Close again whether we were on a cruise or in Akaroa itself.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank TrevorCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coastupclose, Owner at Coast up Close, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2020

Hi Trevor
Thank you for your feedback. We were also disappointed that your ship didn't come in but hopefully we will see you another time. We are happy to pay a full refund as this was not in your control. Hopefully the rest of your cruise goes well.
Cheers, Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020 via mobile

We had a very nice time with Tony! I recommend this tour to everyone, it is much more personal than the other tours offered at the harbour. Tony is very knowledgeable and shares many interesting insights. Thanks for having us Tony, it was a pleasure!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank LeneUnterwegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coastupclose, Owner at Coast up Close, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2020

Hi LeneUnterwegs
Thank you for coming on our trip, it was a pleasure to have you on our boat. I hope you are enjoying the rest of your trip in New Zealand.
Cheers, Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2020 via mobile

What a fantastic morning with Tony and Nick!!! We were running just a few minutes late and Tony waited for us. It wasn't a large group either which made the experience that much better! It was the perfect size to go to the top and bottom of the boat for great fantastic views!!

There were 5 of us and my parents are seniors and needed help on the ship. Nick and Tony were very helpful to make sure of their and everyone's comfort and safety! They even had warm jackets onboard for anyone feeling chilly from the sea weather!

The trip was just over 2.5 hours and we saw amazing wildlife in its natural habitat. First we saw a few penguins swimming in the ocean and then a small school of dolphins started following our boat. Tony slowed the boat down so we were able to get amazing pictures and see them play! What an amazing experience...the seals and birds were stunning to see as well!

Along they way, Nick and Tony shared great information about the wildlife, animals and birds of New Zealand and surrounding areas, protection programs and the beauty of New Zealand!

It was an absolutely lovely day and I would recommend this tour to everyone!

Thank you Tony and Nick for a great experience!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank ForKapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coastupclose, Owner at Coast up Close, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2020

Hi ForKapa
Thank you for joining our morning trip and your wonderful review. It is important to us that our customers leave the boat happy. We hope the rest of your travels have gone well and please come back and visit again.
Cheers, Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews